We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to watch sports!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thirsty's

Thirsty's
Ranked #62 of 264 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun place to watch sports!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thirsty's is a fun place to hang out and watch your favorite sports' team with your friends and family. They take really good care of you with good choices of drinks, snacks, and terrific happy hour prices. High stools as well as low round tables encourage good conversation. No smoking, and friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthDakota_USAPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    8
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Twyla is the best, as well as the anyone else we have ever had. One of the first smoke free bars, of course they all are now.... Best homemade french fries in the Black Hills. Some thing on the menu for everyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank M, Owner at Thirsty's, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment Peggy! We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon!
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Gap, South Dakota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thirsty's is delish!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We LOVE Thirsty's!! The food is consistantly good and the service is great!! They have a great selection of beer and the prices are very reasonable. We can always find a place to park near by. The restrooms are always clean, a big plus in my book. You can score a table by the window and watch the world go by. PLUS they have a lunch club, if you buy 10 lunches you get the next one free, what's better than free!! If I don't have their oriental chicken wrap for a few days, I know it's time to make a road trip to Thirsty's!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathysanford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank M, Owner at Thirsty's, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Kathy: thanks for taking the time to write a review, We really appreciate your kind words!
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“O.K. for sports fans”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This restaurant is a good place for beer and sports. The food was mediocre at best and the service was nothing special. I will not be returning for any future visits.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misstg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank M, Owner at Thirsty's, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Misstg_12: I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations last Wednesday!
Without knowing which menu item you were dissatisfied with it is difficult to know for sure where we went wrong. Please contact me at fmlm5@yahoo.com or call me at 484-9780. We will find something on the menu that you will think is fabulous (guaranteed)!!!
And I will even buy!! As far as the service, at Thirsty's we pride ourselves on fast, friendly service. Again, I'm not sure what we didnt do or where we let you down, but I promise you will be Happy! My apologies for your less than satisfactory experience!
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere,USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Go for Old Man Beer night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

They do a thing on Wednesdays (I believe it is Weds) called "Old Man Beer Night", starts around 6 or 7 (I think). You can get cans of your old favorite beers (like Schlitz, Hamms, etc.) for $2..used to be cheaper.

Atmosphere is nothing special. But, service is good and prices are good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank M, Owner at Thirsty's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for writing a review. And thanks for acknowledging our food quality and great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thirsty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing