We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my eating experience”
Review of On the Border

On the Border
Ranked #86 of 265 Restaurants in Rapid City
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“my eating experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Place was okay, it was busy so it took a long time to get our food. It was good when it finally arrived.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    59
    41
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not even close to the border”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

well, what do you expect for Mexican food so far away from Mexico..Its average. ItsTex-Mex type, but the flavors are nothing like real Mexican food. The place gets busy on the weekend & evenings and has a separate bar area away from the dining room. Family friendly & cheap prices, just don't go expecting southern style Mexican food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsfreeze06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Typical chain”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

food was nothing to write home about...waited forever to get service and in return received 50 percent off our bill...so that was the only good thing about the place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tking66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Black Hills, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lounge staff needs some help”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I stopped for a quick beer before another appointment. We got water and chips in a hurry but it took 2 minutes to get a glass of beer and the bar was virtually empty. Our beers were on the counter waiting to be served but our server disappeared somplace and the bartender was not going to deliver the beers. " Not my job" attitude. When we did get the beers we had to wait again two more. Not a visible manager on duty or the problem might have not occured. Probably won't return anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEASANTON
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, incredible margaritas”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The food was very very good but the stand out was the bar tender and his skill in making a silver patron margarita. I am not sure if I have had any better any where. They serve dinner late which is a good thing in Rapid since many places seem to cater to the early diners. The mrs had the gluten free personal pizza I had the baby back ribs and shared the brownie for dessert. Everything was excellent. Nice warm atmosphere. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHARLES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing