We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for price”
Review of M Star Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
M Star Rapid City
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
1 review
“Great room for price”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were looking for a quick stay while in the area for a trip and this hotel under cut everyone else and was very surprised how great the service and how friendly everyone was. The rooms were not the fanciest but they were clean and comfy. Would recommend to anyone family, couple, or single

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    17
    19
    7
See reviews for
27
26
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed during Sturgis. Great location, close to Black Hills, Reptile Gardens, etc. rooms were nice, a little dated perhaps, but they were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Secure area. I would stay again, and probably will when I return next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumunownguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked this motel for the rally and got a great deal through Expedia. For the price we paid, I can't complain. There was plenty of parking, the air worked good, beds were comfortable but carpet definitely needs replaced. If we had been charged inflated "rally" prices, I would have chose another place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cinny314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnuson_Rapid, General Manager at M Star Rapid City, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I am glad that you felt you got a great value for the room. As you were probably made aware, the property is under remodel. We thank you for the review and hope to see you again on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Like others, we were not initially convinced that we had made the right choice with this roadside motel. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff at reception were very efficient and helpful. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. Our room was equipped with the usual facilities including a fridge and microwave plus TV. Free coffee was available in reception although you will have to find a restaurant for breakfast. There were several options within a very short distance from the motel. Good, reasonably priced motel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdcaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnuson_Rapid, General Manager at M Star Rapid City, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We have been striving to provide the best value in town and we appreciate the wonderful review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We booked this because of price. It is the perfect spot for day trips to Black Hills and Devils tower area. Easy access to Rapid City and points East. When we checked in the outside looked like your usual 1 or 2 star motel. Our room was great. It more like a suite. Very clean and comfortable. The staff, including housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. I have stayed in dumps and 5 star hotels in large cities. I rated this high because of the staff and service. There is also an excellent family owned restaurant 2 doors down that has great breakfasts and some of the best pastries that I have ever had. It is the Carriage House or as the sign says "CH". The room we had could sleep 6 people. I highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floors. The building is set into a hill and some of the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnuson_Rapid, General Manager at M Star Rapid City, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I am thankful for the wonderful review of the property and if there is anything further we can ever assist with, please do not hesitate to call the property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I booked this because of price. I didn't want to go broke on hotel stays while on our vacation through Rapid City and Yellowstone. The computers were down when we checked in and one of our key cards didn't work but that was no biggy. The guy at the desk was very nice. I love that we just backed right up to our door and didn't have to carry things far or up stairs.

The room was average. Nice refrigerator and microwave. Newer linens and bedspreads which is nice and a flat screen tv. Beds were very comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was great (the best we had throughout our trip to various hotels) Overall it wasn't bad. Didn't have a breakfast but that didn't matter to us. I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAB250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnuson_Rapid, General Manager at M Star Rapid City, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I appreciate the wonderful review of the property! I apologize that our system was down upon checkin; however, it is wonderful to hear that the desk clerk handled himself well and treated the guests how he was suppose to. If you are ever in the area again, please stop in and let us be your place to stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was inexpensive that is why we chose it however there was mold in the bathroom. The toliet was not bolted down. The bed spread had stains. And the sink knob came off when u touched it. And the floor hasnt been cleaned in years. Power flicked on and off. I wouldnt recommend .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reneelmiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnuson_Rapid, General Manager at M Star Rapid City, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I would like to apologize for the stay that you had, as it sounds like you were very unhappy with the property. I am curious if this review was meant for another property though. I can assure you that our toilets are bolted down, our faucets do not fall off, and our carpets are vacuumed daily. From all the other reviews listed, this one does not match up with an accurate description of our property. If there is anything I can assist with though, please do not hesitate to call the property direct and we an discuss the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
564 reviews
1.8 mi away
Avanti Motel
Avanti Motel
#33 of 48 in Rapid City
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#34 of 48 in Rapid City
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#22 of 48 in Rapid City
326 reviews
3.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#18 of 48 in Rapid City
345 reviews
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 48 in Rapid City
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Star Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Star Rapid City

Property: M Star Rapid City
Address: 2401 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5386 (Formerly Budget Host Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — M Star Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke Free newly renovated M-Star Rapid City is located 22 miles from Mount Rushmore and 1 mile from downtown Rapid City. Other nearby attractions include the Children’s Science Center, Cosmos of the Black Hills, and the Sitting Bull Caverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your M Star Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing