We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Rapid City SD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here based on reviews. I was not disappointed at all! One of the nicer Comfort Suites I have stayed in the past couple of years. The decor in our room was so peaceful and comfortable. Clean? You betcha! Stay again? In a heart beat!
Recommend to anyone but advise making reservations early. To expect a room when you just show up may not pan out. Why? Because the word is out...this is a great place to stay!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Auberina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Wow!!!! Thank you so much Auberina, for the excellent review of our award-winning hotel! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hurry on back and stay with us again - but - like you said, make sure you make a reservation - we want to save you a room!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

perfect for us after a very full day at custer st park and the badlands. Appreciated the very comfortable bed and the beautiful, clean suite.

Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choices-both hot and cold foods.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patticake919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello Patticake919!!! Thank you for your review of our award-winning hotel. We're so glad we could be your hotel of choice for relaxing and unwinding from a day of site-seeing. You saw some of the most beautiful parts of South Dakota! We hope you choose us when you return to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Took a family vacation to Rapid City area. Very family friendly hotel. Hotel staff, including Nicolette, was very helpful. Our refrigerator in the room didn't work too well and the staff happily stored our food in the staff refrigerator. Breakfast was very good. Beds were comfortable. Room was clean. Enjoyed the suite...very helpful when you have small kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RussellScott2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Good Evening , RussellScott2013!! Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review of your stay with us. We were more than happy to store your food in our cooler. We're glad your kids had a good time with us and hope they got to enjoy our freshly baked cookies in the lobby! Hurry Back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here after a 22 hour journey and needed a good sleep the bed was very hard and the pillows very small.Out side of our room was a generator that kept us awake all night. The wifi did not work but the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hello ray1694!! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We have expressed your concerns to our housekeeper and maintenance teams. We hope when you return to the United States and visit the Black Hills and Badlands, you choose our hotel for your stay. Please contact me and I will personally guarantee your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were happy to be able to get a good rate at the # 2 hotel in Rapid City. I booked it at choicehotels.com for a good rate (i joined there rewards club). We called in advance and got a early check in. Unfortunately the room was next to the elevator. You could hear a constant hum at night but none of us are light sleepers so not a problem. We were happy to get into our room early. The staff was super friendly, the breakfast buffet was typical fare but the area was kept very clean and the food was fresh. The location makes for a great jumping off place to explore the attractions around Rapid City. This is a great value property.

Room Tip: Just one off of the elevator this only effect about 4 rooms in the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oregongolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Good Evening Northwesgolfer! Thank you for the 5 star review of our hotel. I'm glad we were able to accommodate an early check-in for you and your family - thank you for calling in advance so we could be ready for you! We hope you choose our hotel again when traveling to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked here for a family reunion. At the peak, there were 5 rooms and about 18 people. We had a very nice time. The hotel staff was very helpful, looking up businesses for us and providing directions to restaurants, museums, etc. I don't think we passed the desk once without them asking if they could help us find anything and we very often let them. They seemed genuinely anxious to help so it was hard to say no!

I wanted a room where family could gather so I chose a room with a large table and 6 chairs. It was not listed on the web site but I phoned the hotel and they explained what they had. I made the arrangement that way. It worked out very well.

When we needed more chairs in our room for an evening get together, they said no problem and helped bring them up from the breakfast area.

Tammy was very nice to our group. Other staff were also very conscious of making sure we had a good experience there, more so than in most hotels I have stayed in anywhere.

I did a lot of web research on Rapid City hotels before choosing this one and the results were well worth the effort. Everyone of our group seemed very pleased with the choice.

Most of us stayed a full week. Sometimes a hotel's quirks begin to irritate you after a few days but I can't report anything that did,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablito51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Good Evening, Pablito51!! Thank you for the wonderful review. We're so happy you picked our hotel to host your family gathering and that your research guided you in the right direction! We hope you choose our hotel again when you return to the area - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just stayed at the Comfort Suites Rapid City. I do not always write reviews but I can't say enough about this place. Rooms were immaculate. I have never slept on a more comfortable bed and the pillows were almost worth taking home! Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rapid City.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ethansgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hello Ethansgmom! Thank you for deciding to write a review about our hotel. I'm so happy you enjoyed your experience with us. When you come back, we'll see about those pillows! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
598 reviews
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Address: 1333 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Green Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $75 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 30-60 minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing