We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor finds another winner”
Review of Summer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor finds another winner”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Traveling with wife and her sister to visit Rapid City attractions. Not a big b&b fan, but looking for something better than Rapid City Hotel, we found the Summer Creek Inn, on Tripadvisor.
It could not have been better. Great hosts, large rooms with every modern convenience and a five star breakfast.
Our room #2 had a great bed, fireplace, bathroom with jacuzzi tub that filled from ceiling and separate 4 head shower. Attached private porch with private spa.you never want to leave the room.
The only adjustment we had to make was no cell or wi-fi service. They have free long distance phone service and once getting out to main road you get your cell phone back. Was not really a problem.
We can't wait to bring our friends from Dallas Tx back to a great vacation spot and the Summer Creek Inn.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    9
    3
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
223
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Not much to add to the many glowing reviews. We loved Dan and Nancy, the beautiful inn they have built, the spotless and well-appointed room (4) and lavish bathroom, the delicious breakfasts they served, and everything else.

The only way you could be disappointed would be if you didn't know what you were getting into, as seems to have been the case with some reviewers. To address those points:
Location: The address may be Rapid City, but the location is much much closer to Hill City, quite a distance out. OTOH, much closer to many of the attractions -- Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer, Wind Cave, Hot Springs, etc. And in a quiet location, not a city neighborhood! But given the lack of traffic and good roads, you can be back in Rapid pretty fast if, like us, you want to sample some of the restaurants and such there. We went there for dinner two of our five nights, along with two nights in Custer and one in Hill City. Really, not a problem at all.

Internet and cell service: Yup, you will have to do without. I am one of those people who disconnects with great difficulty, and I was a little worried at first when I saw the situation. But then, during one of those delightful breakfasts where we got to visit with Nancy, we learned the story. It's not that Dan and Nancy are trying to isolate you -- it's the lack of available service at a reasonable cost. She reported that she actually spent 45 minutes on the phone with the governor (only in SD could you get such access!) explaining why the absence of communications connections is harmful to tourism and potentially dangerous. But so far, no luck. They have internet for themselves because they need it to do business, but to offer it to guests and have adequate bandwidth would cost a fortune, and you'd see it in the cost of rooms. There IS full-featured satellite TV, so you aren't totally away from the world, for better or worse. If I can disconnect, you can too. And service is readily available in nearby locations if you need a fix. Plus, for emergencies, you can use the Inn phone and give out that number, and they will find you.

Breakfast: Yes, they serve at one time, 8:30. That's on the late side for us, but we were on vacation, so we went with the flow. If you're an early riser, go for a walk by the nearby lake and then come back to eat. If you can't deal with the fixed time, don't opt for breakfast. But if you do that, you'll miss out on delicious and creative meals -- generally including coffee/tea (available much earlier if you need your fix), juice, a fruit and/or vegetable (e.g. breakfast salad, roasted tomatoes, fruit with cream), an egg-based dish (quiche, baked egg dishes) and a carb of some kind (scone, banana bread). Most delicious for me was the orange and pecan stuffed French toast, but don't count on seeing it -- it's only there occasionally now. Whatever you get, it will be prepared with care and finesse, plated elegantly, and served by the owners themselves, with each joining one table for a visit. You'll learn a lot there, both about the property and the local attractions -- plus whatever other interesting topics come up.

All in all, we were thrilled with our choice of the Summer Creek Inn. If I were to pick one tiny nit: could use better lighting for reading, with lamps on both sides of the bed, controlled from bedside for late-night reading. That's absolutely the worst thing I can find to say! For what we wanted, it was superb.

Room Tip: We liked Room 4 and found it sufficient for everything we like to have, but there are fancier ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was the first stop along the way to Glacier Nat'l Park. From the moment we walked through the doors of Nancy and Dan's beautiful B & B we knew we were in for a special treat. They have such pride in every aspect of their Inn. Dan and Nancy built this from the ground up and nothing was spared. Dan keeps the grounds and home immaculate and it seemed as if it was brand new Nancy's flair for design was very evident in the beautiful and comfortable room we stayed in. Breakfast each morning was a treat and well worth the extra $$. Dan and Nancy joined their guests and Dan helped plans wonderful day trips in the area that shouldn't be missed. It was like staying with friends. They had a way of making each of their guests feel special. Nancy accommodated my husbands request for poached eggs, which she perfected for him. I loved sitting on the porch outside the dinning area and listening to the water fall created by Dan and looking at all the garden touches created by Nancy. It was definitely a great choice. We stayed in Suite 6, which was one of the smaller suites and it was very comfortable and had wonderful amenities and very ample space.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 6. Light and airy room. It was up 1 flight of stairs. I was concerned about gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifesbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stay at B&B's on a regular basis and we found Summer Creek Inn at the very top of places we've stayed. Dan and Nancy go to extremes to make this a spectacular place and experience for their guests. No detail has been missed in this elegant home and we enjoyed not only our large suite but the outdoor and other indoor areas as well. I cannot say enough good things about this classy inn.

Vicki Strahan

Room Tip: We had Suite #2 which included a private outdoor patio and Jacuzzi as well as a gorgeous spa style t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The suite, the setting, the food, the hosts--everything was perfect. We have stayed at several B&Bs in the Carolinas and GA and none can compare to Summer Creek Inn. Dan and Nancy have built a beautiful inn and seem to genuinely enjoy their guests. Plan ahead for the lack of internet/phone signal. I suggest stopping in Hill City where the signal is strong to do your online planning for the next day's activities. Be advised there are very few spots on Hwy 385 where your cell phone will catch a signal. At the end of your busy day in the Hills, return to the Summer Creek Inn to relax, enjoy the amenities and loose yourself in the lap of luxury.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillngad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanremo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have chosen this B&B because is located in the countryside and not in downtown Rapid City or Hillls City. And so all the three days we spent there we took advantage of it, having beautiful walks (and jogs as we'll) in the nearby pines wood.
But:
- despite it is a "bed and breakfast" the breakfast is not included in the room rate: you have to pay an extra charge for it!
- breakfast time is sharp at 8.30: you cannot have it earlier or later
- we asked for the wi-fi connection and Dan (the innkeeper) told us that in that area the wi-fi is not working (as well as the cell line). But we founded out that there was a wi-fi net available ...only for the innkeepers (admSKI)!
- the bed linen are acrylic!
- the rooms towels were always wet/humid
- unlike in all the B&B we have stayed over the States here they do not offer you .. even a cookie!
The Summer Creek Inn and Spa appears definitely to pretentious (and high price) for what it offers!

Room Tip: Choose one of the two rooms on the third floor: we stayed in one on the 2nd and we where hearing the...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank stumpistumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, VT 05758
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place is top notch! Exceeded all of my expectations. Hard to see it as a B & B. I would explain it better as a "Boutique Hotel". Nancy and Dan are generous inn keepers and jump through hoops to make your stay awesome. It is beautiful, immaculate and "loaded with amenities. Nothing is lacking. Can't recommend this place more.

Room Tip: Can't speak to it as all rooms are different-ours #4 was lovely-spectacular bathroom and lacking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbit800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.9 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
17.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
17.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
13.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Creek Inn

Property: Summer Creek Inn
Address: 23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-7434
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses with a luxurious stay at Summer Creek Inn. Centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills of SD. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse memorial and all the major attractions and activities in the Black Hills. Uniquely designed with unexpected comforts, the Inn is perfect for weddings, class reunions, corporate retreat or that perfect vacation. Enjoy gourmet breakfast, in-room fireplaces, private whirlpools, hot tubs, theater, or relax by the waterfall with a glass of wine at Rapid City's #1 Bed and Breakfast in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing