We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Easy Recommendation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Easy Recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice hotel, comvenient location (just off the interstate, and an easy drive into downtown Rapid City and several shopping centers), a good jumping off point for Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, and the area's other attractions. There's an indoor water park across the street - a big attraction for my young boys. The breakfast was a little better than usual. One of the better places we stayed at on a 2 week road trip.

Room Tip: My guess is that the rooms are probably about equal. Ours was on the first floor, across from the po...
See more room tips
Green Features: Wasn't there long enough to notice, so I can't comment - the only,thing I noticed was the standard appeal to reuse the towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Good afternoon Dave P,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to review our all-suite property! I’m glad our
location made sightseeing in the area easy for you and your family. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    252
    48
    9
    2
See reviews for
597
365
43
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very quiet and very comfortable rooms. Pleasant staff. The breakfast was adequate and always plenty of food and the staff was very active cleaning and making sure items were restocked. Recommend this location to anyone traveling to Rapid City.

Green Features: Good practices and hopefully people take advantage of keeping the lines from day to day if possible.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate you taking time to review our Platinum Award Winning Hotel! Our breakfast
attendants always make sure our guests start their day off right. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope you will stay with us the next time you visit the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a new hotel and let me just say, they built this one perfectly! Beautiful, clean, super friendly staff but best of all: THE ROOM!!! We got a King suite and when we walked in the door we both looked at each other and said, "Can we live here!?!" It was that wonderful! Roomy, clean, beautifully decorated. Bed was super comfortable, plenty of pillows, extra blanket, plenty of towels. Water pressure was outstanding. There is not one thing I can say bad about this hotel! Breakfast was hot and plentiful with two gals running back and forth making sure to all the guest needs. The pool was great as well. It is very close to the interstate so it made travel a breeze.

Room Tip: We had one a King suite. LOVED it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoMorningglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Well what can I say....THANK YOU for all the wonderful comments! I’m so happy that our
accommodations met and exceeded your expectations! Please come stay with us anytime, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a fairly new hotel property so it is very clean and updated inside and out. The breakfast room is quite large and accommodates many guests. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with refrigerators and average size bathrooms. The hotel was near capacity during our stay but we didn't hear any noise from the adjacent rooms so the walls must be pretty thick which is a fantastic feature during a busy vacation season. The location of the hotel is right on I-90, so you can get some rest and be on the road quickly as well as being close to many dining options in the area. The wi-fi wasn't working for us even though they have several sign-in options; it wouldn't hold a connection for more than a few seconds. My only serious issue of concern is that during a recent storm, they had some mishap with the elevator shaft/roof covering and there was a puddle of water inside the light of the elevator. When we reported it to the front desk staff, they seemed to laugh it off and acted like it was no big deal. I think guest safety should be of the utmost importance and they could have at least made it look like they cared. I'm not an electrician but I think water coming through a light fixture is considered a bad thing. The elevator should have been taken out of service since they have two of them and made the repairs immediately. Other than that issue, the hotel is quite nice and I would most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtngirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our all-suite hotel! I’m very happy that the room was quiet and comfortable for you! We have addressed the issues with the wifi and are actually installing a new system as we speak. I’m very sorry that the front desk staff didn’t take your concern seriously, I will also address this. As for the elevator, very rarely we get the perfect combination of wind and rain that blows water into the elevator ventilation system. However, it does not harm the lights or the system in any way. Thank you for staying with us and we would love to welcome you back with some fresh, warm cookies the next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed two nights in June on a Badlands and Mount Rushmore vacation. The hotel is just off the interstate. There are several shopping centers within a five minute drive and a gas station and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel itself was clean and well maintained. There was an elevator. Our room was a family suite that included a microwave and refrigerator and separate bedroom with a king bed. Very spacious. Check in was smooth with a friendly front desk attendant. She recommended the restaurant Dakotah that is in the shared parking lot. Worth dinning there. Breakfast was well stocked with the usual fare. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 27lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Good afternoon 27lovetotravel,

I’m very happy to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable! Thank for staying with us and for taking time to review our Platinum Award Winning Hotel! The Family Suite is a great choice and definitely spacious as all of our rooms were designed to be larger than average. Please visit us the next time you’re in the Black Hills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindstrom, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I always inspect hotel rooms right away. I walked in and there was no smell, the bed linens were not stained and did not smell like the typical strong bleach smell. The bathroom had no mold/mildew stained caulk, sinks were clean and unstained and the tile grout was even clean. The only thing that wasn't perfect was under the vanity. There were about 50 black hairs under there that didn't get swept up when they cleaned. I actually felt comfortable in a hotel room. They were sold out the second night we were there, so I expected some noise from the hallway and neighbors and heard...NOTHING! I had to really listen to hear anyone. LOVE THAT! I was there with my family for 4 nights. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for the great review! I’m ecstatic to hear that you found comfort in our suites! Our staff works tirelessly to make sure that our entire property is spotless. I’ll address the vanity with housekeeping. I’m also happy to hear that your suite was nice and quiet…. sometime you just can’t put a price on that! We hope you will visit us the next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a snowy day! Rooms were beautiful, comfortable and very new! Pool was small but nice. Front desk person was personal and friendly! We took time and ate the breakfast and there were many options and breakfast attendants were also very friendly! Highly recommend!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank abvijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for the “Awesome” review! We have a wonderful staff that is always happy to go out of their way for our guests. Please visit us the next time you’re in the area, we’ll have some warm cookies waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Property: Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Address: 1333 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#2 Green Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 30-60 minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing