We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seeing Sights of Rapid City, SD” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Rapid City
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seeing Sights of Rapid City, SD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel was exactly as expected, clean, good location, easy to find, near attractions, simple breakfast or discount at restaurant across the parking lot. Staff friendly, efficient.....exactly what a Best Western should be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNDHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. Your comments are appreciated, and I will make sure and let the staff know that you were pleased with your stay, We hope to see you again the next time you are in Rapid City and the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    174
    132
    70
    43
See reviews for
201
160
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakota, North Dakota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was in a good location to access the highway to the main attractions. We were there on a motorcycle/kayak trip. The staff was friendly and the rooms clean. If you have a trailer as we did you will have to unhook and park it separately as the parking areas are tight especially in building 2. They had doughnuts, fruit and coffee for breakfast. Otherwise you will also get a coupon for $5 per person for the restaurant next door. Decent stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0dak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Town 'N Country; and, we hope that, on your next visit, we will be able to exceed those expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was a OK place to stay on our first night in South Dakota,rooms were clean and had all the expected amenities. The lighting on the second unit left a lot to be desired as the stairs and that was the only avenue to the second floor had no light. I could have easy sued and won if I had fallen

Room Tip: Get something in the front avoid the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. Your comments are appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I was unaware that there was a problem with the lighting on the second level. We are looking at ways to remedy the situation. We appreciate your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuna, Idaho
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stopped at the BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country 2505 Mount Rushmore Road, Rapid City, South Dakota, without reservations. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and well laid out. There is a restaurant called the Colonial House in the lower parking lot that was very good. (I will review them also). Very nice pet area. There was a lot of traffic noise outside, but in the room it was very quiet. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that your enjoyed your stay and we glad you found the restaurant to your liking. If you are ever in this area again, and need reservations or assistance of any kind, please feel free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The room was sort of old, but fairly clean. It was dingy. The bed was somewhat comfortable. The whole place is just average. But I would stay again because the staff was friendly. The price was high, but it is tourist season. Overall, not great, but not an oilfield dump that I am used to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muttonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. The hotel is an older property. It was built in 1960, but has been renovated periodically. This fall we will be undergoing an extensive renovation, and I am sure you will be pleased with the results, once completed. I hope you will consider staying with us again so you can see the improvements that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Staff helpful and friendly! Expensive for amenities provided.
In a two night stay the only cleaning done in our room was trash baskets were emptied. Website states shuttle service available. Pick up at airport seamless and no charge. Horrified when asked at return to airport for a $30 fee! Never, ever have I had to pay one way and not another! A heads up would have been nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to respond on Trip Advisor. It is our goal to exceed our customer's expectations, and I am sorry that you did not receive that type of service. Thank you for your comments about the shuttle. I can understand your frustration about paying the additional money. I am looking at making changes to our current policy of only paying for one way service. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We were on a road trip and stayed only one night in this location. It advertised everything was close but nothing was. We had to drive everywhere. The room was old clean. I asked for a reduction in cost but was ignored. Balcony was dirty with someone's left over cigarette and drink and cigarette holds in chairs for a non smoking room. Cracked toilet seat which holds germs. Light bulbs missing.
Breakfast outside of coffee was non existent for a diabetic

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrameme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I have brought your concerns about the cleanliness of your room to the attention of our head housekeeper. She has spoken to her staff about the problems you observed. We offer donuts, apples, oranges, coffee and tea in the lobby for those who are not interested in purchasing coupons for the Colonial House Restautant, adjacent to the hotel, at a minimal charge. I apologize if you were not offered this option. I do hope you will consider staying with us again, so that we may be given the opportunity to meet or exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#30 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
3.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Rapid City

Property: Travelodge Rapid City
Address: 2505 Mount Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town And Country Inn
Best Western Town & Country Hotel Rapid City
Best Western Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western
Rapid City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing