We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star all the way!”
Review of Summer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A beautiful big house, built in 2009, in a peaceful location just off Rte385 between Hill City and Deadwood, Summer Creek Inn is a fantastic place to spend a few days in the Black Hills of Dakota. Perfectly placed to explore the area, with all the major attractions, including Mt Rushmore, the Crazy Horse memorial, and Custer State Park nearby. The Badlands are within easy reach too. It was our first visit to this lovely area of the US and we managed to see pretty much everything we planned to during a three night stay here.

The friendly and helpful hosts, Dan and Nancy, are lovely people, and provide a fabulous fresh cooked breakfast, different each day, at 8:30 each morning. You couldn't ask for anything better when staying in a B&B, and we've stayed in quite a few. It's nice to meet and chat with other travelers in the beautiful large dining room each morning. The inn has some extraordinary features, including a luxurious home cinema worthy of a Beverley Hills home and Dan has a collection of 400 DVDs to view there or in your room. 5 star luxury and better than many top hotels.

We stayed in Suite 2, a huge room with a very comfortable bed, and plenty of storage space for your belongings (including toiletries bag!). The bathroom is luxurious, with twin washbasins, a large shower with multiple jets, and a large spa bathtub which fills from the ceiling! Plenty of hot water, fluffy towels, face cloths and toiletries. Outside is a private patio and hot tub which we made much use of when not out on the road. About 4 miles south is the Horse Creek Inn, a very good restaurant which gives a discount to Summer Creek guests, and there are plenty of other places to eat in Hill City, a few miles further down the road.

If we ever return to the Black Hills, we can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gojph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 297 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband surprised me for our first anniversary with a 4 night stay at this absolutely marvelous B&B. His ulterior motive was to knock something off of my Bucket List, that being Mt. Rushmore, but we had to celebrate in style as well. He booked Suite 3 and it was absolutely perfect, as is the rest of the inn. This 11,000 sq. foot home was built with lots of love and amazing attention to detail and trust me, it shows. As aspiring innkeepers, we visit inns looking for things we'd want to do better - Dan and Nancy do it right the first time. Amazingly clean (I look at the caulking - yes, I'm THAT PICKY!), lovingly decorated with exceptional attention to detail down to the drawer knob pulls, sweet smelling linens, the softest sheets we've ever experienced - I could go on, but you need to experience it for yourself. Another nice thing about this inn is that the common areas are many; you can go outdoors, the living area, screening room, pool table room, eating area, bar area - even with 9 rooms in the inn and lots of folks around, you don't feel encumbered. The coffee and tea bar is always open and Nancy and Dan are always around to make you comfortable. Be ready for awesome breakfasts and treat yourself to a sleep with the windows open - the sound of the wind in the trees is amazing. The innkeepers are expanding and I can only guess what wonderful thing they'll do next. Yep, we'll be back. Thank you for a lovely, lovely stay!

Room Tip: Not a bad location in the house, truth be told. We were on the side of the house away from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mercurysqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Hard to describe how great this place is. Is it the accommodations? Is it the breakfast (picture worthy!)? Is it the location? Is it the hosts? Any can be described in one word: Fabulous! Don't miss this place when you are in the Black Hills. My husband and I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claired751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Summer Creek Inn for 4 nights in May 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! We were in suite 2, which had one of the private hot tubs and patio area. It was nice to be able to soak in the hot tub after a day of hiking in the Black Hills! (we recommend the Harney Peak hike for fabulous views!) We liked the proximity of the Inn to all the sites we wanted to see: Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and Deadwood, to name a few. The bathroom is nicely appointed with Kohler shower heads from every angle, a lovely tub and double vanity. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was a treat each morning, so much so that we decided to leave later than we had originally planned on our last morning, so that we would not miss another gourmet breakfast. Daniel and Nancy have a way of making everyone feel at home, truly hospitable. We will recommend Summer Creek Inn again and again!

Room Tip: Their website has wonderful pictures and descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the Summer Creek Inn for our 9 year anniversary in May 2011. We stayed in room #1 with the private hot tub. The rooms are very spacious, clean, and very nicely decorated!! The hot tub was GREAT after a day of driving around in the car sight seeing! Breakfast was wonderful every morning!!!! Afterward they would ask us our plans and Dan got out a map that we could take with us and maped out the best route for us!

I did get to see a few of the other rooms, Nancy graciously gave me a little look in a few of them (we were the only ones staying there at the time, so the rooms were unoccupied), they are all very nice, and look just like the pictures they had posted on their website.

Beautiful place, Dan and Nancy were wonderful! It was our first time staying at a B&B and we would definately stay there again!! (In room #1)

Room Tip: Room #1 had the private hot tub, which was greatly appreciated after sitting in a car or walking aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_Scenic_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Fantastic is all I can say in one word. Dan and Nancy are the BEST inn owners ever. Delicious breakfast, top notch details from the building of the inn, to the decor, to thinking of every possible accommodation you will need for your stay. Mr. Dan and Ms. Nancy kept me company and entertained while my hubby enjoyed his fly-fishing. First time to South Dakota, and can't wait to go back. Would not even consider staying anywhere else if we are in Rapid City. Suggestion: Rhubard Wine, Hill City!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girldawggeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was our first experience with a bed & breakfast. It was fantastic. We stayed in August 2011 to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. As mentioned before, Dan & Nancy are great hosts & do know the area well. They were happy to furnish some special essentials when we asked. Their establishment is new. Much thought has been given to its design. They are still working on landscaping. The plan looks wonderful. There is a beautiful lake near by. Delicious breakfasts are served. The couple researched the best "on demand" coffee system! Yes, it's pricey, but we found it comparable. Remember, they are on Mountain Time.

Room Tip: Suite 5 looks into gorgeous backyard. Outdoor balcony off the room. Great 2 person jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greykitty_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
17.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
13.6 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Rapid City
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
11.8 mi away
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Creek Inn

Address: 23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-7434
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range: $194 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses with a luxurious stay at Summer Creek Inn. Centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills of SD. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse memorial and all the major attractions and activities in the Black Hills. Uniquely designed with unexpected comforts, the Inn is perfect for weddings, class reunions, corporate retreat or that perfect vacation. Enjoy gourmet breakfast, in-room fireplaces, private whirlpools, hot tubs, theater, or relax by the waterfall with a glass of wine at Rapid City's #1 Bed and Breakfast in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing