We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
206 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Loved the Sky Bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The minute you walk in the lobby you understand that you are in South Dakota. The colors are all Native American and beautiful. They have a grand piano in the lobby and while we were there someone who knew how just sat down and started playing. He was very good. The hotel is right in the heart of the city, so walking distance to a lot of bars and restaurants. They have statues of all the American Presidents on the street corners which makes walking down the street a hoot. But my favorite thing of all is the sky bar and restaurant. We were there for our wedding anniversary and the sky bar was the perfect way to celebrate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrahawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Alex Johnson during your recent stay in the Black Hills. I appreciate you taking the time to write this review about your stay and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and your experience up at our Vertex Sky Bar. I hope we get the pleasure of your company again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    427
    215
    120
    73
See reviews for
328
539
93
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The lobby if beautiful. Our room was average (812). I'm not phased by ghosts... and we had no 'sightings' or anything 'ghost like' happen... but would have been neat. We will stay again. Only suggestion is to train staff to be more professional. Snapping gum while checking a customer in is not acceptable to most people.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Alex Johnson and for writing this review. I appreciate your comments and I have shared them with my Department Heads so we can improve on the quality of service to our guests. Thank you and I look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is located in downtown Rapid City close to Main Street Square. It is a great place to stay and enjoy all that downtown Rapid has to over. Service was excellent. this is no parking at this location but there is a parking garage located one block away .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hotel Alex Johnson. With the Hotels central location in the heart of the newly renovated downtown are. It is the ideal place to stay and experience the best of Rapid City and the Black Hills. Thank you and I hope you can stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is a real gem! The painted ceilings, woodwork, and artisan level craftsmanship are outstanding. It adjoins the largest Seattle's Best coffee shop in the world. The lobby is warm and welcoming, and the ambience exceptional. I was there for a week, and yes, had a bit of a haunted hotel experience (didn't know it was well known for this!). There was also quite a bit of snow and the city handled it well. Love the Art Alley, statues of presidents, Sonja Holy Eagle's drum shop and local restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay a few floors below the rooftop restaurant and club, ask them to put you somewhere besides where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmpressofHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for making the Hotel Alex Johnson your home away from home on your recent trip to the Black Hills. I appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us and I do hope you can make a return trip to see your haunting friends. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. The front desk was helpful, especially Kate who was very courteous and knowledgeable. They give you some coupons to use at the hotel and around the area. The Vertex is a restaurant and a bar you can utilize while you are there. It has amazing views of the city. There is no parking on site-I believe it is a block away from the hotel. There are a lot of places in walking distance since you are in the heart of downtown. The rooms are very nice and spacious. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: If you would like extra quiet, I would try to get a room on the 3rd Floor. There are only two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xlilacdiva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review and for the nice shout out for Kate. She does give great service to our guest as do the rest of the team. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and I hope you can make a return trip in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Using this hotel as our base to explore South Dakota, lovely hotel, used in the film North by Northwest. Long list of dignitaries have stayed here including 6 US Presidents; Alfred Hitchcock; Jack Dempsey. Interesting lobby, Indian headdresses, bison heads etc. welcoming staff. Room large, 2 Queen beds. All round decent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0bD0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Alex Johnson as your home base during your visit to the Black Hills. I appreciate you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Alex Johnson while on business. The hotel which boasts having had 5 different presidents stay there over the years is generally well kept up and has a lot of character. The staff were all very friendly both in the hotel and adjoining pub. The rooms are smaller than most places and the narrow bathtub shower combinations would be difficult to maneuver for some people. Being right in the middle of beautiful downtown Rapid City makes the location ideal for tourists and business people alike as it is close to many gift shops, dining places, and local drinking establishments. I great place to stay in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate your kind remarks and I hope you can make a return trip in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#11 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing