We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghosts or no Ghosts It was very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
St Paul, MN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ghosts or no Ghosts It was very Nice”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We Stayed at the Alex Johnson for a few days around the 20 - 21 of September. We used it as a base to get to the black Hills to see the Rushmore, Crazy Horse, monuments, Hill City and take in the beautiful scenery within a few miles of Rapid City. We stayed on the 8th floor room 804 next to a supposedly haunted room (803). The room was a corner unit and was quite large with windows on two walls. The room was very clean. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The view from the eighth floor was quit nice.The bathroom was nice sized and had a Jacuzzi tub. The TV was a big screen with cable. I really can't say anything bad about our room. It was big and bright and very nice. The lobby of this supposedly haunted hotel is ornate and beautiful. The food was great at the connecting bar next door. We did a little drinking upstairs on the roof. Great service all around from the front desk, room service and the bar-restaurant up and down. We really loved the South Dakota - Black hills area and the Alex Johnson was a great place to to stay. Classy nice place. As for being haunted... I saw nothing unusual, but my wife had what she thought was an unusually scary dream. A woman with a scarf or white veil on her head with huge dark sad eyes was motioning with both hands close to her face for my wife to come to her. She was very close and my wife jerked awake. I'm the one who wanted to see the lady from room 813 who jumped out the window or was thrown and haunts the hotel. I had my Sony handy cam all ready. Oh well, maybe next time. I do reccomend the Alex Johnson. Only thing I can say against it was parking was a short block away in a ramp. The 5:00 AM trains that go through Rapid City will wake you if you are a light sleeper like me with their eerie horn blasts that last for a good ten minutes or more. Over all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: corner suites like we had are large and comfortable. Stay on the eigth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redneck66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for the hauntedly good review of your recent stay at the Hotel Alex Johnson. The Alex Johnson is a great base to head quarter out of while you tour the Black Hills and the Surrounding area. I hope you return in the near future and that "the Lady in White" decides to grace you with her presence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    468
    231
    129
    78
See reviews for
363
595
103
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We missed the snow storm by days, so thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, town and Black Hills at their best. Hotel is historic and well maintained, we read on tripadvisor to request corner room, and got one, overlooked downtown, good sized room, well appointed, we were on 9th floor, great view. Only drawback was parking 2 blks away, on garage's top (3rd) level and no elevator, so be sure to load and unload luggage at hotel entrance, would have hated to make that walk in that snow, or rain, hope they're working on alternative source. We had good beers and dinner at Firehouse Brewing, within walking distance, and town square had concert each night we were there. Late night drink in hotel bar, Vertex, was expensive but great view from roof top. In area, don't miss Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, the buffalo in Custer State Park, wine tasting at Prairie Berry Winery in Hill City, and drive thru Spearfish Canyon and Roughlock Falls.

Room Tip: request a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reid6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I wish I could give the Alex Johnson 10 stars! We were lucky enough to get a room before the blizzard that hit Rapid City October 4th. Second biggest blizzard in Rapid City, the town shut down, but the staff at the Alex Johnson was outstanding! They kept us fed, even a complimentary taco bar on night two with no restaurants open. Staff that had been working non-stop for days were always friendly and helpful. This was a great place to be warm and safe while the storm blew thru.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeModrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

It took a full hour after I checked in at 5 PM to get my hotel room as they were still cleaning rooms. The rooms are tiny, literally the size of two walk in closets including the bathroom. I literally had to sit on the toilet sideways, and I am not a big person.
The biggest scam is they charge a $10 historic maintenance fee they call it. They also have the nerve to charge a marketing fee, that's right they charge you so they can market their hotel. Almost $20 in completely made up fees.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank dphsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I want to apologize that your room wasn't ready at the time you wanted to check in. With the recent blizzard we were short handed with staff stranded and not able to get into work and I am sincerely sorry for the delay. The Destination Fee is a fee charged be the Downtown Business District and not by the hotel. The Historic Maintenance Fee is a voluntary fee we charge to help offset the cost of maintaining the hotel and we do offer many rewards benefits to offset this cost. This should have been explained fully at the time of check in and I apologize if this was missed. I hope we get a chance to improve your impression of us on your next visit to Rapid City and the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Historic hotel with historic lobby. Beware seniors! Unless you want to pay for valet parking, parking is on the third floor of a parking garage with no elevator and two blocks away. Particularly inconvenient if there is inclement weather. Rooms are a little small compared to modern hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Parking is in a deck nearby and valet parking is available. We lucked out as we had to leave early the next morning so we snared a parking spot right across the street. There was a free concert in the nearby park which was great. The staff were friendly to us. The lobby was cozy and a a Seattle's Best coffee house is right off the lobby. I had asked for a low floor but a wedding party was there so it was the 9th floor right across from the presidential suite. Room was small and it is an historic property so one should not expect a mini-suite. All was good though. We were given access to the bar on the 10th floor with views all over the city and that bar was great. You can sit inside or outside (fire pits outside). Wife had a killer mai tai, beer for me and a free appetizer. Romantic ... after a "disappointing" dinner elsewhere we retreated here for coffee and dessert and it did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Just be sure to see if you can gain access to the 10th floor bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed one night on a local recommendation. First impressions were of a slightly-tired 'institution' - not improved by strained relations between desk clerk and bell-hop. No-one mentioned that parking was down the street: it was free (great - though so it is to anyone after 4 pm) and easy to find once you knew but I had to ask after I found a parking ticket in my room folder.

Had booked a suite, which looked fine - though when the sound of noisy fans continued after both ancient air-con units turned off, discovered a bank of larger units right beneath window.....

Decided to go for a drink at Vertex, the well-advertised roof-top bar. We sat at an unreserved table and were ignored by all the several staff until the guy apparently in charge told us that all the tables were reserved (apparently there was a private party), and that there was 'plenty of room upstairs'. So up we went - and there wasn't: a wine-tasting was in progress - so we gave up (and went to the Firehouse, just around the corner)

Hopeless! Come on, Alex Johnson - this is no way to look after your hotel guests. If you want to lease the place to outside interests, at least make it clear to everyone else - and don't treat your paying guests as an inconvenience!

First impressions count - and these were all pretty negative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing