We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice change of pace.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot for business so I'm always staying in hotels. This was a nice change from your everyday average hotels. This building is older but has a lot of history that makes it unique. When you stay at this hotel they give you a key card that grants you access to the vertex sky bar on the top floor of the hotel. The bar is nice the food is ok but overall very expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I appreciate you taking the time to post about your stay. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson, with our Old World Charm and Modern amenities is the perfect place to head quarter out of when you are on the road for business or pleasure in the Black Hills.
Thank you for choosing the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    404
    204
    115
    70
See reviews for
305
511
87
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sturgis, South Dakota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We attended a Christmas party in the Lincoln room and the food was fabulous. The bed in the room was also nice, I slept very well. What a great location for a banquet, you are close to many pubs and restaurants both in the AJ and within a few blocks.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ussaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Historic Alex Johnson is a great place to host your next event. With our ideal location in the heart of the newly renovated downtown Rapid City. We are close to a plethora of dining and shopping choices. I am glad that you had a enjoyable time and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wonderful experience over the holiday with nice accomodations at a very reasonable price. The Thanksgiving dinner served in the skylounge was delicious. Stephanie at the front desk was very helpful prior to our arrival. She gave us tips on sites to see and routes to take that were very scenic, and would have been missed without her recommendations. A great family trip and the best place to stay in Rapid City!

Room Tip: Ask for the family suite. Two rooms with a common bath. A great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate you taking the time to post your experience. The Historic Hotel Alex Johnson is a great place to headquarter out of when you come to Rapid City and the Black Hills.
Thank you for choosing the Historic Hotel Alex Johnson and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I spent the previous night at the #3 rated motel and moved to the Alex Johnson because I couldn't sleep there. I am glad I did because the staff and management at the Alex Johnson were wonderful. I have stayed there many times but this time was even better. Everyone was helpful and professional.

From the bartenders to the bellboys to the front desk and the restaurant, everyone was welcoming and genuine. It felt like home. While the Vertex bar and restaurant on the top floor is expensive, the drinks were outstanding and the view while sitting around the fire pit is superb.

I would recommend this location over any of the box motels by the the interstate any day.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the west or south side. The trains are noisy on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graywolf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at the Alex Johnson. We try our best to leave a positive impression to all of our guests that walk through the Alex Johnson's doors and I am glad the staff didn't disappoint. The Alex Johnson is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and with it's Old World Charm and it's modern amenities it is the perfect place to call home while you are in the area.
Thank you for choosing the Alex Johnson and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on several business trips and am always pleasantly surprised. Each time ive stayed my room is a little bit different. One room had a jungle theme with animal print furniture and decor and another room was so tiny that the door wouldn't open all the way because the bed was in the way. This hotel is very unique and old and it gets a little creepy at night but it's all part of the fun. The staff informed me that there is one room in the hotel that is known to be 'haunted' (if you like that sort of thing) that you can book in advance. Even riding the elevator will bring you back in time. The location is great, right downtown. There are plenty of bars and restaurants around to walk to.I have been here during the bike events and you can hear everyone partying all night long even from the top floor which is a little frustrating when you have to work early in the morning. Overall I would say this place is a great experience and I would recommend it especially for couples and a trip with friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chevaf8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and thank you for your patronage. We appreciate you choosing the Historic Alex Johnson for your home away from home when traveling to the area. The Alex Johnson is the only historic hotel in Rapid City and she holds many little secrets. With it's ideal location in the heart of the newly renovated downtown area the Alex Johnson is close to great shopping and dining options.
Thank you for choosing the Alex Johnson and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed in several Rapid City hotels and decided to take the advice of the many comments on TripAdvisor--One of the smarter things I have done in my travels of the past several months. The room was delightful, the staff friendly, courteous and helpful. I will likely make the Alex Johnson hotel my hotel of choice in Rapid from now until I find a permanent home there. Great value for the price. The view from the eighth floor is awesome.

Room Tip: The view from the front rooms on the upper floors is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We would love to be your home away from home. The Alex Johnson is conviently located in the heart of newly renovated downtown area. Close to great shopping and dining experiences. The Alex is the only historic hotel in Rapid City and it offers the beauty and old world charm of yesteryear along with the mondern amenities that the traveling public expect today.
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Alex Johnson and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was the prettiest hotel of all the hotels I have ever stayed. The staff was great. The view was fantastic. The beds were so comfortable that I didn't want to get up in the morning. My family and I stayed on the 8th floor which the paranormal floor. We were in room 810. We were hoping for some paranormal activity and we were not disappointed. My husband woke up both nights to someone or something standing in our room. I woke up to someone saying mom and moving stuff on the night stand. I thought it was my kids but when I looked both were sound asleep. If you are looking for a nice hotel with some chills this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earth1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. The Alex Johnson in Rapid City is a great property to headquarters out of while you explore the Black Hills. It is the only Historic Hotel in Rapid City and is conveniently located in the heart of downtown close to amazing shopping and dining experiences along with the new Main Street Square. Our resident ghost are as friendly as our staff and they aim to please the vistor's searching for the paranormal.
I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and I hope you can make a return trip to the Alex Johnson and the Black Hills in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#6 of 53 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing