We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rushmore Shadows Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

our stay at Rushmore Shadows was great. I felt safe letting my 7-year-old roam around this was a first for him.there was enough wide open space that I felt like I could see him from most areas. And he felt like he had a little freedom. We loved the pool it was perfectly heated even though it was chilly in the evenings. the staff was very friendly, check in and out was a breeze.loved that they had free bikes for the kids to ride and free mini golf for the kids to play.I didn't feel nickel and dimed to death while staying there. even the membership presentation was quick and easyand I didn't feel unwelcome even though we said no. I was concerned about their only being 2 showers in the shower house. But I never had a problem with 1 being available when I needed it. We did one night in the cabin and three nights in the tent and have no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort! We hope your vacation in the beautiful Black Hills brings you and your family great memories for for many years to come. Thanks for letting us know we did a good job and for taking the time to give us your feedback.Safe travels where ever you may roam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Rushmore Shadows Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked 2 months in advance. Was between KOA and them. They said that they had a pull through for our stay. We are a 34' pulling a car. 11 campgrounds into our 1.25 month trip, and ABSOLUTELY no issues. We got to Rushmore Shadows and was assigned a small back-in. When I questioned them they said that "all sites are assigned on s first-come, first-served basis". Who ever heard of that? They certainly didn't advertise that! After having to play the "Would you like to speak to a supervisor?" game, they gave us the last pull through.

It is a larger campground. The facilities are "fine", but the main building only had 2 showers for men. They were nice, but of inadequate number for a place this large.

Bottom line, if you are looking for a well-run campground with the intention of serving campers, skip Rushmore Shadows. KOA is 300 times better. If you are looking for an expensive membership campground group, that acts like the tradtional scammy timeshare peddler, then these guys are for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RevDebiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any miscommunication regarding the type of site you requested during your reservation call. We do try to accommodate each guest with their requests and we are glad that we had the opportunity to put you on the pull through site you wanted. Thank you for making us aware about the showers in the clubhouse and we do also provide showers and bathrooms at the North End of our park for our guests to use. We do hope that your trip to the Black Hills was wonderful as there is much to see and do in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here over 4th of July for two nights. We were told we might end up not being hooked up because of overbooking but ended up having full hook ups the entire time. We did not have a real site though and was on a "B" sure right next to the bathroom which was ok Sind our RV is smaller. Huge place with lots of room. Great dog run and fun activities for the kids. The one draw back was paying for putt putt. While the course was cute and quaint, with a large family like ours $5/putt putt on a small course seemed a little unreasonable, so we opted out. Even though we have a shower in our RV I use showers when I can because it gives more room. The showers were nice and well kept, I also liked the nice large washing basin in the bathroom as well. Overall we had fun thank you for the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Txmomtomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RushmoreShadows, Public Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your review on Rushmore Shadows Resort. 4th of July is definitely a very busy time here and we do our best to accommodate everyone whenever possible. The mini golf course is a recent addition and your comments are appreciated. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your time in the Black Hills. Happy travels and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rushmore Shadows Resort is a good place to bring your family. Has a great pool, and it's minutes from all the major attractions. So we liked that part. They just put in a "small-ish" 18 hole putt-putt golf course that was actually alot of fun. Could use to fix-up the trailer rental "cabins". Just rip out the carpet already. Way too much foot traffic to keep them clean from year to year. Putting in inexpensive laminate wood flooring on the lower level will fix this. Otherwise everything was super clean as always. The Air conditioning was exceptional. Rushmore Shadows has really front office people. If you need something. They are on it. The girls always seemed to have a smile on their faces. This is a good thing when you have weary, tired travelers.

Room Tip: Book early!!! The good cabins (location in the park, etc) get taken early
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort and that our staff was helpful. We're lucky you and your family were here to help us launch our new mini golf course which just opened July 3!
We always appreciate feedback- as a matter of fact, the addition of the mini golf course is the result of previous guest comment cards.
Your flooring suggestion is an excellent one and I will share the idea with our maintenance and housekeeping crews when we budget for the coming year.
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your vacation with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We haven't even gotten there yet and are already disappointed. I booked a reservation 3 and 1/2 months ago and just got a call 5 days before we were to leave stating they may have to move us to a non-hook up, "off-site" location for the night of the 4th since they overbooked! They basically said, they messed up, but since we were not "members" ( at $8,000 a pop) we would have to give up our spot so if a member shows up they can give it to them??!! Excuse me??!! I will NEVER book a reservation again at a "Membership Resort" that allows non members to book trips as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We would like to again apologize for our oversight which created the possibility that you may have been on a non hookup site for one night during your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort. While the issue was only a possibility, we did feel an obligation to inform you of our error prior to your arrival.
We hope our error does not dissuade you from visiting the beautiful Black Hills for your vacation at any time now or in the future.
Gina Rose, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

this place is wonderful. Children of all ages will love it here. we stayed over the fourth fo july 2012.
we stayed for the presentation, was great no pressure to buy. saved a lot of money. clean restrooms, showers, laundry and the pool was wonderful. we will go back this year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stumbled across Rushmore Shadows 3 years ago while staying at another campground during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and decided due to location to give it a try. 2011 was our first time staying. We were tenting and found the tent sites (choose your own) to be really nice. There were picnic tables at most locations, and fire pits. If your chosen site did not have a fire ring, they were more than happy to accommodate you and bring you one ! Was super impressed with the facilities - bathrooms/shower area used was the one at the club house...Fabulous ! Only downfall was that in this particular aea there are only two showers - more available at another shower house not far from this one.

We again chose to stay at the Shadows for the 2012 Rally. We had purchased a large pop-up last fall so brought that along instead of tenting. We had checked out the pop-up sites in 2011 and decided to pay the extra and go with a full service site. The pop-up sites look to be on the smaller side and we like a bit of sun - these sites are nice and shady though if that's what your looking for !

Was very happy with the site that we choose to stay in. Plenty of room for camper, truck, and motorcycle. The staff was very accommodating even getting us ramps to unload our bike so we didn't have to look for a place to unload.

We have discovered, though, that the best time to use the pool area if you are an adult and want to swim without getting run over in the pool by kiddies having fun is from 11-3ish...super nice and quiet around these times. It's Not a huge pool but always super clean and very well kept. Hot tub could be bigger but it works ! Have made the suggestion that there should be an adult swim time in the PM vs 9-10 in the morning..like 9-11 at night would be better !

Truly missed not being able to have campfires in any way shape or form this year due to the state wide fire ban - not even charcoal grills were allowed - totally understandable due to the extensive drought.

Overall I really enjoy this Resort. Our "preferred" camping spot we could not have...I guess it's designated for campers in the 30' range...though the people that came in after us that had this spot were in a smaller motor home...definitely not over 30'..was one of the small driveables so it might have been close..maybe next year !

I have suggested this campground/resort to several people since our first visit and one of the couples actually bought into their "timeshare" type of ownership this year !...would LOVE to at least be able to get our favorite spot for bringing them in customers who join !..

We will be making our reservations soon for next year - don't forget to ask about discounts ! We receive the Military Discount ...might also be others for AARP, AAA, etc but not so sure.

I would suggest if your tenting to choose the tenting area that is just to the south of spots 1-13 on their map - super nice spots...sun and shade...clean...and not far from club house, showers, and pool !

Room Tip: Tenting excellent area just behind spots 1-13. Pay the difference if in a pop-up and get a full ser...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarlaM202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RushmoreShadows, Owner at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your vacation at Rushmore Shadows Resort; the Rally is so much fun! Your comments are appreciated and have been shared with the staff. There are a couple of things you mentioned that we are very interested in implementing in 2013. We hope you'll come back to see us next year...and bring your friends along! Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 48 in Rapid City
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rapid City RV Park & Campground
0.0 mi away
Canyon Lake Resort
Canyon Lake Resort
#5 of 19 in Rapid City
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushmore Shadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Shadows Resort

Address: Rapid City, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 101
Also Known As:
Rushmore Shadows Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing