We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“pretty darn close to pats & genos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philly Ted's

Philly Ted's
Ranked #11 of 241 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Selby, South Dakota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pretty darn close to pats & genos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

as philly/south jersey guy now living in SD [east river] i always stop here when i come to rapid. it is a mini-version of the two icons in south philly, so don't look for "nice" sitting area, etc. i always get cheese with raw [onions] so can't comment on their special cheesesteaks, which are named after NFL teams [and the local hockey team] and

i'm never disappointed. ted behind the counter and the person on the till help "rookies" with their order. why not an excellent rating? 1) roll's a LITTLE smaller than philly rolls. they ARE very fresh & soft. 2) where's the big tub of sauce or ketchup?? maybe i missed it.

seating area is small but if you're over 21 you can eat at the connected casino, which has bigger tables.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jerseyinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    86
    20
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Killer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The bread, the choices, Very delicious. I have been in many times and I love it. It is really not a family style place, but more of a place to hit on a lunch date or a casual outing. Cozy, clean, and well worth it, if you can't make it to Philadelphia for a Cheesesteak. Enjoy it, I have even bought 2 T shirts! Don't forget the Cheese Whiz!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank brockfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Cheesesteak. Atmosphere Could Use Some Work...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friends and I took a road trip to see Mount Rushmore recently. I knew that one of my friends had a thing for Philly Cheesesteaks, so I thought this would be a good place to try. I was wrong. It was so much more than good! The place had about twenty different kinds of cheesesteaks. There was something for everyone. If you like spicy food, they have it, if you like garlic, they have it. I got one with pepperoni and garlic. I was skeptical, but decided to try something new and I did not regret it. If I ever find myself in that area again, I will most definitely be eating at Philly Ted's! Oh, and when you walk in, it seems like it's just a counter where you order and then there's nowhere to sit, but if you go to the left of the counter there is actually seating back there.

Also, as a side note, this place has a challenge. I can't remember exactly what it is, but if you're into eating challenges, this one seemed (as I recall) quite difficult.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ferrisbueller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapid city, sd
Level Contributor
296 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good Cheesesteaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recommend to call it in and take it to go, but its always good, hot, and filling. They have a nice selection of sandwiches on the menu, and if you call ahead they are really quick and have it ready when you arrive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rpdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Level Contributor
184 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good prices for a good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Get a philly steak sandwich in lots of different ways. Onion rings are GREAT!!! Fries were average. If your a Coke fan though get a steak sandwich to go for there only pepsi there. Not much room to sit either but casino is attached.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LTtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philly Ted's also viewed

 

Been to Philly Ted's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing