We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Hill City, Custer Park & Deadwood”
Review of Summer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summer Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Summer Creek Inn is a new property with all the imenities of a 4 star property close to all South Dakota has to offer. Stayed for two nights, the room was very spacous unlike most B&B's. A great wine selection. The Innkeepers were friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohminihaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

We decided to take a road trip to the Black Hills for our Anniversary, and I stumbled across this Bed & Breakfast while I was planning out our trip. We had never stayed at a B&B before, so I was a bit nervous. The place is amazing! From the moment you walk up to the front door, you realize what a gem it is! The style is breath-taking. I appreciated it so much more after hearing Dan and Nancy's story of building it.
The first night of our road trip we stayed at a hotel in Deadwood. Next time we will be scratching that off our list and staying here the whole time! It's a great location, centrally located to many attractions. It's close to Keystone and Hill City, which we found more enjoyable than Deadwood.
Nancy and Dan were so great at suggestioning places to eat and things to do.
After a long day of hiking and sight-seeing it was amazing to come back to our Suite (room #8) and enjoy the wonderful jacuzzi that filled from the ceiling! After that we enjoyed watching a movie in the awesome theater room.
The breakfasts were wonderful -- including a large bowl of fruit, hot eggs or french toast, and a refreshing glass of orange juice. Plenty of food to keep you energized until late afternoon! It was also so fun to visit with other guests from all around the country; we visited with people from Florida, Illinois, New York, and Wisconsin.
It was our first Bed & Breakfast, and probably will be our last. I don't think any other B&B could out-shine Summer Creek Inn! We can't wait to go back; after we left my husband said we should go every year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkernell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Both Dan and Nancy were excellent hosts. This place is a brand new building and the rooms have just about every detail covered from the comfortable beds to the flat screen TV with a DVD player to the luxurious bathrooms. Our room even had a private deck and hot tub which was a nice bonus. The breakfast was good, and they have a full bar as well. I would highly recommend this place to everyone coming in to see Mt Rushmore or trying to spend some quiet time in the Black Hills.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

First of all I would like to say that Dan and Nancy are wonderful hosts and are doing a great job. The house itself is amazing, huge and very well decorated. The rooms are super, clean, cosy and very large and ours had a lovely little fireplace. We slept like babies in the soft and cozy bed. The b&b is in a top location and has good access to mount rushmore and custer state park, however it is a half hour drive to downtown rapid city. Nancy makes a hell of a breakfast. I would say keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This amazing property is located about a half hour outside of Rapid City in the Black Hills. It was specifically built to be a bed & breakfast and that makes a difference. The layout of the common rooms is comfortable and the rooms are lovely. Everything is luxurious.

We stayed in Suite 8 - which included a king-sized bed and small balcony. A whirlpool tub with gas fireplace was located in the corner of the room. The tub filled from the ceiling and has all sorts of fun options with color changing lights and different bubble speeds. The room has a nice-sized TV that didn't see much use, with a DVD player --- tons of movies to borrow. The rooms are keyed with a four-digit code rather than with actual keys. This was great for me because I'm always forgetting my keys at hotels --- and when I wanted to duck downstairs for a quick cup of tea, I didn't ever have to worry about where my key was.

The bathroom had double sink - yay! No sharing. The bathroom also had a large shower with two showerheads --- I didn't discover until the last day that you could have both running at the same time - that was definitely nice!

The common rooms include a theater room, a pool room, a living room, kitchen and outside seating. We didn't use the pool room, but the theater room is amazing - tons of DVDs to play or you can just watch TV (my husband was way into the Stanley cup finals and was able to watch on the big screen -- a definite treat!). The room has huge leather chairs set up theater style and blankets are available in a basket should you get chilled. The only issue was that Dan and Nancy don't like to start showings late in the evening. Not a problem for us.

Wine is available for purchase. Tea and coffee and hot chocolate always available 24/7. There's a small "guest fridge" where guests can store beer or other items than need to be chilled.

Of course, every bed and breakfast needs a good breakfast - and Summer Creek Inn does not disappoint. The first morning we had waffles with a side a yogurt/nuts/fruit combination --- and a mimosa! Yummy. The second morning we had something Italian sounding -- like French toast but thicker -- my mouth is watering just thinking about it, a side of berries and a smoothie. That was what made it so hard leaving at the crack of dawn on the third morning --- we were going to miss the breakfast!! Fortunately for us, Nancy sent us on our way with some scones for the road -- normally a great breakfast for me, but definitely a poor substitute. Anyone that decides to go to Summer Creek Inn should ensure that they don't schedule early morning flights like we did.

As hosts, Dan and Nancy are perfect. They are warm and friendly and will put you at ease instantly. They are great at providing advice on options for dining and activities in the vicinity. (Although Nancy is not necessarily great with how long things will take.)

This B&B is only a couple of years old and so everything is still shiny and new. The outside landscaping is not yet complete and is a work in progress -- so, if that's very important, bear that in mind.

Overall, I cannot recommend this place highly enough. A wonderful bed and breakfast that is great for out-of-state tourists or as a weekend getaway.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank otsthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We recently stayed at Summer Creek and I have to say that it was one of the highlights of our 2 week trip. The Inn is first class with absolutely beautiful suites. Everything about it is first class and the attention to detail is very impressive. Nancy and Dan are the best hosts. They are so genuine and down to earth that they quickly felt like close freinds to us. The breakfasts that they created for us were like a new advanture every morning and were far from the usual. It was most relaxing and enjoyable and ourt wish is that they were closer to home for us so we could enjoy going back regularly to get spoiled.
Thanks Nancy and Dan for sharing you beautiful place, time and conversation with us!!!

Steve and Laurie

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve33983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Summer Creek Inn met all of our expectations and then some. It was the first time we had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast and we were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms were incredible and Nancy & Dan the owners went above and beyond on every level. The breakfast that they prepared was some of the best we have had and they even took the time to map out daytrips for us so that we would make the most of our 4 days in their area. It was a wonderful experience and a wonderful part of our 2 week visit to that part of the United States.

Room Tip: Their website very accurately shows the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler12311231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.8 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
197 reviews
17.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
11.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
1,043 reviews
10.3 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
954 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Creek Inn

Address: 23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-7434
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range: $177 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses with a luxurious stay at Summer Creek Inn. Centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills of SD. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse memorial and all the major attractions and activities in the Black Hills. Uniquely designed with unexpected comforts, the Inn is perfect for weddings, class reunions, corporate retreat or that perfect vacation. Enjoy gourmet breakfast, in-room fireplaces, private whirlpools, hot tubs, theater, or relax by the waterfall with a glass of wine at Rapid City's #1 Bed and Breakfast in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing