We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winner in South Dakota”

The Golf Club at Red Rock
Reviewed July 16, 2018

We had one more round of golf to play on our trip and chose The Golf Club at Red Rock, less than an hour from our Deadwood hotel.

What we found was a terrific course that featured well manicured fairways, quick and undulating greens and a great layout.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The driving range was being hand-picked so we couldn't hit drivers, but it was a good place to warm up.

We started on the back nine and were confronted with a variety of holes that tested one's ability to hit precise shots and read subtle breaks in greens. The front nine was more of the same. The carts feature GPS screens that help you figure out where to hit the ball, but the layout has many semi-blind shots, so don't be afraid to take the cart up from the tee to look where you're hitting.

We didn't eat at the course, but they had several beers on tap for post-round enjoyment.

If you're looking for a great day of golf, I would gladly recommend Red Rock.

Thank glrob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf-redrock, Public Relations Manager at The Golf Club at Red Rock, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank you so much for playing our course and for the review! We appreciate your comments and hope you can stop by and golf with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 23 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

While visiting from Indiana, my son who plays on his HS golf team wanted to play the best course he could find in the area. After dragging his clubs over 1000 miles with us, he had such a good time early in our vacation he went back to play again. On the second time, the course had a tournament going out so he couldn’t get a whole 9 in, but they let him and his friend play as much as they could before the tournament started for free. Great customer service!

1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf-redrock, Public Relations Manager at The Golf Club at Red Rock, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Thank you so much for your review and for playing our course! Hope you can stop by again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

We played on a Friday afternoon. The weather was perfect. The course was in great shape. I love the great changes from hole to hole. Many elevated tee boxes, rolling fairways, great greens. The on cart gps was a great help for first timers at this course. Playing late afternoon the course was not crowded and we didn't feel rushed and didn't have to wait at all. This was a great choice!

Thank Boyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf-redrock, Public Relations Manager at The Golf Club at Red Rock, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed our course. Hope you can play again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017

Excellent greens, excellent condition. This golf course is a surprising challenge. Play with a local if you can to know where to hit the ball. 18 holes worth playing

Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf-redrock, Public Relations Manager at The Golf Club at Red Rock, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed the course and hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Loved this golf course! From the Pro shop to the last hole, we had a lovely experience. As an out of town golfer, they made us feel very welcomed. The course was well marked so that we could find our away around easily. GPS on the carts was a pleasant surprise. Truly beautiful and extremely well kept grounds and greens...we will be back if passing through South Dakota again.

Thank marionleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf-redrock, Public Relations Manager at The Golf Club at Red Rock, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Thank you for the review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golf Club at Red Rock also viewed

 

Been to The Golf Club at Red Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing