We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pancakes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Hays Old West Town and Dinner Show

Fort Hays Old West Town and Dinner Show
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: **Closed for winter months. Our doors will re-open on Mothers Day 2016. See you then!** Start your day at Fort Hays Old West Town, site of the Oscar award winning movie set, Dances with Wolves. Walk along our boardwalk and make your own brick, tin plate, gem pan or make a twine lasso rope. There is no admission fee to browse the film set & South Dakota Film Museum. See the original buildings used in this popular Wild West movie. Enjoy All-You-Can-Eat Cowboy Pancakes for 99 cents! Find the perfect souvenior at one of our three unique Gift Shops. Dinner shows are held at Fort Hays mid May through mid October.
Topeka
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Pancakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good pancakes and good value! Only 99 cent pancakes but the catch is that all the sides cost extra however prices aren't too shabby. Spent $17 bucks for my family of 5 to eat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    135
    54
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Family fun to end the day in Rapid City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here for dinner and show last night in touristy Rapid City. The old west town is kinda neat, but only about 15-min worth to do there. Can get there about 15-20 minutes before the show and do this. The show was local musicians doing old country songs and some magic show during intermission. All the entertainment was decent. Food was okay. They make you bus your own tables and they take the napkins and silverware away before meal is over, so you better not drop a utensil or spill. If you like sitting and watching show on dirty tables then it is the place to go. Workers seemed like they wanted to leave about 5-min after you did. $2 coupon only comes off adult ticket. Family of 5 cost $80. Show lasts about 90 minutes and food is 3 out of 5 stars.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beagledawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was a favorite stop on our vacation! The little town was so fun! There was something for my 5 year old daughter up to my 15 year old son. The Dances with Wolves set was really cool and the prices in the gift shop were very reasonable.

The dinner was good, typical chuck wagon dinner and the entertainment was outstanding! We really enjoyed it. My 8 year old daughter was picked to go up on stage during the magician's performance and he was AWESOME! We all really enjoyed ourselves.

The only bad part about the whole experience was when the children were using the machinery to take the corn of the cobs, several of them got grease all over their shirts, it would have been nice to have some kind of warning that his might happen. We still aren't exactly sure where it came from. I'd still absolutely do it again, even if they did get greasy.

I'd definitely recommend this stop to all age groups.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4kidsandcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Although I expected an outdoor show with a real chuckwagon, this turned out to be a pleasant experience. Dinner was good. The performers were very talented and provided a good show for the money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pontiacnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCrosse WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a nice dinner ( though pretty warm in there) the music and show was great ! Would recommend to friends!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Supermom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Hays Old West Town and Dinner Show also viewed

 

Been to Fort Hays Old West Town and Dinner Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing