We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have an awesome family vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BackRoads Inn & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great place to have an awesome family vacation”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I would recommend that if you are in the area that you stay with the wonderful owners at the BackRoads Inn & Cabins, they are wonderful people and they make you feel like you are part of their family while you are staying with them, the cabins are clean and comfortable. We have stayed with them in June 2009 & July 2012 and are planning on going back again soon. Enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of the tall pine trees whispering in the wind, the horses that would graze close by, and deer at dusk. While sitting by the fire making new friends, while our children were off making new friends too. Or enjoying relaxing soak in the hot tub on a chilly night. We really enjoyed the early mornings of sitting on the porch with a cup of coffee reading a book or planning out our day of sightseeing. You are off the beaten path far enough, but yet close enough to the attractions in Keystone, Hill City and Rapid City.
The cabins feel like you are home and you don’t want to leave. The BackRoads Inn & Cabins will always have place in my heart. As my family is able to regroup and reconnect from our busy lives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmriddle-hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
77
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed there and had a blast. The rooms are very comfortable, well maintained, and really nicely decorationed. The hot tub was great and the scenery was spectacular. Our time was easily worth twice what we paid. Thanks Back Roads!

Room Tip: Try to find one close to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SethH453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Bird cabin at the Echo Valley Rd location. The cabin was beautifully updated and decorated, and had everything we needed (the 'fold-out couch' wasn't much tho) This particular cabin is on a hillside and didn't have as much of a 'yard' as the others in this spot, but was wonderfully quiet. The location is perfect, near Keystone for shopping and dining, and in the heart of the Black Hills - Mt Rushmore and all the sights nearby. Yet it is truly a 'back roads' cabin, on a very quiet road in a beautiful and scenic area. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A group of 14 of us stayed in 3 of the cabins during a road trip from Chicago to Vancouver (Silver Mountain #2 which was huge, Silver Lining and Coon Hollow which were small but comfortable). This place proved an ideal launching point for seeing Mount Rushmore and the Crazy Horse memorial.

With its forest setting, barbecue facilities, generously sized hot tub and pretty little pool, we ended up having a wonderful time for the two nights that we were here.

Note that not all of the cabins are at the same location. Only the ones listed above plus Silver Mountain #1 and Silver Moon are near the pool & hot tub!

Room Tip: Some of the cabins are at a different location - ask for a cabin near the pool & hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getareaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was part of a group of 13 British road-trippers who stayed here recently.

We loved the place. The big communal lounge, kitchen's BBQs worked well. The pool was great. The hot-tub excellent.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We (my daughter, 2 grandsons and myself) stayed at the Dan Patch cabin at the Echo Valley location for 4 nights. It was absolutely perfect for us. It is in a very private, secluded location but still very close to all the attractions. The cabin was much, much nicer than the pictures looked like on their website (clean and nicely decorated). The kitchen had full size appliances and everything you could possibly need. We were not able to use the campfire as there was a burning ban in effect for the entire area but were still able to enjoy the nice deck and watch the deer and turkeys every morning and evening. It is perfect if you have kids, as the location allows them to burn off excess energy after being in the car sightseeing for hours. So much nicer than being cooped up in a hotel. The kids also loved the horse swing, the pool, and hiking up in the trails behind the small cabins. When we gave them the choice of going back to the cabin or on to another attraction, they always chose going back to the cabin. We hope to return again next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LORI509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at the cabins. The kids loved playing outside on "Donkey Kong" the tire swing as well as swimming while I grilled and made supper. It was so conveniently located to just about everything we wanted to do while being tucked away in the tall pine trees from the hustle and bustle of main roads. It was really quiet, calming and relaxing. Thank you and God bless!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2BoysandaHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
1.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.8 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
883 reviews
0.8 mi away
Powder House Lodge
Powder House Lodge
#1 of 9 in Keystone
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackRoads Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackRoads Inn & Cabins

Property: BackRoads Inn & Cabins
Address: 901 Echo Valley Rd, Rapid City, SD 57751-8002
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is simple: create a space and atmosphere that allows peace, rejuvenation and quality time with others. In order for this to be made tangible, our cabins are filled with the modern comforts of plush furniture and full kitchens amidst the rustic character of knotty pine walls and custom-made log headboards. Our grounds reflect the natural setting of the Black Hills, replete with tree-covered hills, beautiful rocks, stillness and an array of wildlife: birds, squirrels, bunnies and the occasional flock of turkeys and herd of deer. While at our property, you are our guests and will be treated as friends. We will do whatever we can to make your time one of enjoyment and relaxation. Make time to get away; it'll be worth it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Backroads Inn & Cabins Hotel Rapid City
Backroads Inn And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing