We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alex Johnson Very Welcoming to Tired Visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Alex Johnson Very Welcoming to Tired Visitors”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I would like to compliment the Hotel Alex Johnson and especially the General Manager, Deborah Rumpel. We arrived at the hotel tired from our travels in May 2012. The hotel was beautiful and the service wonderful. General Manager, Deborah Rumpel welcomed us and made us feel very comfortable. We were hungry so she escorted us to the restaurant and saw that we were immediately seated and waited on.

We highly recommend the Hotel Alex Johnson to anyone staying in Rapid City, SD.

Room Tip: We did not spend the night, because we were already booked in another hotel. The next time we visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ellen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    468
    231
    129
    78
See reviews for
363
596
103
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union Center, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Guess I'll have to stay a few more nites next time. Stayed in the haunted room 812 by request, but no paranormal activity. Rooms are priced reasonably/comparably for the location and time of year and better than the chains in town and off the interstate. Free parking garage a block away. The history and accomodations are worth it. How they can get hot water to the sink and shower in an instant on the 8th floor is beyond me, but much appreciated. Staff is very young, but experienced and good. The Vertex Sky Bar on the 10th floor open rooftop terrace makes for an excellent date night.

Room Tip: I think they're all great, but pick one of the two haunted ones on the 8th floor. Shorter trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearclaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My sister and I just came back from a great 3 day trip to South Dakota. We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Alex Johnson. What made this hotel was the staff, they were very helpful - well, except for housekeeping. Anyway the bartender was fun and shared with us a couple drinks he invented, both the Vertex on the roof and the pub we a blast. The hotel is located in old downtown which has cute little shops.

Room Tip: Once was good, but I don't think I'll be back to this particular hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatinColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose this hotel to be close to the sights of South Dakota - Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse memorial, Devil's Tower etc. The hotel was built in the 1920's and is therefore 'oldfashioned', when you arrive. But the hotel has all modern amenities. We has a large room with king size bed. Large bath room. On the 10th floor was a roof top terrasse with a bar. Also, it was possible to have a meal there - overlooking the entire city. Across the street we found a very nice and affordable restaurant, where we had our breakfast. At almost every corner in the city you can find a life size bronze replica of all the former American presidents. In walking distance to the hotell you will find a lot of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

While on a 3 week road trip, we needed a place to stay near Mt. Rushmore, which happened to be the Saturday night before the Sturgis Rally started. My wife saw the reviews of the hotel at Tripadvisor, we called, and luckily there was a room available.
The hotel was nicely situated in downtown Rapid City near shops and restaurants, the room was clean and comfortable, although the size was a little small by modern hotel standards.
We apprciated the charm and style of this hotel from another era, but with the conveniences of today (wi-fi, flat screen TV, etc.), at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjc909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The rooms were a little small but very clean. The restaurant on the top floor was great and so was the location of the hotel. A perk - Seattle's Best Coffee was right off the main lobby which the hotel gives you a voucher for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mini fridge and microwave if this is something you will need as not all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booblies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our stay at Alex Johnson was overall a good experience. The plusses - nicely restored hotel, lovely lobby, great city location. The rooms are a bit small but nicely presented. We had a mini fridge, microwave and coffeemaker in our room. The weather was nice during our visit and it would have been nice to be able to open the windows (they are sealed shut). The bathroom was less appealing than the rest of the room - it was very small, there was inadequate water pressure in the sink, the shower never ran warmer than tepid. That being said, it was very clean, there were lovely fluffy robes and nice toiletries provided. The Vertex bar was quite nice with good service, a nice wine selection and a nicely designed interior. The Irish bar is less than average in food choices and overall experience. The hotel personnel were very nice and helpful. Lots of fun shops and restaurants in the immediate walking vicinity. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBWYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing