We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly people”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Awesome people that will help you in anyway for the comfort of your stay. I recommend to stay there. The breakfast was very good. There was many choices to choose from. The room was always clean when we get back from sight seeing. Thank you staff at comfort suites you made this a wonderful vacation for my family.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor. Much quieter than being on first or second floor, because of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    291
    58
    9
    3
See reviews for
709
458
51
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here during our Black Hills vacation. The hotel was spotless! Great room with very comfortable bed. We were on the top floor and it was VERY quiet! The breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices.....different flavored waffles, eggs, sausage, toast, muffins, bagels, yogurt, donuts, juice, milk, and more! The food was kept well stocked by the attendants as well! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTripfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Two of us stayed here while on business in SD. We're required to get the Government Rate, which is tough to find during the height of tourist season. Frankly, I wasn't expecting much out of this property, but once again, Trip Advisor ratings were right on. Clean, large rooms, friendly and knowedgeable staff, and good location. A very nice hot breakfast was included, and the food kept resupplied by friendly staffers.

One caution: when checking in, guests are asked to initial a lengthy form acknowledging checkout times, penalties, etc. Among the items is agreement to pay $1.95 per night for the use of a room safe. With a line of folks waiting behind you to check in, it's easy to quickly initial all the places on the form without reading the fine print. Don't. Charging you extra to use a safe in a room is bush league, and detracts from this otherwise impressive property. They deducted the charge in the morning, but it delayed checkout. If a hotel provides a safe for guests to use, there should not be a charge for it, anymore than there should be an extra charge for use of a microwave or minifridge if provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texaholic2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hote is great for families. We stayed in the family suite with two queens and a separate room with a king bed and a pull out couch queen. The pool was lovely and the staff was very kind. A couple hours drive from Mt. Rushmore! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMD-321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place isn't in the heart of Rapid City but then again it doesn't need to be. Everything here is of great quality, especially the staff. An easy 10 min. drive to downtown Rapid City and 30 min. to very impressive Mt. Rushmore. Breakfast was delish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry-Appleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, IL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I can see why this place is rated #1. The property was clean and all staff was friendly and courteous. My family of 5 stayed the first week of June 2012 while on our vacation to the Rapid City area. One of the things I love about this hotel chain is we are able to have enough beds for our family of 5. I sometimes find it hard to bed down our three children in one hotel room, which is essential because I can't afford to pay for two rooms. This hotel chain has suite sized rooms for a regular room price which is so helpful. Whenever I plan our vacations, I find out if this hotel has a location where I'm going because it's important to have a comfortable place to go for the night while on vacation. Keep up the good work Comfort Suites and I will continue to seek you out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy O, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! We're glad you chose to stay with us during your week long family vacation and enjoyed a comfortable and quiet stay. There is much to see and do within a short distance from us; Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park and the Badlands National Park - it is the perfect place for a great vacation!

As a Platinum Award winning hotel - we are in the top 3% of ALL Comfort Suites across the nation - ensuring travelers that our property has the newest and nicest of accommodations and services! Our management and staff work very hard to keep this prestigious rating and truly appreciate guests that notice. Many of our visitors comment about the cleanliness of the hotel as well as our spacious rooms, comfortable beds and great staff ... Thank you again for your kind words - We look forward to being of service for your friends and family - or you on your next visit to Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here for one of two nights, and I kind of wish I could check out and find a place to sleep elsewhere for the second 1) It's clean, 2) Room is spacious 3)Staff Nice
Negatives: 1)Beds are too hard 2)Pool is too small 3)Could hear everything from other rooms/floor above (at 4:00am) 4)Quilts are outdated and too heavy-eneded up in our closet.
There has to be better in rapid city...

Room Tip: Best be on top floor, or you'll hear the people above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.6 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#7 of 48 in Rapid City
985 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City

Property: Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Address: 1333 N Elk Vale Rd, Rapid City, SD 57703-9504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#1 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Green Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Award Winning all-suite hotel is sure to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. We offer a great breakfast with various hot items served daily in a large dining area. All rooms have pillow-top beds, sofas that pull out into full size beds, flat screen TVs, a refrigerator and a microwave. The Dakotah Steakhouse is just a stroll across our parking lot - directly in front of the hotel. Easy access off of I-90 means you are close to many shopping venues, only 5 minutes to historic downtown Rapid City and not more than 30-60 minutes away from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial or any attraction, park or national forest in the Black Hills or Badlands. No need to pack & unpack your bags every night. Our spacious Convention Center is perfect for family/military reunions, dinners, wedding receptions, meetings, conferences or seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing