We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! No other place compares.”
Review of Summer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We try to always stay & small inns and B&B's. I can honestly say that this was one of the absolute best experiences ever. Nancy and Dan were beyond friendly, helpful, and eager to share positive experiences about the surrounding areas. They went out of their way to accommodate us, INCLUDING finding us a two night stay someplace else because they were booked up! We had to change rooms a couple of times because of bookings for Sturgis Rally and that was perfect. We got to experience three different types of rooms - the shower in Suite Two is not to be missed! The food was incredible and the wine selection was great. One of the best experiences was sitting with Nancy at the table for a couple of hours just chatting about their experiences and how the Summer Creek Inn came about - These folks know how to make you feel at home. No place better to stay and convenient to everything you would want to see. Another amazing part was the price - for what you get this is a total bargain!

Room Tip: All the rooms that we stayed in (3 total) were fantastic. But the shower in Suite Two are to die fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Inn was fantastic, very centrally located for all that we wanted to do (Mount Rushmore, Keystone, Wind Cave, Jewel Cave). We felt very welcome, and the atmosphere was very relaxing. Even though we were on vacation the wifi kept us in touch in case of work emergencies. The beds were very comfortable, and the pillows were extraordinarily comfortable. Also, the choice of having breakfast or not created a very accommodating experience. Nancy was an extraordinary hostess, and we are already making plans to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional, with 1,8, and 9 being the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emphyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I spent six days at the Summer Creek Inn and loved our stay.Nancy and Dan were wonderful hosts who went out of their way to share their knowledge of the Black Hills and give us maps and directions to aid us. The Inn is in an excellent location with Mount Rushmore and other attractions within an easy drive. Our room was lovely as were the grounds of the Inn.Opt for breakfast ,they were sumptuous,a real eating treat. We have been fortunate to stay at some of the top B&B's and small inns in the country and would rank the Summer Creek Inn up there with the best.

Room Tip: We loved suite 1,nice private patio with morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ews999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Summer Creek Inn for two evenings and loved every minute of our stay. The Inn is magnificently crafted with high end features in every aspect of the building and grounds. Summer Creek Inn is comparably priced to other B&B's and hotels in the area that do not begin to compare in amenities and warmth. The owners, Dan and Nancy, are gracious and anxious to serve you from the moment you set foot on their property. Their commitment to you, the customer, is exemplified by their policy of establishing a set price which is honored throughout the year regardless of holidays, special events or high demand. This adult only facility is just the answer to getting away from the hectic daily grind. We both returned refreshed and energized as a result of the beautiful surroundings and pleasurable interaction with Dan, Nancy and other guests of the Inn. Our entire experience was enjoyed from beginning to end. We highly recommend Summer Creek Inn if you are planning a stay in the Black Hills of South Dakota.

Room Tip: Even the lowest priced room in the Inn is exquisitely designed and decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Until our stay at Summer Creek I had to twist my husband's arm to stay at a B&B. He thought of them as awkward, and he dreaded breakfast in a B&B as he is a "meat and potatoes (and gravy) only" type of an eater. After 3 nights with Dan and Nancy I can't get my husband to stop raving about the Summer Creek Inn. The breakfasts were fantastic, and Nancy is willing and able to accommodate even the fussiest of eaters. The home is warm, inviting and located in a perfect Black Hills setting. But more importantly Dan and Nancy are welcoming and wonderful hosts. We so enjoyed sitting on the patio with them chatting the evening away. They are a down to earth pair who fill their home with warmth and humor. We highly recommend the Summer Creek Inn and look forward to our next visit!
Chris & Kevin H. (Omaha, NE)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisKH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summercreek, Owner at Summer Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Glad we have changed his mind about b&b’s! I so enjoyed the challenge of your “meat and potatoes” guy. Maybe I’ll change his mind about veggies and who knows we might work him up to brussel sprouts. Looking forward to that challenge. Safe travels and hope to see you on a return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Summer Creek Inn two nights while touring the Black Hills. We were so impressed with everything here. The landscaping around the home had me loving it before we even walked in the door. Actually, walking in the door was awesome too. My first words to Dan & Nancy when I walked in the door (before the tour even started) were, "I love this place!" Our room was very spacious, comfy bed & great sheets. The bathroom was huge! They supplied nice bath products & bottled water to take out on our tour. The bf made you feel you were at a top notch restaurant & so delicious! Nancy & Dan go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They sat down with us after bf & answered questions & supplied maps with suggestions on great things not to miss & how long the drive would take. Dan called it "map school!" It was so helpful & we really enjoyed our day. This location is very good also for seeing the sites of the Black Hills. If I am in the Black Hills again, this is where I would want to stay! Summer Creek is a beautiful home!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skatster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summercreek, Owner at Summer Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We enjoyed meeting you both and glad that you felt welcome and enjoyed your suite as well as the patios and grounds. I’ll have Dan start working on “map class II”. Looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have stayed in B&Bs all over the country and have never had such rude, insulting, snarky inn keepers. This is not a comfortable, welcoming place to stay. Don't be fooled by the amenities advertised on the internet. We paid for the most expensive suite. There was no cell phone signal, though we could get it a few miles away, the inn phone could not place any outgoing calls, and we had to beg three times to get the password for the advertised "high speed wireless internet". The connection was spotty at best. There was no guest refrigerator, guest robes, large shower with body jets and the whirlpool tub so highly advertised was broken. We were told we could use it as a soaking tub. The suite we had was in the blazing sun in the afternoon so we expressed our concern about the air conditioning. The room was never adequately cooled off before nighttime and suddenly at 9:30, was shut off. We asked for a fan and complained about the lack of air conditioning and were told all the fans were being used. We asked for a fan again at about 11:00 and suddenly one was available. Turns out the air for our room was being controlled by a thermostat in the hallway which was set at 84 degrees. If you think air conditioning is defined as opening all the windows and putting a fan in one at 2:00 in the morning, then this place is for you. We were so stressed out by this situation, that we got three hours of sleep. This from a place which promised to "do everything possible to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable". Don't believe it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Winston G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summercreek, Owner at Summer Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We regret that your stay with us was not as pleasant as you had hoped. Please understand that it is our policy to do everything that we can to make all of our guests stay as comfortable as possible and that due to our location in the mountains it can sometimes be a challenge and a frustration to us as well as our guest with spotty cell phone coverage and satellite internet. As a courtesy we do offer our guest access to our land line and allow free in country long distance calls to our guest. It’s unfortunate that during the first day of your stay Century Link our long distance provider was experiencing a state wide outage and no one with that provider in SD could make long distance calls. The heating system in our facility is a multi zoned system and is programmed to keep each guest room at 70 degrees and the hall temperature does not reflect the room temperatures. After you expressed your concerns with the room temp we did contact our heating and cooling company and the system was running 2 degrees off and has been corrected. The fan that was suddenly available at 11:00 was because we had a staff member drive into Rapid City to purchase a fan for your use. As for the guest room and guest amenities it’s apparent from your comments that you were not well advised upon your arrival as to all of the guest amenities available to you, as we do have guest refrigerator, guest microwave and 24 hour coffee and tea bar, we also offer three different types of robes for our guest to choose from. As noted on the website each guest suite has different room amenities and not every suite has a shower with body jets. We have reviewed our website to make sure the amenities for each room are accurate.
Again we regret that you had an unpleasant stay and have discounted your final bill for any inconvenience that you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.8 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
197 reviews
17.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
11.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
1,044 reviews
10.3 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
954 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Creek Inn

Address: 23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-7434
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range: $176 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses with a luxurious stay at Summer Creek Inn. Centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills of SD. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse memorial and all the major attractions and activities in the Black Hills. Uniquely designed with unexpected comforts, the Inn is perfect for weddings, class reunions, corporate retreat or that perfect vacation. Enjoy gourmet breakfast, in-room fireplaces, private whirlpools, hot tubs, theater, or relax by the waterfall with a glass of wine at Rapid City's #1 Bed and Breakfast in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing