We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
$49
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$63
$46
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$39
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$68
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza(Rapid City)(Great Value!)
$119
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,720)
Filter reviews
1,720 results
Traveler rating
752
510
244
135
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
752
510
244
135
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barparking garageirish pubghost tourhistoric charmgreat historic hotelheart of downtowntally's silver spoontop floortwo blocksrooms are smallcorner rooman older hotelrestaurants and shopsblack hillsfire pitsouth dakota
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,551 - 1,556 of 1,720 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the Alex Johnson for three nights in September. Other reviews have commented on the size of the rooms. We had a King Suite for $116 a night with a separate bedroom with some very LARGE furniture - a bit crowded but we had a separate living room with a sofa and chair as well as a desk and chair. The rooms were separated by a spacious bathroom. All-in-all very comfortable surroundings for our 4 day stay. My only complaint would be the parking. It was a block away in a walk-up garage. The hotel is on the National Register of Historic sites and even if you don't stay at this hotel it is worth a visit just to see the lobby. Absolutely wonderful. The antique chandelier hanging in the middle of the lobby is a sight to see! The hotel recommended a restaurant across the street which was horrible. Very loud music (if you want to call it that) played throughout our meal which was very long in coming and not especially good when it finally arrived. A much better choice is the Firehouse Brewing Company around the corner from the hotel. Good food and good service. The hotel has a Seattle's Best offee shop and a pub but no restaurant. It was very easy to get to Mount Rushmore, Deadwood and Custer State Park from the hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. They have a great gift shop in the lobby selling mostly regionally made arts and crafts. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Rapid City. The price was very reasonable and the ambience of the hotel was a cut above your regular chain hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

great stay-nice old hotel-loved it-would stay again-good room.Parking was a short walk away but we parked on the street.overall great time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in late September early October on our recent visit to the USA. Apart from some minor issues we enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending to any traveller who is looking for a historic and well maintained hotel. It is located very close to many good restuarants, shops in the old part of town and easy access to Mt Rushmore and Deadwood. The rooms were clean, neat and comfortable apart from the noisy airconditioner which was the case in most hotels we stayed at. Overall the staff were friendly, helpful and most welcoming. Certainly value for money. Thanks to the staff Deborah, Amanda, Kim and Sheila ( you remember who i am ) for making our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised by this historic hotel. It met and exceeded all of our expectations. We loved the decor and history of this hotel. When we first made our reservations we had no knowledge of the paranormal actitivity surrounding the hotel but soon learned about the "Ghost Hunter" episode. This just added interest in learning more. It was really cool to actually get there and see it for ourselves.
I had read reviews about the small rooms but to be honest I have statyed in much smaller rooms and it was fine. We had a King Suite and we had plenty of room. The room as very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable! I just cannot say enough about the staff. The girls at the front desk, Charlotte and Amanda were great and even the housekeeper were very cheerful and friendly. The Vertex was allot of fun and just hanging out up there was relaxing anf the wait staff there were just as friendly and helpful offering suggestions for out siteseeing.
I would definately suggest this to anyone wanting to go to this area.

Room Tip: Take a few minutes to research the history behind this hotel before your trip and it will add a bit of excitement to your travels.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights in early October. Our room was small, almost cramped, but clean. Bathroom also was small but clean with nice fluffy towels. The parking garage is a short 1 and 1/2 blocks away, easily visible from the front of the hotel. The Vertex bar at the top of the hotel was great! We had extremely mild weather for October and were able to enjoy the Vertex's outside seating in the evenings with great views all around. Lots of good restaurants close by. Tally, across the street, provided us with a truly gourmet dinner one evening and Delmonico's, around the corner, was a great upscale steakhouse.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2grammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews