We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Rushmore and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mount Rushmore and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very nice and clean property. Easy access to everything we wanted to see and do. Had a 2 bedroom unit only disappointment was only ONE bathroom. Breakfast was nothing spectacular but good and always replenished.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFamily416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    216
    45
    7
    2
See reviews for
522
328
37
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My family of 5 stayed here for two nights and there was plenty of room for all of us!! Our room consisted of 2 Queens and a pull out couch and we never felt like we were "on top" of each other. Breakfasts were organized and they didn't run out like other hotels. The check in process was done efficiently and friendly!! We will definetly stay here again!!!

Room Tip: South end rooms of hotel are quieter. The north end is closer to I-90.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maelee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent two nights here on a trip out west. Room was comfortable and clean and breakfast was what you would expect for most hotels. Staff was very friendly. We booked this room as part of a tour package we found in our AAA book.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vluv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Extremely happy with the location, the cleaniless and size of the rooms, the comfort of the beds, the friendliness of the staff and the breakfast offering. Will stay here again and again and will tell all of our friends and family visiting the Black Hills to do so, also!

Room Tip: Some rooms are designated for pets. We have allergies, so this was nice to know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_and_T12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy O, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Platinum Award winning hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and are thankful that you'll be telling others about our excellent accommodations and service. Should you know anyone coming to Rapid City and the Black Hills for a special event (wedding reception, family reunion or a tournament of some kind...), and are needing 5 or more rooms - please have them ask for me. I'll be happy to help with a group rate if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love this hotel it is great for families of 5 or more. The family rooms are affordable and comfortable for all of us to stay in. The breakfast buffet in the morning had a good variety for us all to choose from. We will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel our last night of our 4 night vacation to the Black Hills. We did not anticipate moving from our hotel in Keystone, but due to poor customer service we changed. Very glad that we did. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and staff was very nice. Kids loved the pool, nice work out facility, main lobby was nice and relaxing. The breakfast was fine. We had hoped for a little more on the hot side of breakfasts as the last hotel had sausage and omelets or scrambled eggs so the kids were disappointed over that, but over all would highly recommend staying here. It is a bit of a drive to Mt. Rushmore area (about 20 miles), but worth it as the hotels in the more touristy area of the Black Hills are not as nice.

Room Tip: This is an all suite hotel. Works great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slfamilyiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I really need to update my GPS maps because this hotel was almost impossible to find! Once we found it, we had a great stay. There was plenty of parking and the front desk staff were very nice and welcomed us.
The room itself had lots of room to spread out and relax. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was big with plenty of counter space. Our room had a microwave, mini fridge, safe, a nice big mirror in the entryway. The sofa was also a sofabed which we didn't use but you could have easily slept 6 in our room and still had plenty of room for bags. The room had lots of lamps and was well lighted.
The free breakfast was a nice touch and they had an impressive selection - waffles, cereal, bagels, muffins, breads, yogurts, granola, juices, coffee, ham, sausage, bacon, fruit. I usually don't take advantage of the free breakfasts in hotels but i was very pleased with this one. The staff kept the area well stocked and clean.
They have a really nice steakhouse in the parking lot area which was nice for a fancy splurge dinner one night.
The only downside is that there was a lot of noise from the hallways that you could hear pretty easily from inside the room. This didn't really bother us but i could see where it might bother a light sleeper.
We really enjoyed staying here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellermdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#4 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#13 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Property: Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Address: 1333 North Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#2 Green Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 30-60 minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Otel, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing