We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous bed and an amazing breakfast!”
Review of Summer Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summer Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A fabulous bed and an amazing breakfast!”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This amazing property is located about a half hour outside of Rapid City in the Black Hills. It was specifically built to be a bed & breakfast and that makes a difference. The layout of the common rooms is comfortable and the rooms are lovely. Everything is luxurious.

We stayed in Suite 8 - which included a king-sized bed and small balcony. A whirlpool tub with gas fireplace was located in the corner of the room. The tub filled from the ceiling and has all sorts of fun options with color changing lights and different bubble speeds. The room has a nice-sized TV that didn't see much use, with a DVD player --- tons of movies to borrow. The rooms are keyed with a four-digit code rather than with actual keys. This was great for me because I'm always forgetting my keys at hotels --- and when I wanted to duck downstairs for a quick cup of tea, I didn't ever have to worry about where my key was.

The bathroom had double sink - yay! No sharing. The bathroom also had a large shower with two showerheads --- I didn't discover until the last day that you could have both running at the same time - that was definitely nice!

The common rooms include a theater room, a pool room, a living room, kitchen and outside seating. We didn't use the pool room, but the theater room is amazing - tons of DVDs to play or you can just watch TV (my husband was way into the Stanley cup finals and was able to watch on the big screen -- a definite treat!). The room has huge leather chairs set up theater style and blankets are available in a basket should you get chilled. The only issue was that Dan and Nancy don't like to start showings late in the evening. Not a problem for us.

Wine is available for purchase. Tea and coffee and hot chocolate always available 24/7. There's a small "guest fridge" where guests can store beer or other items than need to be chilled.

Of course, every bed and breakfast needs a good breakfast - and Summer Creek Inn does not disappoint. The first morning we had waffles with a side a yogurt/nuts/fruit combination --- and a mimosa! Yummy. The second morning we had something Italian sounding -- like French toast but thicker -- my mouth is watering just thinking about it, a side of berries and a smoothie. That was what made it so hard leaving at the crack of dawn on the third morning --- we were going to miss the breakfast!! Fortunately for us, Nancy sent us on our way with some scones for the road -- normally a great breakfast for me, but definitely a poor substitute. Anyone that decides to go to Summer Creek Inn should ensure that they don't schedule early morning flights like we did.

As hosts, Dan and Nancy are perfect. They are warm and friendly and will put you at ease instantly. They are great at providing advice on options for dining and activities in the vicinity. (Although Nancy is not necessarily great with how long things will take.)

This B&B is only a couple of years old and so everything is still shiny and new. The outside landscaping is not yet complete and is a work in progress -- so, if that's very important, bear that in mind.

Overall, I cannot recommend this place highly enough. A wonderful bed and breakfast that is great for out-of-state tourists or as a weekend getaway.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank otsthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    9
    3
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
226
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Willington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We recently stayed at Summer Creek and I have to say that it was one of the highlights of our 2 week trip. The Inn is first class with absolutely beautiful suites. Everything about it is first class and the attention to detail is very impressive. Nancy and Dan are the best hosts. They are so genuine and down to earth that they quickly felt like close freinds to us. The breakfasts that they created for us were like a new advanture every morning and were far from the usual. It was most relaxing and enjoyable and ourt wish is that they were closer to home for us so we could enjoy going back regularly to get spoiled.
Thanks Nancy and Dan for sharing you beautiful place, time and conversation with us!!!

Steve and Laurie

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve33983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Summer Creek Inn met all of our expectations and then some. It was the first time we had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast and we were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms were incredible and Nancy & Dan the owners went above and beyond on every level. The breakfast that they prepared was some of the best we have had and they even took the time to map out daytrips for us so that we would make the most of our 4 days in their area. It was a wonderful experience and a wonderful part of our 2 week visit to that part of the United States.

Room Tip: Their website very accurately shows the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler12311231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Summer Creek Inn is as good as it gets! It is convenient to just about all of the attractions in the Mt. Rushmore/Rapid City/Deadwood area ... and, you will not find a better place to stay - at least for couples.

We stayed in Suite 2 for two nights in June 2011. It was a stunningly spacious and beautifully decorated room. In addition to a very comfortable bed, Suite 2 includes a fireplace, two reading chairs, a large leather couch, and an outdoor patio and sitting area with a private hot tub for guests of this suite only. Indoors, the bathroom includes a freestanding jetted tub that fills from the ceiling as well as a separate shower large enough for two where the water will refresh and cleanse you from five different angles.

There are numerous common areas for guests including a billiard room, a sitting room, and a mini-theater. You can choose from a collection of over 500 DVDs to view here or take back to your room.

Nancy and Dan are perfect hosts: low key, professional, friendly, and knowledgeable.

Breakfast is served at 8:30 each morning in a spacious dining area. It includes fruit, juice, coffee, and a delicious gourmet entree. Beverages and wine are available other times of the day.

Everything about this inn is FIRST CLASS! We loved our stay here and highly recommend it to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Route31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My husband and I decided at the last minute to take a mini-vacation. We were celebrating some personal accomplishments, so we wanted somewhere nice to stay. Generally we stay in hotels; in fact, we have never stayed in a B&B before so we had no idea what to expect. It sounded fun and interesting though, so I booked a room at the Summer Creek Inn.

As soon as we pulled in to the driveway, I knew we'd booked a great place. This is a very new B&B, opened in 2009. It's so beautiful, inside and out! The attention to detail and quality is astounding. They're working to improve and beautify the surrounding landscape too. I cannot wait to return in the future and see how it has changed.

Our room was suite 3A. (I took some pictures of the room that I will put with my review.) It had a king bed, jetted deep tub (the entire bathroom was amazing), and a wonderful gas fireplace. Given that much of our weekend was dampened by rain and chilly temperatures, we were so happy to have that fireplace! Nancy and Dan greeted us warmly and even made cookies for our arrival! We were given a tour of the entire place, including the billiards room and a gorgeous movie theater room. If you're a reader, they also had a large selection of books to enjoy!

After getting settled, we were hungry! There had been a recent snow storm in the area (snow in late May, eek!), so Nancy called a nearby restaurant to make sure they were open and that they had electrical power. Throughout our trip, Nancy and Dan provided advice and helped us decide where to go and what to see--their knowledge of the local area was such a great resource!

Since I mentioned hunger, I have to mention the breakfasts. They are excellent chefs! Each morning, a table was set for us and we enjoyed sharing breakfast with them and the other guests. Since our visit was during the off-season, there were only a few other couples in the B&B during our stay. We are somewhat introverted (we tend to keep to ourselves), so before our trip we were a bit wary of having breakfast with other guests. Our concerns were totally unfounded. We absolutely enjoyed sharing travel stories and conversation over coffee and fresh orange juice, Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, stuffed french toast, and other delicious selections each morning!

Our bed was extremely comfortable--really, our entire room was. As I said earlier, Nancy and Dan did a WONDERFUL job designing and building this place. The attention to detail and craftsmanship were impressive--this is not just some 'slapped together' hotel or anything. We're pretty picky travelers, yet I can't think of a single issue we had. Our room at Summer Creek Inn was perfect. Throughout our stay, we would find ourselves saying "let's go home" after finishing our last activities of the day. It is such a comfortable and welcoming place. We are SO GLAD we stayed here instead of in a hotel in Rapid City!

Some notes about technology: there is little to no cell service in the area of the B&B. (So bring a map--don't rely on your GPS!) Nancy gave us a couple of maps and guides when we arrived, and they were dog-eared and tattered by the time we left. You won't even miss your phone though--maybe you'll be glad for the break from it! (This is spoken by a true technology addict, by the way...) There was a nice TV (with satellite--I think--channels) in our room with a DVD player, and they have a nice library of DVDs you are welcome to watch in the theater or in your room. Ladies (or long-haired gents): there was a hair dryer provided, so you can leave yours at home!

As far as location: I thought it was a great location with access to all of the fun things to do in the Black Hills area. Summer Creek Inn is located just south of the Pactola Reservoir. From there, you can drive up to Deadwood, east to Rapid City, or south to Hill City, Keystone (Mt. Rushmore & more) or Custer (Custer state park, Jewel Caves monument and more). It is close to everything, yet it's peaceful, protected, and absolutely quiet. No road noise or other annoyances will bother you while you relax.

Obviously, we really liked our stay at Summer Creek Inn! Please check out the photos I have added to this review--some of them show our room, Suite 3A. This B&B was so amazing, I don't know how any other one could match up! We would definitely stay here again when returning to the Black Hills area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lazylightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Nancy and Dan were great hosts. They helped us better plan our time in Black Hills

Room Tip: Suite 1 and 8 have hot tubs on quite side of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UPSPLUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We really loved our time here. The food was delicious and the room was very comfortable. The conversations we had were great. This place is everything we had hoped for and more. Modern furnishings about 30 miles from Deadwood about 15 minutes from Hill City. We cannot imagine ever staying anywhere else in the Black Hills now. Very clean and tidy. Quiet at night. This inn is for couples and a perfect place for a getaway. This is a small inn so book in advance.

Room Tip: Call in advance this is a small inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.9 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
179 reviews
17.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
17.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
10.2 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
857 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Creek Inn

Property: Summer Creek Inn
Address: 23204 Summer Creek Dr, Rapid City, SD 57702-7434
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your senses with a luxurious stay at Summer Creek Inn. Centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills of SD. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse memorial and all the major attractions and activities in the Black Hills. Uniquely designed with unexpected comforts, the Inn is perfect for weddings, class reunions, corporate retreat or that perfect vacation. Enjoy gourmet breakfast, in-room fireplaces, private whirlpools, hot tubs, theater, or relax by the waterfall with a glass of wine at Rapid City's #1 Bed and Breakfast in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Summer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing