We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritual and beautiful!”

Chapel in the Hills
Ranked #6 of 70 things to do in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Chapel is now closed for the season. We hope to see you May 1st when we open for 2017! Replica of the 850-year-old Borgund Church in Norway and has unique architecture and woodcarvings.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Glenwood, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Spiritual and beautiful!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My parents were married here in the early 70's and then I got to stand where they stood with my husband 40 years later! How amazing is that? It was a very special place.
Very unique and a must see!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    122
    30
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful old norwegian church”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It is always a pleasure to visit this little gem in the hills. Beautiful old Scandinavian church. They hold a short service every night during the summer as well, though we missed it.
The volunteers are so nice and knowledgable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“don't miss it”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went because our daughter had been to a wedding there a few days before ands she wanted us to see it. The wedding was actually held outdoors, she said. The building is fascinating. A lenghty service would likely not be comfortable as the chapel is small, and they have benches, not pews. We were unable to stay for the vesper service the evening we were there, but would have liked to stay. It is only a half hour service. We walked through the prayer garden/trail. There is also a museum, which is really like a settler's home, and a gift shop with Norwegian themed gifts. They were reasonably priced. It is free, but donations are accepted. Not too far off the 'beaten path'. I recommend it and would like to return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank revur41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermantown, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful but kids were bored”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by last week while in the area. Beautiful setting and amazing architecture. Don't plan more than 30 min or so as there isn't much to do other than look at it. The little house you can go in wad pretty cute. Kids were done after about 10 min.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Northernfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique Church”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Only cost was a donation~so it was up to you on what you wanted to give. It had a calming effect. Definitely worth a 20 -30 minute time frame.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapel in the Hills also viewed

 

Been to Chapel in the Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing