We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Rapid City
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was okay”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I arrived without a reservation at 4:15 and asked for a pet friendly room was told I would need to wait 30 min for the room to be cleaned, waited 45. The hotel did give me a discount on the rate for my wait. The room was okay, furniture was mismatched, the bed was not very comfy, the shower head was not that great. The wi-fi signal was not that strong so it took a while for some stuff to load and there was no way I could have watched a movie. Although that could have been due to the horrible thunderstorms and tornado warnings and because of those I had to stay another night and the hotel was happy to accommodate me for another night. The breakfast was coffee in the lobby, a few apples in a basket and a tray with some assorted pastries while they lasted. They do give a $5 dollar off coupon for breakfast at the restaurant on site that is fabulous. Overall the place is good and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor we certainly appreciate your feedback. I am sorry you had to wait for your room, but very pleased that the Front Desk staff took care of you by giving you a discount. This particular situation of not having all of the rooms ready is not typical of our hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience and your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    184
    149
    84
    53
See reviews for
228
174
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Run as far as you can away from best western town & country inrapid city south dakota. room is too small, they overcharge on price. NO Breakfast,you have to go a block down the street. Stay at COMFORT iNN JUST ONE BLOCK AWAY

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 451jerryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. We do serve what we call the " Early Riser " which includes pastries, muffins, coffee or tea and fresh fruit, and juice for our guest that "Rise and Shine" earlier than most guest and before the restaurant adjacent to our property opens. We also have a bed and breakfast package that is available as an option while booking your reservation which includes your room and breakfast at the restaurant next door I am sincerely sorry that you were not aware of these options and I thank you for your feedback as it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. We will certainly use your comments to identify areas where we can improve our hospitality so that others do not share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Topeka, KS
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place has five buildings scattered about, with the swimming pool and ice machine sort of in the middle of all of them. Most of the rooms are "park at the door" which was the feature we wanted. The room was quite nice, with a microwave, refrigerator, a nice TV, and a balcony. Everything was very clean. The pool, which was quite a hike from our room, does not have steps for easy entry. The ice machine was in the same location as the pool. In the morning there was coffee and muffins. Guests do receive a $5 discount for breakfast at the restaurant close to the property, which we did not use. We chose this place because of its location, the swimming pool, and because of its good reviews, however we would not return. There are better choices in the area with a more convenient design so one does not have to walk so far outdoors for coffee, ice, or a swim.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for the kinds words. Our 50 year old property has stood the test of time; and newer hotels do have the conveniences of everything being closer. But we do hope you will come visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Hotel is located on the road to Mount Rushmore/Crazy Horse Monuments. Easy access to about anywhere in the area. The Staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are somewhat small. The hotel is older, but well maintained. The beds were comfortable. The rooms were fairly priced. Over all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 43rickw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Town and Country- Rapid City. It is always a pleasure to serve our guests with the upmost customer service and satisfaction, we appreciate your feedback of our property. If you are ever in the area again, we hope you come and see us. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Best Western is consistently good and that was the case here too. No frills but a clean, spacious room. Large, older complex nicely updated. We did miss the expanded breakfasts that are offered at most Best Westerns where we've stayed, but that was the only (minor) negative.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our spacious rooms. We are currently in a transition phase of our breakfast, but we are always happy to please. We hope you will visit us again after our renovations have concluded next year. Thank you again for staying with us and leaving a positive response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The water park and pool are fabulous if traveling with children! We only ate one meal in the hotel and were very dissatisfied with the service. The waitress served our 9-year-old grandson and myself relatively quickly, but made my husband and 6-year-old granddaughter wait several more minutes. The kids had ordered identical meals. I would have thought the younger child should be served first. We avoided the restaurant for the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your response. Sadly I think you have our property confused with the Best Western Ramkota. The Town and Country does not have a waterpark on the property. But thank you for staying at the same brand. If you are in Rapid City again we hope that you consider staying with us, we have an outdoor heated pool and a restaurant on property with friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

poor quality run down nasty accommodations. Needs to be updated and the bathrooms need to be over hauled. They excepted pets is the only reason that we stayed there. Stay away from there. Really disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank bonniep432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your accommodations with us. If you had any concerns at the time we would have been happy to help you anyway possible. We do hope you will give us another chance at making it a more memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#22 of 48 in Rapid City
326 reviews
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 48 in Rapid City
232 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#18 of 48 in Rapid City
345 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ramada Summerset Rapid City West
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Rapid City

Property: Travelodge Rapid City
Address: 2505 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5340 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town And Country Inn
Best Western Town & Country Hotel Rapid City
Best Western Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western
Rapid City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing