We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our trip to Mt. Rushmore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our trip to Mt. Rushmore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We brought our granddaughter west to see Mt. Rushmore (her request). We stayed at the Comfort Inn Suites. What a great experience. The rooms were large and so was the bathroom. Sophie loved the pool. The breakfast was a complete hot breakfast. It was close to the Dakota Restaurant which was an excellent steak house with a menu just for Sophie. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor if you have children, close to the pool, exercise room and laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I’m so happy to hear that you and your granddaughter had such a great experience at our hotel. It’s always fun when the kids want to visit a place such as Mt. Rushmore! We love having the Dakotah Steakhouse next door because a great meal is only a short walk across the parking lot. Please stay with us again the next time you visit the Black Hills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    266
    49
    9
    3
See reviews for
619
401
46
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

An excellent hotel except in a storm the elevator rains on you when its storming so I took the stairs back up from the pool which was too cool for me to swim in nice and clean though. The spa was too hot for me too so I went back tp my room and relaxed in a nice tub of bubbles.They should really get that elevator vent fixed it was running water down the lights and it was a little scary

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patty_vdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our Platinum Award Winning Hotel! I’m sorry to hear that our pool temperatures didn’t agree with you but I’m happy to hear you found relaxation in your suite! We rarely do get the perfect combination of wind and rain that blows it right into the ventilation system but not to worry, there is no harm done and we have addressed this issue. We hope you will stay with us the next time you’re in the Black Hills! We’ll have some fresh, warm cookies waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I don't give 5 stars to a chain type hotel, but if I did, I'd give this hotel the 5! Nice people, very clean and bright, large room, not noisy and an ok location for the local fair grounds! A deal all around. About 10-15 minutes from the airport servicing Rapid City.

Room Tip: Its a quiet area, off Interstate 90, so no good or bad room selection. One side faces the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineV88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Sunshine V88,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I’m glad you found our accommodations to be of the “5 Star” caliber that we’re known for! We hope you’ll stay with us the next time you’re in the Black Hills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

New building which was super clean and quiet. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Convenient location which was easily accessible for out rental truck. Great steak restaurant next door is a must stop for dinner and the Free hot breakfast and wifi was a big plus. We'll definitely return to this hotel when passing through Rapid City on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VSKOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear valued guest,

I’m very happy to hear that you found our hotel “super clean and quiet”! We pride ourselves on having an exceptional staff and I’ll pass along the nice comments to them. Yes, the Dakotah Steakhouse next door is definitely a must stop! We’ll be looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I can see why this hotel is award winning. I have never been told such detailed information about a hotel upon check in in my lifetime! The hotel is proud of what they offer, including 24 hour desk service, exercise room, pool, spa, adult only pool times later in the evening, how to find your room, and the times of breakfast. The best thing I liked upon check in is there is a strict rule of no excessive noise after 9:00 pm. They take this seriously and I was to call them if I experienced any issues, which I did not have any issues. I was so happy that a hotel actually had a quiet time policy! As a business traveler, I greatly appreciate this policy. If you are thinking of staying here and make noise into the night, this is not the hotel for you! The suites were big, spacious, and the beds were comfortable. The one problem I had was slow Internet connectivity.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lauren_bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello lauren_bergen,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave such a great review of our property! You’re right, we do like to keep our guests up to date with what we have to offer and we also want to make sure that every guests stay is enjoyable. Please stay with us again the next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrock, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean and very large, location was right where we wanted to be (close to Waikiki water park) breakfast was great and all staff we saw were very friendly. Will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Rapid City!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank thompson4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear valued guest,

I’m so happy to hear that you found our rooms “clean and very large”! I’ll pass your compliments on to all the staff that helped make your stay a great one. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a great place to stay. They always take good care of me when I am there. The breakfast is very good and well stocked and taken care of. They have warm cookies every night. The work out room and pool are top notch. This is on the top of my list when I am in the Rapid City area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4work307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleah E, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We are delighted to hear that we’re top on your list for Rapid City! Thank you for staying with us and for leaving us this wonderful review! We’ll be looking forward to welcoming you back with some fresh, warm cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#12 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Property: Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Address: 1333 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Green Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 30-60 minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing