We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double Diamond Ranch
Ranked #6 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband, my daughter and I stayed two nights at the double diamond while we were visiting Mt. Rushmore and the area. What a treat! The owner of the ranch could not have been more warm and inviting. We felt completely at home. The horses were beautiful to watch. The dog nikki was a real treat. While my daughter played in the creek nikki was right there with her. They had a blast. Then when we took off across the creek for a walk nikki came along! What fun! The views were just amazing. The loacation is perfect. Just a great find.Our stay truly exceeded my expectations. I couldn't have ask for more. Just a lovely place and if I am ever back in the area I know were I will be staying.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denneycheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I, along w/ our 17-yr old son stayed in the Aspen Room. The location of the DD was central to everything we wanted to see. Upon arrival, Rich greeted us and showed us how to use the hot tub, and to our room - waiting for us was a plate of soft chewy and yummy cookies - that was a nice touch. The kitchenette has a dorm-sized fridge so bear that in mind while shopping for supplies; there is a grocery store just up the road in Hill City. If you need saran wrap, tin foil, or 'cold' condiments - you'll need to pick those up. Otherwise, dish soap, paper towels, eating and cooking dishes are provided. The bathroom has a stand-up shower and full-size bathtub w/ plenty of vanity space - they provided soap, shampoo/conditioner, hair dryer. The TV is a bit small - a larger size screen would just top off this otherwise ideal suite. The semi-privacy of the other beds are nice and the floor plan is vast enough that you feel comfortable / roomy - the room also offered WIFI. The furniture, fixtures, and appliances (almost forgot to mention the gas fireplace), including the bathroom all looked relatively new or barely used - very good to excellent condition. The room opens up to a private deck that has a table for relaxing outside and enjoying the view. Once in the room, I didn't hear any outside noise - beds were very comfy. The only other downside is no laundry facilities, with that said - LeeAnn had offered us to use the washer/dryer she uses for sheets if it was available - we just planned ahead and packed enough clothes - but that was because we were driving. For those who pack light when flying - you may want to check ahead about washing clothes. There are some very nice wineries on 385 heading towards Hill City - I recommend the Red A** and the Stone Face. If you head towards Deadwood - I recommend the Sugar Shack for an awesome hand-pattied hamburger in a casual environment. If you want to ride ATVs - Wayne at Mad Mountion on 385 towards Deadwood geared us up and sent us on some awesome trails - really nice guy. The grayline bus tour company was also a great way to spend a full-day - narrative tour. It was more expensive than a standard hotel but the peace / quiet plus privacy in a fully-furnished suite was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nekko95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Two adults, a toddler and grandma and grandpa enjoyed the Spring Cabin for 5 nights. We would absolutely stay here again.

Features we loved: hot tub, fully stocked kitchen (with new appliances), extras like garbage bags & tp in cupboards, location, comfy beds, plenty of room, laundry soap/sheets were supplied.

There were a few challenges with a toddler wanting to get into everything, but we made it work. There is pretty good food at the Cenex/bar across the road and the Coffee Cabin up the highway has great hot chocolate and great people. The TV/audio system was super easy for my husband but a challenge for me, but the whole house Bose was awesome. There was good pizza downtown and the grocery store even stocked organic milk and super fresh produce.

(a mom tip: bring/buy containers with lids as there was only one and if you are cooking, etc. you will want more. Also, there is a great mix of toys available for kids ages 1-10).

LeeAnn and Rich were available if we needed them. We didn't see any deer but did see bighorn sheep. We absolutely felt like we were at home and didn't want to leave.

Overall loved our trip and would come back again. Great job!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnjohn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This was a great place to stay beautiful scenery and wonderful owners and rooms. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do and getting to use the garage to put our motorcycles in was just a added bonus. It was a great value for the price,location and amenities.

Room Tip: The Aspen room had a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

What a beautiful place to stay! We were met with warm smiles and great attitudes. The hospitiality that we received was great! We had such a great time for our anniversary and we are thinking of making it an annual trip! Great place to go and get away from it all!! What a beautiful place and wonderful family!

Room Tip: The Aspen room is gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Such a perfect mix of convenient location and a slice of privacy, a homey feel with the escape of a vacation!

The owners are perfectly pleasant and attentive. They provide comfortable accommodations, framed by a peaceful river, horses and deer grazing.

I would definitely come back again!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elyssa_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at Double Diamond ranch for 3 nights in the Spring Cabin. It was spacious and gorgeous. The pics do not do it justice. No expense was spared as the cabin was well appointed. Super clean and tastefully furnished, this 3 bedroom cabin was perfect for our family of 5 (my husband, 2 kids and my mother in tow). There was plenty of room for all of us.

This cabin was across from the main ranch and had a view of the nearby gas station but we didn't mind at all. You still got to see the horses and enjoy watching the deer come out to play at dawn.

Our kids enjoyed playing the yard and there is a room full of toys for the kids to enjoy.

LeeAnn and Rich were very friendly and hospitable. We also booked on a private fishing tour on a boat with Rich. He was very insightful and I actually learned a thing or two about fishing and we caught four trout. It was very exciting for us and the lake was gorgeous. Rods were provided but you have to organize your own fishing permits which can be done at the exxon gas station in nearby Hill City.

We hope to return someday!

As noted by a previous guest, the cabins do not have wifi and there was no reception for mobiles but there is a house phone for use and when we did have a family emergency back home, we were invited into their main house to use the wifi. You are after all there
to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheba31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
20.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.8 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
951 reviews
12.1 mi away
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
13.3 mi away
Emerald Hills Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Diamond Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Diamond Ranch

Address: 23818 Highway 385, Rapid City, SD 57702-6558
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful horse ranch just 4 miles from Hill City and close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. New cabin that sleeps up to 14 will be ready in May, 2018! Other deluxe cabins that sleep 8-10 and awesome guest houses and suites. Hot tubs, fireplaces, satellite tv, air conditioning, kitchens. Watch the horses and visit the new moms and foals just waiting for a pet or two. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing