We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Campground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rapid City RV Park & Campground
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I would consider this campground average based on others I've seen in South Dakota. The campground is well maintained and is on a hill overlooking Rapid City, providing a great view. There were well maintained, clearly recently renovated, bathrooms and an adequate pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The campground is also in a very nice location for sight-seeing around the western portion of South Dakota.

The downsides were VERY small sites, little shade and proximity to the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NW402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Rapid City RV Park & Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

We are on a 3 month trip and this is one of our favorite RV Parks. The staff and owners were fantastic. The park is on a hillside providing a spectacular view. The owners and staff provided us with excellent directions to area attractions and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This place is horrible! On Our first night drunks were tripping all over our camp site because no outdoor lights worked. No men's restroom on our level, hot water didn't work, and spaces are tiny. Spend an extra five bucks and get a real place. Oh yeah and the wifi keeps dropping!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pissedcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We booked 4 nights, however, the weather became very hot and uncomfortable for us. We approach the management that we wished to leave after the second night and would like a refund for the remaining nights. Management said no due to a Corvette Ralley, Motercycle Ralley and a Christian gathering in Rapid City area and could not refund our money.
Tell me how many Corvettes or Motercycles were pulling a RV????? and what would that have anything to do with refunding our two nights anyway.
We are members of two large RV groups one in Utah and one in California as well as Good Sam Members for 25 years. So belive me when I say we will definately put the word out about the Management and marginal RV park.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank qcqa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We just started full timing, and this was our first stay, to get our residence in South Dakota. We had been communicating with the owners since Dec. 2010 about our plans, and they kept in touch with us. Once we arrived, they helped us find places we needed to go, made sure everything was ok, feels like we made good friends with them, and when we left after 6 weeks of staying, they asked us to promised to keep in touch with them about our travels. They were really working hard on the whole park to make it nice, since the weather had hindered the work, the lawns were kept mowed. We had a nice spacious site with a view of the city below. We stayed in a 40' 5th wheel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robtzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

They help us with maps and best places to take the kids. Each day they showed us great routes to go on to see the views of SD. Very helpful and finding places that fit out budget. They do now let you have firer rings. They got the permit from the city. So we got to have a firer for the kids. But if you didnt have a ring you could use the stove and microwave in there rec room. With a amazing view at night while you played or cooked or did your laundry. The pool was very clean and safe for the kids. It was also right in the middle of some of the great places to visit in SD. But close enough in town that if you needed to run to get something you could. We enjoyed our 4 nights there!!! Safe and clean and very helpful. And good price! Even during Stergis! Thats when we went. July 31 to 4th of August. Many thanks to the staff that helped us and friendly to us and to the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

The campsites were microscopic at best. Luckily no one was in the site next to us so we were able to expand into that one. The campsites also did not have fire rings which was a bummer since that's how we were planning on making dinner... we had to trudge up a huge hill to use the bathroom, and half of the roads were washed out thus we had to take a long, out of the way walking path at best to our campsite. The path we drove on was barely wide enough for my car to travel on, plus on winding steep hills so we were really hoping no one would come flying around the mountain!!

We had made reservations but when we arrived they didn't have any record of the reservations. The staff was beyond rude and didn't really know what they were doing when ringing us up. Then one of them noticed a sign in our car that said "Just Married!" and accused us of making that up to get free stuff. I literally had to thrust my diamond ring in their face as they continued talking about cheapskates who try to do that... and that we were too young to be married (we're 25 BTW) so they were sure we were lying.

Rude, Socially unacceptable, and a poor excuse for a campsite.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honeymooners711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwrc, Owner at Rapid City RV Park & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2010

I have been in this business a long time and have never treated people the way they say they were treated. We are known for our customer friendly atmosphere. To be honest if we would have seen that they were on their honeymoon we would have done something special for them. We go out of way to make the guests experience with us enjoyable. We spend a lot of time being tour guides so that our guests enjoy daily adventures while they are in the area.
We do sit on a hillside, I do tell our guests that they will get their exercise here it is not a flat park, this is why we can have the best view around.
As far as the roads they are meant for one way down and there is another way to come up. As far as washed out roads, we address those areas as necessary after the rain storms occur during the summer.
We have many sizes of tent sites, to accommodate the different guests needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
5.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#33 of 48 in Rapid City
351 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rapid City RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapid City RV Park & Campground

Address: 4110 S Highway 16, 4110 Mount Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701-9230 (Formerly Lazy J RV Park & Campground)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range: $74 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rapid City RV Park & Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the south side of Rapid City, centrally located to all the local attractions and close to downtown for shopping, on a terraced hillside with panoramic views, in the foothills of the Black Hills. Close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Family owned & operated. Your full service destination park, with over 100 sites, 64 full hook-ups with pull-throughs, some shaded, Cabins, rooms, bath houses, tenting, large heated pool, WiFi, 2 laundromats and a Fitness Center, and pet friendly with 3 dog walk areas. Our friendly, courteous staff is ready to greet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Rapid City RV Park & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing