We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room the size of shoe box”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room the size of shoe box”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

It took a full hour after I checked in at 5 PM to get my hotel room as they were still cleaning rooms. The rooms are tiny, literally the size of two walk in closets including the bathroom. I literally had to sit on the toilet sideways, and I am not a big person.
The biggest scam is they charge a $10 historic maintenance fee they call it. They also have the nerve to charge a marketing fee, that's right they charge you so they can market their hotel. Almost $20 in completely made up fees.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank dphsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I want to apologize that your room wasn't ready at the time you wanted to check in. With the recent blizzard we were short handed with staff stranded and not able to get into work and I am sincerely sorry for the delay. The Destination Fee is a fee charged be the Downtown Business District and not by the hotel. The Historic Maintenance Fee is a voluntary fee we charge to help offset the cost of maintaining the hotel and we do offer many rewards benefits to offset this cost. This should have been explained fully at the time of check in and I apologize if this was missed. I hope we get a chance to improve your impression of us on your next visit to Rapid City and the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    438
    217
    121
    74
See reviews for
333
554
94
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Historic hotel with historic lobby. Beware seniors! Unless you want to pay for valet parking, parking is on the third floor of a parking garage with no elevator and two blocks away. Particularly inconvenient if there is inclement weather. Rooms are a little small compared to modern hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Parking is in a deck nearby and valet parking is available. We lucked out as we had to leave early the next morning so we snared a parking spot right across the street. There was a free concert in the nearby park which was great. The staff were friendly to us. The lobby was cozy and a a Seattle's Best coffee house is right off the lobby. I had asked for a low floor but a wedding party was there so it was the 9th floor right across from the presidential suite. Room was small and it is an historic property so one should not expect a mini-suite. All was good though. We were given access to the bar on the 10th floor with views all over the city and that bar was great. You can sit inside or outside (fire pits outside). Wife had a killer mai tai, beer for me and a free appetizer. Romantic ... after a "disappointing" dinner elsewhere we retreated here for coffee and dessert and it did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Just be sure to see if you can gain access to the 10th floor bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed one night on a local recommendation. First impressions were of a slightly-tired 'institution' - not improved by strained relations between desk clerk and bell-hop. No-one mentioned that parking was down the street: it was free (great - though so it is to anyone after 4 pm) and easy to find once you knew but I had to ask after I found a parking ticket in my room folder.

Had booked a suite, which looked fine - though when the sound of noisy fans continued after both ancient air-con units turned off, discovered a bank of larger units right beneath window.....

Decided to go for a drink at Vertex, the well-advertised roof-top bar. We sat at an unreserved table and were ignored by all the several staff until the guy apparently in charge told us that all the tables were reserved (apparently there was a private party), and that there was 'plenty of room upstairs'. So up we went - and there wasn't: a wine-tasting was in progress - so we gave up (and went to the Firehouse, just around the corner)

Hopeless! Come on, Alex Johnson - this is no way to look after your hotel guests. If you want to lease the place to outside interests, at least make it clear to everyone else - and don't treat your paying guests as an inconvenience!

First impressions count - and these were all pretty negative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hubby and I spent two day at the HOtel Alex JOhnson due to our plans were interupted by the flooding in Colorado. Arrivial was easy and we did valet our auto, a $15.00 charge per day, Asked for early arrival and checked in at 2:00. Given a room on the 7th floor facing the street, Checking the room out was a rather ugly stain on the comfortor, asked the cleaning lady down the hall could she change it., Leaving the room i came back and it was changed to a clean one, Also the room seemed very warm, I phoned front desk and they sent up maintance, he said it ws not working also, Was going to have up moved to another room, He came back and said they were full, so he was going to change out the unit., He came back with another unit and changed it out, It never really got cool in there. This is an older hotel, the bathroom is really small, They do have a good coffee shop attached. Had a massage at the Spa also attached to the hotel, Was not the best i have ever had, it was 44 degrees the morning i went , i was in a cool room and the sheets were cold also. Would not pay to have one done again, Walked downtown at different stores, the Prairie Store is neat and we enjoyed it. Ate dinner at Delmonio's, ok steak but not the best i have had for the price. I would not stay here again

Room Tip: Could not give one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

...which means that the rooms are not McRooms. Mine was clean, everything worked as it should, and the bedding was better than the usual hotel fare. They had installed an add-on A/C unit in the room which detracted a little from the overall look but it was needed as the day was unusually warm.

The bathroom is laid out in an older style, from a time when Americans were smaller than they are now, but, once again, it was clean and everything worked.

The hotel is located in the older center of Rapid City, which meant that just about anything was in walking distance. You do get some noise from the trains, but running the fan took care of that.

So, if you want a McRoom, this is not for you. If you want a nice location, access to a downtown that is still very much alive, great staff (one of the door staff helped me find the flashers in a car that was cluttered after a long drive), this is the place. I'll stay there the next time I am in Rapid City on a pleasure trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemmenkainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
410 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, but there are definitely ups and downs. First the rooms are a bit worn and housekeeping was shabby. We booked a suite which was originally two small rooms that shared a tiny bathroom - typical of this era (like South Beach). Glad we had the extra space which overlooked the graffiti art alley. Must say our bed was comfortable. The valet was efficient and worth the price as parking is a block or two away.

We liked the historic lobby and having the convenience of a Seattle's Best, a pub, and excellent gift shop attached, plus Tally's Silver Spoon (diner) across the street. The location is perfect for enjoying boutiques, restaurants, and galleries in the area. You can walk to everything. Loved Vertex Sky Bar on the top of the hotel with great views, service and drinks!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing