We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why did we love you?!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Creek Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summer Creek Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belton, Missouri
Level Contributor
233 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Why did we love you?!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Why did we love you? Let me count the ways. We loved you to the depth and breathe of girth you added to our frames with your wonderful breakfasts. If only our car could reach you more often. We loved you to the level of everyday conversation on the patio, in the quiet of evening, in the morning sun before breakfast or with the evening glass of wine. Sorry Elizabeth Barrett Browning, but my husband and I must freely turn to praise for Summercreek. The Bed and Breakfast is spotless, warm and inviting. Everything has been thought through with great care from the great beds, wonderful sheets, towels to die for. A movie theater, pool room, baby grand piano, large shower, and 2 soft chairs in the room to relax. Breakfast on the patio with other travelers and great conversations in the dining room, while sipping the glass of great wine from their wonderful selection. Yummy treats like smoked salmon spread, white cheddar cheese spread or chocolate dipped strawberries.
Breakfasts were outstanding from the orange stuffed french toast, souffles, super moist scones, perfect fried potatoes and the freshly squeezed orange juice.
Daniel was always ready, willing and able to give directions and information on the area with map and magic marker in hand.
The landscaping is stil a work in progress. However, you know that with the loving care obvious on the inside of the B&B the outside will be equally beautiful when Mother Nature cooperates.
But you can have a beautiful home and wonderful cuisine and still not have a 5 star B&B unless the owners were exceptional. Nancy and Daniel you are what made it 5 star. Keep up the GREAT job you are doing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    9
    2
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
210
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gering, NE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

My wife and I were very imprested with “Summer Creek Inn”! The hospitality is truly second to none. We’ve stayed at other B&B’s and there is nothing like the experience we encountered here at Summer Creek… After a wonderful day of sight seeing we found it surreal to unwind on the patio… in the warmth of the late September sun, while I played a soft melody on my guitar. We soon found ourselves surrounded by friends that we’d never met until that day, all having the same thing in common; a beautiful, relaxing experience of intimacy and romance. Don’t tell too many people… so this stays our secret hide-away in the “Hills”. Thanks Dan and Nancy.
We’ll be back… Perry & Robin

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbrening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast. WOW this was so beautiful.
We were so impressed. Our room was not only spotless but warm and inviting.
The fireplace in the room really was a bonus. We enjoyed our stay so much.
Dan and Nancy were so warm and friendly. My husband was a little worried about eating breakfast with the other guests but we both enjoyed getting to know the other guests and also learning about them and they provided good tips on great places to visit. The breakfast was amazing, the presentation was beautiful.
We are already looking at our calenders for next year. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissatimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The bed and breakfast was very beautiful. We went there for our anniversary. Our hosts pampered us. They were very friendly. We enjoyed the movie theater. Our room was incredibly beautiful. We could walk out onto a deck and enjoy the view. Would stay there again some day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniversary200800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The website doesn't do this place justice. It is fantastic in every way: the location is great; the accommodations are luxurious; the food is delicious; and the hosts are wonderful. Thanks, Dan and Nancy for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlh650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Great location in the middle of the Black Hills, South Dakota. Beautiful accomodations. Nancy and Dan are great B&B hosts that really get to know their guests. This place will make you feel like home. Superb pillow top beds, game room and a theatre room to die for. I had a great time visiting with the other guests at breakfast or dinner or late in the evening having a beverage. Oh, and the food that Nancy prepares is superb. I regretted missing some of the dinners. I'll be back.

Mark Saffell

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BikeSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

How do you take a picture of “WOW”?
Talk about lucky! We were lucky to make reservations at the Summer Creek Inn for our visit during the Sturgis Bike Rally. The internet gave us the feeling that we were going to have a very nice place to stay. Little did we know that a “nice” place was a total understatement. “Wow!”, can only describe our observations of the facility.

Our check in was wonderful. After taking the necessary credit card information, Nancy showed us around the facility. Rarely am I speechless, (for those that know me) but all I could muster up was “wow”. The 10 seat media room was plush with plenty of DVD movies to choose from . Our room was beyond our expectations. Granite counter tops, waterfall tub, hot tub, shower with great body sprays along with the most comfortable mattress we have slept on.

We did have our brand of beer waiting for us. (we emailed our preference) The dining area was large and comfortable. The bar was a great granite top that was a great conversation area. Coffee was always fresh with a “make it by the cup” coffee maker. A great selection of wine was also available.

Breakfast was served on the large back, covered porch. Fresh squeezed orange juice complimented gourmet breakfast each morning. We did have one dinner (we recommend having dinner too). Filet steak was tender and tasty.

We could go on and on about the facility, but we really need to comment on our hosts. Nancy and Dan were totally helpful and friendly. From the time we checked in until we had to leave (5 days) we became the most pampered guests. We had so much fun talking with them and sharing stories.
This was our first time visiting during the Bike Rally. We hope to go back in two years and hope we can get our #1 room for our next visit.

We hesitate to post pictures, because pictures just don’t do justice to the facility or the wonderful hosts. (couldn't resist a few pics of great breakfast)
It is just too difficult to take a picture of “wow!”.

David and Brenda

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
17.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
8.9 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.8 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Creek Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Creek Inn & Spa

Property: Summer Creek Inn & Spa
Address: 23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-7434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Creek Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses with a luxurious stay at Summer Creek Inn & Spa centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills of SD. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse memorial and all the major attractions and activities in the Black Hills. Uniquely designed with unexpected comforts, the inn is perfect for weddings, reunions, corporate retreat or that perfect vacation. Enjoy gourmet breakfast, in-room fireplaces, private whirlpools, hot tubs, theater, or relax by the waterfall with a glass of wine at Rapid City's #1 Bed and Breakfast in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Summer Creek Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing