We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than east coast bagels”
Review of Black Hills Bagels

Black Hills Bagels
Ranked #2 of 9 Bakeries in Rapid City
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than east coast bagels”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Wow! What a great find our last day in Rapid City on our way out of town. Stopped for bagels, breakfast sandwiches and coffee. Tried the Highlander Grogg and wound up buying a pound of beans for the road. Bagels and spreads were amazing. Staff super friendly, owner was very pleasant. Great way to start the day. Cute coffee shop atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sibapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waukee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great bagels as you head up to meet the presidents”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Breakfast bagel sandwiches were delicious. We stayed in Rapid City and stopped for breakfast on our way up to Mount Rushmore. Delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SOMOTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Bagels Ever”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We lived in Rapid City from 1996--1998 and I loved the bagels from here then---especially the vanilla ones. Then we moved and I never had a bagel I liked near as much. In 2009 my daughter moved to SD and was so glad to find out this place was still in business!! Plus the bagels were just as great as I remembered. Every visit we made to SD involved a visit to get bagels and anytime she came home she bought bagels! I am very proud that she graduated from BHSU in Dec. 2013 BUT also sad (LOL) as no more bagels as she moved out of state! So many varieties and they are all great!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good bagels, just under the presidents' noses”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a find! Whole wheat bagel was excellent, if $1.49. The place has about a dozen cream cheese options, lots of toppings like capers and cucumber. I had a lox sandwich that was very good.

The place could use some remodeling. As you approach the counter to order, you walk over a throw rug that covers an electrical cord. On the side is an area with some old couches, ala '60s coffee house, and next to that is an alcove with a few unusual gift items.

The restaurant was well-staffed when we got there. A little confusing, because after we ordered with the gals behind the bagel counter, we saw a sign that said order to our left with another gal who was at the cash register. Coffee was good, and you get refills for only 50 cents. The juice selection is only bottles in the fridge, and the bottled orange juice was pretty awful. I like when a breakfast place offers fresh juices or even better bottled options.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I ate there 3 times in 2 days while on vacation. The food was delicious! We loved the many varieties of bagels and cream cheese. The service was fast and friendly! Wish we had one closer to home. We would eat there all the time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hills Bagels also viewed

 

Been to Black Hills Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing