We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic hotel.”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a great stay. Rooms were very clean. We had a king room that was generously sized for very very great price. Would stay again when visiting Rapid City. Only down side is the parking a block away but is a beautiful walk by the ice skating park and of course you are in historic downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iccnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    438
    217
    121
    74
See reviews for
333
554
94
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The hotel is in a good location and the lobby was lovely.

The room was weird, it had a living room but the layout was odd because it was essentially two interconnecting bedrooms. The sofas were far from comfortable for the short time. Cleanliness was questionable - we found a cigarette end on the inside window ledge.

The bar dress code policy was hilarious. Whilst we were warned of the no trainers (sneakers) policy and half expecting to be asked to change we couldn't quite believe the absurd enforcement of the policy. After an evening out we returned to the bar (which looks good but is short on atmosphere) where the only other people in there were two ladies sat in sport sandals, combat trousers and polo shirts looking very much though they'd returned from a hike. My husband was dressed in smart jeans, shirt, jacket and Converse - not at all like he'd been to the gym. He was of course flouting the dress code and in spite of his outwardly smart appearance was asked to change his footwear, fair enough (except for the apparently acceptable nature of full outdoor gear). Later some other chaps came in wearing trainers and generally casual attire and the same guy who'd asked my husband to change passed no comment at all. It's a daft policy, which I assume is intended to maintain an air of sophistication in the bar, that has nothing to do with the look they're trying to create. My suggestion to the hotel is to find a different way to describe the dress code they're looking for. Meanwhile, apply the policy for everyone (and please include sport sandals!) or stop the ridiculous charade.

Having said all of that, it wasn't really all that big a deal for us in the scheme of things, we were only there one night in a six month trip and the bar policy provided us with entertainment. It is, however, worthy of comment for others.

In summary, it's "all fur coat and no knickers".

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderluster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at the historic Alex Johnson Hotel in the heart of Rapid City. We stayed here because it was centrally located to a lot of unique downtown stores, the Elks theatre , and the newly developed downtown plaza (with it's ice skating rink and new gallery of specialty stores). We love shopping in downtown Rapid City and the Alex Johnson seemed a natural idea to stay here.
- The rooms are clean and small but are tastefully decorated with furniture that appear to be antiquish in style. There is a flat screen TV but other amenities seem to blend into the decorum.
- The bathroom is adequate size with a small vanity. The tub is good size with constant hot water and a good spray from the shower head. Towels are soft and large and plenty of them. There are 2 heavy terry cloth shower robes provided in an actual closet (with a door) in the room. There was a heavily stained floor towel in our bathroom but otherwise, was spotless.
- The beds are some of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in (and with my back issues, that says a lot).
- The elevators are smallish (no more than 4 people per car realistically) but quick. The voice calling out the destination floor is pleasant but creepy at first.
- The convenience of having Seattle's Best coffee shop as a part of the Hotel was excellent. The coffee and service are great. Breakfast sandwiches above average.
Biggest Detraction: You have to park 1.5 blocks away on the top floor, which is uncovered, (3rd floor) of a parking garage that has no elevator and then walk to the hotel. There is a drop off zone but no closer parking.

Overall, for the ambience, convenience of some of the best shopping in Rapid City, and sleeping in some of the best beds around, you will not go wrong with staying here. I have a feeling that my daughter and I will be back for a return stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others by what I understand so make sure you inquire about this on check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flatwoods, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The historical hotel is beautiful. Some things need to be changed. For the price per night, they should at least offer valet parking. Parking was in a parking garage a block or two away. It wad raining when we arrived. No shelter to unload luggage under. Bar/lounge area was nice. Rooms were ok for historical purposes but hallways smelled moldy and mattresses were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyme2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This newly renovated, centrally located historic hotel would have received a 5 if it weren't for the fact that our kingbed room was small - charming, but small. So, my only advice is to inquire before you book. Other than that, a perfect 5.

Room Tip: If you care about the size of your room, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brufound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the Alex Johnson's for husbands birthday. This is the second year in a row that we stayed here and again we were'nt disappointed. The room was clean, the pillow-top bed was fabulous, & the staff was friendly. We will be back - maybe make this an annual birthday event!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sancylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This recently renovated hotel is a great place to stay in Rapid City. My wife and I stayed there during a recent visit to the Black Hills over the holidays. I realize it was off season, but for $59 a night for a room with king bed, it was great value. Its location is excellent, as many of the highest rated Travel Advisor resteraunts are within a block of the hotel. In addition to the comfortable room, we enjoyed the bar on the top floor with a great view of the city. I could understand how it might not be the best for families, as it has no pool, but for couples, I would highly recommend it. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Rapid City.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfconboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing