We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and get away from the real world!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double Diamond Ranch
Ranked #5 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 15, 2011

What a beautiful place to stay! We were met with warm smiles and great attitudes. The hospitiality that we received was great! We had such a great time for our anniversary and we are thinking of making it an annual trip! Great place to go and get away from it all!! What a beautiful place and wonderful family!

Room Tip: The Aspen room is gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

Such a perfect mix of convenient location and a slice of privacy, a homey feel with the escape of a vacation!

The owners are perfectly pleasant and attentive. They provide comfortable accommodations, framed by a peaceful river, horses and deer grazing.

I would definitely come back again!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elyssa_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at Double Diamond ranch for 3 nights in the Spring Cabin. It was spacious and gorgeous. The pics do not do it justice. No expense was spared as the cabin was well appointed. Super clean and tastefully furnished, this 3 bedroom cabin was perfect for our family of 5 (my husband, 2 kids and my mother in tow). There was plenty of room for all of us.

This cabin was across from the main ranch and had a view of the nearby gas station but we didn't mind at all. You still got to see the horses and enjoy watching the deer come out to play at dawn.

Our kids enjoyed playing the yard and there is a room full of toys for the kids to enjoy.

LeeAnn and Rich were very friendly and hospitable. We also booked on a private fishing tour on a boat with Rich. He was very insightful and I actually learned a thing or two about fishing and we caught four trout. It was very exciting for us and the lake was gorgeous. Rods were provided but you have to organize your own fishing permits which can be done at the exxon gas station in nearby Hill City.

We hope to return someday!

As noted by a previous guest, the cabins do not have wifi and there was no reception for mobiles but there is a house phone for use and when we did have a family emergency back home, we were invited into their main house to use the wifi. You are after all there
to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheba31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Recently stayed in the DD house and while the house itself is very nice the setting was very disappointing.
1. It is not part of a horse ranch but is in a neighborhood down the road from the ranch. You are mixed in with a bunch of other homes. The info says it is located across the meadow which is very misleading. It is also located at a very busy intersection with a convenience store and you hear traffic noise all the time. We pictured this being a cabin located on a horse ranch and it was far from being that. You could see the ranch if you went outside and looked around the other house around you.
2, There was heavy construction next door the entire time we were there and we could not enjoy anything outside because of noise and workers. We felt that we should have been made aware of this.
3. No cell phone coverage and no wifi made it hard to stay in touch with family.
4. The house itself is nice but it stops there. If you are looking for a remote cabin on a horse ranch all nice and quite this is not the place.
5. We were there for 6 nights and no one ever checked to see how it was going etc.....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 10, 2011

I am so sorry our guests were disappointed in their stay in the DD cabin. The cabin really is located across the meadow and at the end of a road. The horses are a short walk away. It was very unfortunate that there was another cabin being built that was somewhat close to them and construction was going on during the day. The cabin being built was scheduled to be done by the time they arrived but due to building problems it was still being finished.

This cabin is not remote for what they were thinking. When they arrived they told me they lived on a ranch 30 miles from the closest town. This cabin is 8 miles from Mt. Rushmore and in a tourist area. So yes, I can see that it was not what they were looking for. The gas station is about 1/2 mile from the cabin but you cannot see it from the DD Cabin.

If you have Verizon Wireless you will have excellent cell phone reception as there is a Verizon tower in Hill City which is just 4 miles away.

We do not normally call our guests in the cabins...they have our main number and our cell phone numbers. We were at the cabin everyday checking the hot tub chemicals and checking for garbage. I assumed they were out touring and enjoying the sights as we did not see them.

Once again, I am sorry they were not completely happy with their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was not our first experience staying @ the Double Diamond, and it most definitely won't be our last! We have stayed in the DD Cabin, Pine Room, & the Aspen Room. All are perfectly decorated, extremely clean, & very cozy. Special "treats" (i.e. donuts, muffins, cookies, fruit, drinks) always await when we return from sightseeing. The view of the mountains/creek is breathtaking, & there is always the pleasure of seeing the horses along with deer & bighorn sheep. The patio(s), firepit, & hot tub are relaxing areas to enjoy during our stay. The location is ideal, central to Black Hills tourist attractions. There are many eating establishments, wineries, & shops nearby as well. We have stayed with and without our kids, with friends, and with extended family, and have always had the best vacation experiences! Rich & LeeAnn are very gracious & kind, and always make their guests feel at "home". Thanks for the memories, can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I and our 3 boys, along with my parents and brother all stayed in the cadillac cowboy cabin for almost a week and could not have been happier with our stay.
RIch and LeeAnn were wonderful and welcoming, and the cabin was in excellent condition.
There was more than enough space for 5 adults and 3 kids. Perfect, and had everything we needed to cook with, so the extra utensils I brought I was pleasantly surprised to not need! Also was happy to find extra cleaning supplies to use during our stay because with 3 boys it can get messy.
We were centrally located to everything we were going to see and do, could not have picked a better location for our trip. It was peaceful and quiet and we love having the hot tub to enjoy at night so we could watch the stars.
A wonderful, spacious cabin with privacy that I would recommend to anyone, our next Black hills vacation will be spent back at the Double Diamond!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kacee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and what a fantastic experience it was! LeAnn was a wonderful hostess and was very patient with our daughter. The Aspen room was spacious, clean and full of amenities. It ws wonderful to wake up every morning and see the horses in the pasture. My daughter would wake up at 5:00am and wait for Tootsie Roll, BooBoo, Babe, Chip and Shika to make their way into our pasture. Thanks, LeAnn, for a great time at your inn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeandtraci777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
5.8 mi away
Summer Creek Inn
Summer Creek Inn
#1 of 25 in Rapid City
295 reviews
5.9 mi away
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
11.8 mi away
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Emerald Hills Bed and Breakfast
5.2 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
963 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#2 of 19 in Rapid City
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Diamond Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Diamond Ranch

Address: 23818 Highway 385, Rapid City, SD 57702-6558
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Double Diamond Ranch is a beautiful horse ranch close to Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. We are just four miles north of Hill City which is the center of the Black Hills. We have a new cabin that sleeps up to 14 and will be ready in May, 2018! Our other deluxe cabins sleep 8-10 and our awesome guest houses and suites sleep 6. We have hot tubs, fireplaces, satellite tv, air conditioning, kitchens, WIFI, all the amenities of home with stunning views to boot! Watch the horses run and play and visit the new moms and foals who are just waiting for a loving pet from you. Some of our accommodations have outdoor fire pits and are pet friendly too! Be sure to keep a look out for our local family of big horn sheep. Call or email for booking information. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing