We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic gem in a fantastic part of the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We had only a two night stay here initially and used it really as a stop over between events and needed a solid base which was clean and convenient. The Alex Johnson was much more than this and had we realised this would have probably booked longer. The staff were very friendly and at all times extremely helpful above and beyond the call of duty. Rapid City is definitely a place I would recommend to anybody with it's clean streets, and a wonderful heritage of it's native American past. The Alex Johnson could not serve Rapid any better, a conveniently located breakfast bar opposite and great bars for food and excellent beers/wines. Rapid has a great event on Thursday evenings (music/food stalls/art etc) the Alex Johnson is perfectly located for this (without interferring with a good nights sleep)! On our return leg from Yellowstone before our flight to Chicago we had not planned a return visit to Rapid City but were so impressed with the Alex Johnson that we decided to stay one more night there to refresh and immerse our self further in what had become one of our favourite places on holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,601 - 1,607 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

We were able to stay at the beautiful historic hotel for 3 nights. This was our second stay at this hotel. The service was excellent and the staff was extremely friendly, accomodating and professional. The hotel was happy to store our box of material for a week. The location can't be beaten for convenience because it is right smack in the middle of the city and down the street from free parking, fine restaurants and diverse shops. The two different rooms we stayed in were spacious and comfortable. The free internet service was efficient and fast as was the flat screen TV. We would definitely stay again and the cost was well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank science1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Alex Johnson. The hotel maintains much of its charm since it was built in 1928 but has been renovated to provide the modern traveler with the amenities we expect. Our room had wooden ceiling beams and the hallways have unique marble inlays on the floor. The lobby is also charming, with the original flooring and its Native American symbols intact.

As is common in older hotels, our room was smaller than many of the newer hotels provide, but there were only the two of us so that added to the romance.

The front staff was very courteous and helpful. The location in downtown Rapid City was great. I know several reviewers here have complained about parking because it is located at a parking garage that is a block or so away (I don't think Rapid City "blocks" are as long as a conventional "city block"). But we didn't find this to be a problem, especially because the parking is free, which is not the case at many downtown hotels.

Noise was a minor irritation. At night, we heard low but noticeable noises that I think came from the bar/slot machines on the 1st floor. When the air conditioning came on the white noise masked those noises, but when the air conditioning cycled off we could hear the noise again. We wound up masking it with some white noise from our smartphone. There was also the noise of the 5:30 a.m. trash pickup on the street, but I don't expect that to be under the hotel's control.

The elevators are small and there are only two of them so they aren't always there instantaneously. We learned that if you pushed the button a second time it seemed to trigger a faster response --but then again maybe it was just coincidence.

We'll be coming back to the Alex Johnson again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidanSineadsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary at a nice hotel in Rapid City where we could relax, walk to a nearby restaurant for dinner, and have a special evening. The Alex Johnson advertised a "Romance Getaway" which included champagne, chocolates, cocktails at the bar and breakfast at the hotel. We were disappointed in our experience receiving only a small bottle of champagne, (after two phone calls after registering and mentioning the package) no cocktails, chocolates or breakfast. We had to park several blocks away and received a ticket when the police did not notice our hotel tag hanging from the mirror. The AJ did comp us for the ticket but not for the missed getaway package. We were able to shop and walk to a wonderful restaurant for dinner but the AJ was a big disappointment. The elevators were slow to nonexistent. We finally walked down four floors so we could make our dinner reservation. The room was not finished and the service was nothing to rave about. Don't go here for a special occasion - you will be disappointed. Upon checking out, we explained about our celebration and our disappointment with the hotel which fell on deaf ears.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredtraveler2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Enjoyed hotel very much. Rooms very clean. Great downtown location with shops and several eating places all within walking distance. Had a little trouble with leaking in bathroom but got upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free parking in ramp close by. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcal1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We are retired professionals (58&62) and I have asthma. The Alex Johnson's parking is a block and a half away from the hotel in a parking garage. To top it off thier parking area is on the top unprotected(3rd floor) with no elevator. So don't forget anything in the car.
There is no restaurant in the hotel so you either walk to a restaurant or to your car to drive to one. We stayed in a king room and it was small, probably around a 16x16. The staff is great, the hotel is clean and remodeled and the bed is comfy. We will not stay there again due to the parking and poor hotel ameneties. We also recommend the bus tour of Mount Rushmore driver was great well worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topwatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This historic hotel has been recently renovated and the lobby is very well done. The old photos were quite interesting. Our room (807) had all the modern amenities, but the bath, although quite serviceable, is showing its age. The front desk staff tried very hard to accommodate our needs (and were successful) and the head housekeeper (Lori?) was exceptionally nice and helpful throughout our stay. Be sure to put up the green parking permit, or you will get a $25 ticket from the City, which the hotel cannot resolve. We enjoyed staying here for 6 nights, and would do so again. There is much to see and do in this area, and the hotel is well-located, very nice and well-priced. Great restaurants also within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.3 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
1,057 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $62 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing