We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace in the Hills”
Review of Summer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Suburbs, IL
Level Contributor
206 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Peace in the Hills”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A restful and beautiful place with the most caring hosts you can imagine. The grounds are gorgeous. This was our second visit to Summer Creek and it only gets better. There is a fabulous new spa where I had the most heavenly massage of my life. You will always remember the sumptuous breakfasts by Nancy - they are to die for!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    9
    3
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
223
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PORT SETON, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Summer Creek Inn is simply outstanding. A fantastic building, beautiful rooms throughout, good location, friendly hosts - who are always on hand to offer advice - and superb breakfasts. It's difficult to see how it could be improved - well - a swimming pool would be nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PORTSETONMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This B&B is absolutely gorgeous and Dan and Nancy are fantastic. We got up in the morning and had coffee on the patio, then moved in to the dining room for a gourmet breakfast. Dan joined us and gave us pointers on how to make the most of our time in the area...spot on! If you have time, the Prairie Berry winery is close by and a good time. Recommend the BBQ Pheasant pizza there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is our third time visiting Dan and Nancy and they always have fantastic service. The rooms are comfortable and private, and the breakfast is excellent. Next time we visit we will be sure to make an appointment for a massage in the new spa room!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshlieNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is possibly the most luxurious b&b you will ever stay in. The rooms, or should I say suites are large and luxuriously appointed, ours had a jacuzzi bath that filled from the ceiling, something we'd never seen before, we also had our own private hot tub on the deck. The property has its own cinema and a comfortable lounge for a relaxing evening in. The location is out of town and about 10-15 mins to the nearest towns. Dan and Nancy have put a lot of thought and love into everything they have done and it shows. As others have stated the breakfast is superb and creative, with Dan and Nancy on hand to help plan your day. We had a nice dinner at the Horse Creek Inn which was about 4 miles down the road. Another evening it was Val's birthday and they recommended a very nice restaurant in Rapid City called Delmonico's which was first class and lived up to their recommendation. Dan and Nancy are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them, we can't recommend Summer Creek Inn highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a very luxurious b & b with comfortable lounges, piano, outside terrace loungers etc. Our bedroom was large and the bed excellent.
Breakfast was a great communal experience: the cooking was creative and very different on each of the three mornings.
We enjoyed Dan and Nancy joining us at table and giving advice and information about sightseeing in the area.
The nearest restaurant is 4 miles away and we did not enjoy oone of the meals we ate there but there are many more choices in Hill City - about 10 miles away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of bed and breakfasts and I must say this is one of the best! This bed and breakfast in South Dakota has great rooms. They are all very big and luxurious. Dan and Nancy pampered us and made us feel welcome. They even took the extra step of helping us plan out our days with different activities that are a must see when you visit the Black Hills and Mt. Rushmore. I would recommend this inn to anyone!

Thanks Dan and Nancy for everything!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.9 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
17.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
17.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
13.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Creek Inn

Property: Summer Creek Inn
Address: 23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-7434
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses with a luxurious stay at Summer Creek Inn. Centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills of SD. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse memorial and all the major attractions and activities in the Black Hills. Uniquely designed with unexpected comforts, the Inn is perfect for weddings, class reunions, corporate retreat or that perfect vacation. Enjoy gourmet breakfast, in-room fireplaces, private whirlpools, hot tubs, theater, or relax by the waterfall with a glass of wine at Rapid City's #1 Bed and Breakfast in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Summer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing