We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philly Ted's

Philly Ted's
1415 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701
605-348-6113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 235 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We chose Philly Ted's because it was ranked #1. We were not disappointed! I was born and spent the 1st 6 yrs in Phila so I know what a good cheese steak should taste like. When I ordered I asked the woman how did they get the name of the restaurant and she pointed to Philly Ted. turns out he grew up in Phila and we knew the same places and shared lots of stories. He came out here in 2000 on D-Day and was celebrating his 13th year! He was never in the restaurant business but I guess he learned.They have a zillion kind of cheese and steaks and chicken steaks, all cut very small and placed in a home made roll (hoagie style). The sandwich was really enough for 2 so if you like the same thing, SHARE It! They also have Nathan hotdogs and hamburgers and even a veggie sandwich. We went around 11:30 and people started coming in and the phone was ringing off the hook. I highly recommend this place. Oh, he has the coolist signs!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh my- amazing on all levels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Yep- the place is small, but that doesn't reflect on the food or service. My family of 5 stopped in there for lunch, based on the reviews it received on Tripadvisor, and found those favorable reviews to be right-on!
The staff was helpful, inviting, warm and friendly! They checked on us and the other patrons to ensure we were enjoying our meal. We told them we were visiting from Chicago, and we had a nice conversation with the manager. My husband had mentioned that we previously were at a restaurant in Colorado, and he asked for Giardiniera, and they don't know what it was. Well, the manager quickly said that they have it there, and offered him some. It was delicious as was our whole meal! We had plentiful and excellent onion rings and poppers to start and then each cheesesteak sandwich ordered was amazing!! My son had 10 pc. wings that were meaty and excellent! The pricing of everything was very reasonable. Wish we had palace like this near our home in the suburbs of Chicago!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jt45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge, Iowa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Delicious Philly steak sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we ate at Philly Teds. Delicious Philly steak sandwich on yummy bread. The small place had a line out the front door. It is not fast food. We did have to wait a few minutes for our sandwiches. It was worth the wait. I had onions on philly steak, which I split with my husband, and it was just right for lunch. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joaniemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great food always eat here. Same great service every time. Would refer any one here who wants a good sandwich.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravisSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No-nonsense sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A large selection of sandwiches cooked to order, good prices and a LOT of food for the money. The dining area is tiny so to-go orders are your best bet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cambium29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philly Ted's also viewed

 

Been to Philly Ted's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing