We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our family of 6!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whispering Winds Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our family of 6!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just got back from a 4 night stay at Whispering Winds. We stayed in the Sportsman's Cottage. It was the perfect size for our family. This is our second time staying, and it is perfect! My husband and I have three little girls (4, 2, and 7 months) and my mom also joined us. There is one private room with 2 beds and a tv with a dvd player. There is also a futon in the living room with another kind sized bed. The kitchen has a sink, toaster, coffee pot, microwave, paper plates, utensils for eating and grilling, and a refrigerator with a freezer. It's everything you need! The bathroom was great as well, and there was plenty of room for what we needed. We could also get fresh towels whenever we needed them.

There is a big grill on the deck that is yours to use throughout the stay which was also fantastic! There is great patio furniture on the deck where you can relax and enjoy the view. It's great to be able to park right outside of the cottage, and have your coolers, etc right out on the deck. The grounds are in a little bit of a valley, so there isn't any risk of the kids running onto the road. They also installed a playset as well, which was perfect for our kiddos. Swings, a slide, and a rock climbing wall, as well as tons of open space to run around. It isn't super crowded, which is great! We also got a great nights sleep as the grounds were very quiet at night.

Jim and Marla were fantastic hosts! Super friendly and answered all of our questions about the area. They started a camp fire every night and the girls LOVED making s'mores.

If you are thinking of staying some place in the black hills, without a doubt, THIS is the place to stay. We are already planning for next year! :)

Shauna & Zeb Graham

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived , two 42 ft big rigs. Our spots were side by side and the hook ups all were in total service to our rigs.
The grounds are immaculate. We felt like we could have eaten off the ground.Jim and Marla ,the owners, were some of the best hosts we have ever had the pleasure of meeting in our travels. The grills were cleaned each day and they looked new all the time. Plus the park provided grilling utensils that looked like they just came out of the wrapper. They provided fire wood and a campfire each nite. At the campfire we met 2 couples and talked at the fire until 11 p.m. We r on a 45 day trip. We wish everyday could be as good as the time we spent @ Whispering Wind.
Leslie and Robin and Jim and Aileen

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank robinjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is one of the best places we have ever stayed at. It is VERY clean, quiet, and comfortable. Much better than a chain motel. You have your own "space", not just a room. The deck in front of the cabin is a nice, private spot to sit and enjoy a morning cup of coffee and plan your day. Or relax after a long day and enjoy the beautiful setting. We really appreciated the covered stable for the cycle. Jim and Marla are great hosts and so fun to visit with. They are super friendly without being overbearing. Thanks, Jim and Marla! You are the best at what you do!! Thanks for the great stay!! We hope to be back sometime...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two days in late June 2013. It was the perfect home base for our time in the Black Hills. The owners were very knowledgeable about the area and super friendly. Because of them, we found out about a night blast at Crazy Horse and free admission with a donation to the local food pantry! The room was small, but impeccably clean and cozy. And you couldn't beat the view!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We all enjoyed our stay, i'm recommending to anyone who's planning a trip to this area, clean ,friendly and fun!!! Its close to all attractions and our accommodations were immaculate, thanks guys we will have these memories forever!!:-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandplandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our extended family was able to rent the whole place for a family reunion, and it was a great experience. Jim and Marla were extremely helpful and accommodating. We stayed in the Nautical cottage, which was beautifully decorated and really clean and fresh. Poked our heads into most of the other units over the course of the weekend, and they were all so nice and clean too. Really nice that so many different yard games, toys, etc were provided-and we made great use of them! Jim and Marla work hard to keep everything well maintained, and everything looked so nice. We were close enough to many of the main attractions to have great day trips-it was a great "home base" for the area. Nice "Iron Horse Stable" to house the motorcycles that had come along. Some family had motorhomes, tents, and a trailer, and used the camp area. Not shaded, but with power at least they could run A/C and fans. Can't recommend this place enough-it is fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hagenloveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and his friends stayed here a couple of years ago and had nothing but great things to say about the place, so I was excited to visit. They were right!! Whispering Winds Cottages is THE place to stay in the Black Hills. It's beautiful, quiet, clean, but most of all the owners Jim & Marla are AMAZING!! You won't find a place like this anywhere else in South Dakota! Thanks again Jim and Marla for being such wonderful hosts!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.8 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
5.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.9 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
183 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Winds Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Winds Cottages

Property: Whispering Winds Cottages
Address: 12720 S Highway 16, Rapid City, SD 57702-7416
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whispering Winds Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated lodging facility located 5 miles NE of Hill City, SD. One mile south of Three Forks on Highway 16. Perfect home base for all Black Hills attractions. Great for small groups and families vacationing together. Variety of options with one, two, and three bed units (mainly Queen Beds) Inviting decor. Microwaves and bar refrigerators. Central BBQ area with gas grill and bonfire pit. National Forest on 2 sides. Great Views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Whispering Winds Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing