We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, a lot of character, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed April 11, 2011

My husband and I were traveling west in October and decided to stop at the Alex Johnson based on a reccomendation of a friend. We were blown away! It is a beautiful building full of history. The rooms were extremely clean, the desk staff gracious and helpful. They have a beautiful coffee shop and the staff there was first rate as well. I had the chance to meet several of the managers (Sam, Paul, Angela) and all were very willing to help with suggestions for things to do, where to eat, etc.

We are planning to make this our destination hotel this summer while were explore the Black Hills.

First rate!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracie1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,543 - 1,549 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2011

Really nice old hotel. Some of my colleagues stayed at the Ramkota Best Western. Personally I think Alex Johnson is much nicer. Nice gym. Nice toiletries from Bath and Body works. Nice TV. Bathrobes in the room. When I called to make a reservation, they seem to be always busy. She had to take a message and call me back. One time, she called back after a few hours, I was expecting minutes. One time same lady never called back. I called back and spoke with the assistant manager and he took care of me. I could hear them having a regular conversation, thin wall? Noisy neighbor? Had to walk a block for parking, lots of construction going on, outside of the hotel and in the hotel. I imagine it will be really nice after the construction is done.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjamindoveroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The Alex Johnson is on the historical list of famous properties in the US. It has recently gone through a multi million dollar transformation which features sinfully comfortable beds, flat screen TV and all the modern amenities of the day. The price in March was $62.00 per night! Such a deal. It is in downtown Rapid City and within easy striking distance of all of the great Black Hills attractions. Built in 1928, it has hosted many famous people and the walls are adorned with historical documents. This is a find of finds and my only regret is that I cannot take this hotel with me with its current rates as a travel around the country.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonatirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I stay at the Alex Johnson several times a year enroute to North Dakota. Sam and his staff always provide a first class lodging experience. The rooms are very nice, clean and quiet. Their reccomendations for dining out are right on. They have a shuttle to the airport adn will always do all they can to accomodate their guests.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Terry Nygaard

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nygaardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at the Alex Johnson for our anniversary, the room was quiet, clean
and the bed was very soft.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank confran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This historic hotel has so much character that it is worth checking out just for the history. The rooms are not huge, but the beds are very comfy and everything is first-rate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichMahogany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

The service is very friendly and professional. The room is very quiet, comfortable and very easy to relax in.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwestendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.2 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $63 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing