We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandkids love it”

Watiki Indoor Waterpark Resort
Ranked #16 of 68 things to do in Rapid City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Grab your family and come "dive in" to WaTiki Indoor Waterpark! Guests and visitors are invited to enjoy over 30,000 square feet of pools and water-slides. The park is open year-round and is conveniently located right off I-90 on Elk Vale Road at Exit 61. WaTiki is connected to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, La Quinta Inn & Suites, and Residence Inn by Marriott which means we can accommodate every one in your pool party!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children
Custer, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Grandkids love it”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

You can sit and relax while they play. You are able to enjoy a snack and a drink from Sliders while the kids have a blast.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmspiritm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watiki, General Manager at Watiki Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving this nice review. We strive to hold our food and entertainment at WaTiki and Sliders to highest standard and appreciate your positive feedback!

Thank you,

WaTiki Indoor Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    109
    71
    35
    30
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“'Lord of the Flies' with a waterslide”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Never mind the fact that the park itself is like being in an echo chamber filled with tortured cats, this place is an accident waiting to happen. It seems that this is nothing more than a convenient place to abandon kids while you sit at a table and get pleasantly bombed. As a result, you've got little tribes of kids running around tormenting smaller kids, all the while screaming like Banshees.

The rules are supposed to be enforced by what are laughingly referred to as "Lifeguards". From what I saw, these people stroll around the area, displaying the insouciance normally reserved for billionaire debutantes forced to rub shoulders with the peasantry, while studiously ignoring any and all transgressors. Those that would like to do something can't because the noise level varies from "mind-blowing" to "ear-splitting", drowning out any requests for assistance.

On a positive note, the water must be clean since there is enough Chlorine in it to kill birds in the parking lot.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ebd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here with a Fairfield Inn package that included water park passes each day. Even after 5 days of using the water park for several hours each day, we were all sad to leave it. There are two HUGE tube slides and a long regular slide, as well as a lazy river and an incredible kids area. There is also an arcade and bar/restaurant area that we did not spend much time in. The kids could not get enough of this place. We could have stayed here for 10 hours a day if it was up to them. Will definitely come here again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steele, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
“GREAT GET AWAY”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just wanted to say that we had a nice time this past pre New Years weekend! We stayed for two nights and left on New Year's Day...bummer! Sounds like the facility had great things planned for that evening! Although the electricity went out the morning we arrived, and there was a line of people waiting to check in, the ladies behind the desk were tremendous and very, very, helpful! The manager was a gem! She came to our room to try and figure out the remote/TV and also gave us tokens for the arcade. We had conversations about the hotel, lets not forget the discussions we had about the Hotel Alex Johnson! :O), and the Black Hills in general, words can't say enough about your wonderful employees! We look forward to coming back real soon!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AntoinetteH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watiki, Manager at Watiki Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing photos of your WaTiki experience along with this nice review of our water park and compliments to our staff. We're always happy to hear that our employees went above and beyond to make an enjoyable experience for our guests. Please come back and visit soon!

Best,

WaTiki Indoor Waterpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The indoor water park was so much fun. We all enjoyed it. My favorite part was going down the slide with the kids and the lazy river. You can never be to old to enjoy a cool slide. I felt that the park catered to all ages. There was a kiddie area with lots of activities for my little ones. I felt very safe, they had a well run security procedure. No one was able to leave the area without a matching wristband to a parent. It made us feel at ease. My 2 oldest were able to run free. while I was able to stay with the little ones. It was an enjoyable experience. We are sure to return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TipsonRoadTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watiki, Manager at Watiki Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're happy to hear that your WaTiki experience was a fun, safe, and enjoyable time for your entire group! At the WaTiki Indoor Waterpark, we strive to provide safe water-park activities for guests of all ages.

We'd love to see you again the next time you're vacationing in the Black Hills area! For the summer of 2014, we'll open the new WaTiki expansion featuring a wave pool, a zipline, and three new water-slides... amongst a round of other additions! We hope you'll consider bringing your family back to check out the new WaTiki!

Regards,

WaTiki Indoor Waterpark
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watiki Indoor Waterpark Resort also viewed

 

Been to Watiki Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing