We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Rapid City
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
201 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

If you are use to 2 Star hotels then this is the perfect spot. Our room was clean, however ancient with no updates what so ever. The staff friendly and helpful. The room was stuffy even with the 1960's style air conditioner running constantly. Unit was extremely loud which made for a poor night sleep. Added to that the cool little balcony had an outside light that you can not switch off. The room was not light but also not completely dark. For 1 night it was doable and close to what we wanted to do.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC_Management_Team, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. I thank you for your feedback as it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    174
    132
    70
    43
See reviews for
201
160
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delano, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was a little skeptical about this hotel at first sight because it struck me as looking rather barracks like, but I found it to be a comfortable, pleasant place to stay. The room was small, as I had expected, but comfortable. Even though the hotel seemed to be filled, our room was quiet.
I particularly enjoyed the balcony that had a partial view of the city through the trees.
The breakfast that was included with our room was a real treat. We were given an option of a continental breakfast at the hotel our use of a credit at the restaurant next door. We chose the restaurant and had an exceptionally nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC_Management_Team, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind words on your stay at the Best Western Town ‘n Country, Rapid City. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; our staff strives to satisfy every guest that comes through our doors. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.

Thank you,

Debb and Nick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here one night before flying home after a week long RV trip. Needed to return the Rental RV very early and needed a place to drop off our stuff. Staff were very helpful and allowed us to leave our bags, since the rooms weren't ready for check in that early in the morning. Had a king room with plenty of space and a small balcony. Didn't use the pool or any of the amenties as we were gone seeing the area most of the day and flew home the next morning. We did have breakfast at the Colonial House and it was good. The hotel is older, but the funishings are newer and the bed was comfortable. Great place for the price and the location compared to other hotels in the area. Very nice to have a mini-fridge too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationgirl_0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC_Management_Team, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Town and Country- Rapid City. It is always a pleasure to serve our guests with the upmost customer service and satisfaction. If you are ever in the area again, we hope you come and see us. Thank you again.

Thank you,
Debb and Nick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Missouri, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The rooms were antiquated. Although there were plenty of insects to keep you company. The AC was lacking. For the money it was far overpriced. I would shop other hotels in Rapid City Just a terrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience of our hotel, I appreciate your honesty and feedback as this is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve our product and services. I am sorry that there were some issues that you experienced. We are a 50 plus year old hotel and do not have all of the amenities that most modern hotels have. However we are in the beginning stages of planning a complete and total remodel of this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on my way home. About 25 minutes from the airport, close to stores and restaurants. Room was comfortable and clean, and it did have a refrigerator. Staff was so nice and although I waited a good 40 minutes for my room to be available, the lobby was so comfortable, with newspapers, TV, and coffee, I didn't mind.
Thank you to Robin who continually kept me updated as to my room availability. Very nice stay

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
The Staff at the Best Western Town ‘n Country, Rapid City strive to maintain the best guest service and experience we possibly can provide. The Team Members are glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to Robin. We appreciate your feedback and strive to make every guest's experience an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your next stay with us in the Beautiful black Hills of South Dakota.

Thank you,
Debb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great drive up access to most of the rooms. Very good full menue restaurant on property. Breakfast is a $5 per person coupon to the restaurant, much better than do it yourself waffles. Comfortable rooms. Good guest laundry. Easy drive to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Be sure to visit the Bear rescue park down the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
The Staff at the Best Western Town ‘n Country, Rapid City strive to maintain the best guest service and experience we possibly can provide. The Team Members are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and strive to make every guest's experience an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your next stay with us in the beautiful black Hills of South Dakota.

Thank you,
Debb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

After finally arriving after driving for 12 hrs, it was fairly easy to find. The front desk agent was rather unfriendly and told us the basic info where to find the room and the hours for the continental breakfast.
The room had the usual items, coffee maker, mini fridge etc. Room was clean, but the usual tired designs. The queen bed was comfortable, had two sets of pillows, which was nice not having to beg for second pillow.
The free wifi was rather slow and took several attempts to connect, but once it had, it seemed fine.
The shower and toilet were in a separate room from the vanity. It was very clean, and had great water pressure and a really good shower head, which is very important and earns a star in itself. The air conditioner was working properly, which is also a good thing. We stayed two nights, and the room was cleaned promptly and done efficiently.
The pool was nice and clean and was the right temperature. The continental breakfast was the usual fare, and as always, needs to be extended til 11:00 am.
All in all, not a bad experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
It is always a pleasure to read a good review from satisfied guests. I am sorry about the rudeness of my Night Shift Staff, but I hope that the morning crew were pleasant. We do hope that you will visit us again, especially since we hope to have a new hotel for the summer of 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#28 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
3.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Rapid City

Property: Travelodge Rapid City
Address: 2505 Mount Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town And Country Inn
Best Western Town & Country Hotel Rapid City
Best Western Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western
Rapid City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing