We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest customer service ever”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in town to visit Deadwood, Mt Rushmore and other sites. Every day the housekeeper left us a personal note wishing us a great stay. We received Chocolate fudge when we checked in to our room. So good. Breakfast was much more than we expected and we loved the waffles. Staff is exceptional, they did so great. Helped us with maps, directions, recommendations for food, etc. This trip was on our bucket list and it was amazing Thanks to the hotel staff. Naomi in housekeeping was wonderful with our rooms and Dave at the front desk helped us every morning.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Cindylou84118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 613 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Loved it. Good breakfast, they have waffle makers. Hot tub is hot, so nice. The beds were so soft. Naomi left a nice note after cleaning our room, and there was complimentary fudge. Dave gave us maps and the best route to take to see the attractions, he was so nice and spent a lot of time answering our questions.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 79Jennyb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnSD, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

How very nice of you to identify the many enjoyable aspects of your stay here at Sleep Inn. From beds to breakfast and rooms to information/maps for best routes, our staff takes much pride in serving guests like you. Thank you for spending time with us and we look forward to seeing you again during your next visit.

Patrick Schmitz
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We checked in with Zack (I believe that was his name) we got a room on the second floor. The hotel is a couple of years old but they keep the hotel looking almost new. The carpets are well taken care of. The rooms were nice and soft the pillows really small but the room had plenty of plugs which is a good things plus a fridge and microwave. Entering the room you find a note on top of the fridge stand from the manager along with a piece of fudge from a company in Keystone. I found breakfast to be a good start for the money and didn't need to go anywhere else for bfast. I found the noise in this hotel to be unbearable with kids running down the hall but that was only the last two nights. I found the stay to be fine and would do so again the room was comfortable and was our home away from home for 5 nights and everyone we were in contact with was nice Zack, Dave and Cheryl and the member of management who never had a name tag.

Room Tip: Get on the 4th floor if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tinkerbsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnSD, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

We appreciate your review and recognition of our property, the amenities we offer and our fine staff members. We, however, apologize for the unfortunate disruptions you experienced during your stay. Our Guest Agents do try to address those issues as they come up so please don't hesitate to call the front desk if you have concerns. Again, thank you for choosing Sleep Inn for your extended stay in the Black Hills. We hope we have the opportunity to be your destination hotel again!

Patrick Schmitz
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Special thanks to Steve Habit who wrote a welcome note that showed great concern in fulfilling his guest needs:-). Clean hotel rooms, friendly maids and helpful staff behind desk that went out of there way to help me locate old volkswagens, nice pool, good food, hotel easy access to highway and road to Mt. Rushmore. Gas stations close but use your Gas buddy to fin cheaper stations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iv_fortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnSD, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Fantastic that we were able to accommodate you and your furry friend! We are continually pleased to hear our guests with pets choose Sleep Inn as their destination while in the Rapid City area. Thank you for staying with us and providing a review. Our staff would be thrilled to have you back again!

Patrick Schmitz
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our second stay at this property, and it at least equaled our first (maybe even better). Our 1st floor room request was honored, and our room was large and clean, and everything worked..

Lots of comments about pillows....yes, they are small, but that seems to be a Sleep Inn thing, not unique to this property. Good beds, and very quiet rooms, even on the 1st floor. One of the better breakfasts on our 3 week trip. Very friendly front desk staff, and they not only gave us a map to the restaurant we wanted, but a coupon towards an appetizer there.

Only thing close to a negative comment....please don't ask at checkout for perfect reviews. We usually comment on places we stay, and try to be honest. If 5* are deserved we will give them...without prompting!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnSD, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Here at Sleep Inn and Suites it is a double pleasure when guests choose to stay with us again on their return trips through the Black Hills. When away from home, familiar faces and surroundings do make a difference. We are so glad that your first floor room assignment enhanced your time with us and that it provided you peace and quiet. Our staff appreciates hearing the many comments expressed about our extensive breakfast selections as well as the high marks we receive for our clean rooms. Thank you so much for your friendly review of our hotel. Keep us in mind for all of your future stays.

Patrick Schmitz
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is well named. You will get a great night's sleep. However, the other amenities are average (less customer service, which was very good). For the price ($150 - likely due to proximity to Mount Rushmore) we had hoped for more. The fitness center is pathetic and I was almost thrown off the broken treadmill. Breakfast offered a mix of healthy and not-so healthy options found in most American hotels. Parking is adequate for cars, but gets a bit tight for those towing trailers. The hotel is located near several restaurants, including the Dakotah Steakhouse, and gas stations - and is right off the highway for those traveling.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 101jumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay. Pillows were small and that was an issue...breakfast had a great selection but the quality was lacking. Pool chemicals need to be checked. Front desk amara was rude upon arrival. Not a nice start. Would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank bizebee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 4031 Cheyenne Blvd, Rapid City, SD 57703-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#9 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#13 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $42 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing