We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“been to better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Rapid City
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The room was clean and quite a reasonable size but was rather noisy. This was more of a motel than a hotel. We were boked for free breakfast but a rather grumpy young female receptionist told us the vouchers for breakfast costing upto 5 dollars were available for 2 dollars and would not budge. My husband went back and another member of staff gave him the vouchers free. The same young woman was being grumpy with another customer at the time!

Breakfast was very reasonable at the onsite diner, run independantly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay and with the service you received. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast at the Colonial House. It is voted the #1 restaurant in Rapid City, and the food is excellent.. I do hope you will consider staying with us again, so that we may have another opportunity to meet or exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 613 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the BW T&C, Mt Rushmore. Had a great stay. Comfortable king size bed. Moved the roll away in by the time we were checked in. Gave us vouchers to the restaurant in front of us for breakfast the next morning.
Room was very clean and cool.
Staff was great in taking care of us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherryH334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you the next time you are in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a bummer stay. This place is dirty. I felt like nothing was really clean. When the walls, sills, dust ruffles, crevices, door knobs and doors are filled with grime there doesn't seem to be much hope. They spray the rooms with horrid "air freshener" which is so thick it was a wonder I did not leave with a major respiratory issue.

The staff were friendly and that is why I gave it a two instead of one. Funky breakfast deal with the restaurant across the way... which is about the same level as Denny's... Not that good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AIJEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with your accommmodations. We pride ourselves on providing all of our guests a clean, comfortable room to relax in during their stay, and I am sorry, in your case, that did not happen. I have spoken to the housekeeping department and the head housekeeper has assured me that situation with your room has been dealt with.

As for breakfast, the Colonial House is rated the #1 restaurant in Rapid City. I am truly sorry that the breakfast you received at the Colonial House was not what you were looking for. I do hope, however, that the next time you are in this area you will give us another opportunity to show you what wonderful facility we do have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. We had our dog with us and he only cost an extra $10. The hotel is on the road to Mt. Rushmore which made for a quick morning visit before we continued on our way to the West Coast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeinmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Best Western. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Cancelled reservation when we arrived. No pool or complimentary bfast as advertised. Didn't stay, but front desk was accomodating in transfering my reservation to the Best Western accrpss town which was a great stay (worth the $50 additional a night). The Ramkota had a great kid friendly pool and alide for the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank shelleyt810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

I apologize that we did not have the amenities you were looking for when you booked your reservation at our Best Western, but I am happy that the staff was able to find a room to your liking. I understand that the lack of an indoor pool can be difficult when traveling with children, since they need a little time to relax and unwind. We do, however, have a warm, inviting outdoor pool in the summer for the enjoyment of our guests. In January, we discontinued our continental breakfast. We are now providing our guests coupons to the Colonial House Restaurant, one of best in the Black Hills. Our guests rave about the quality of the food, and have found they enjoy a relaxing breakfast in the morning. Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, and I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed the night in one of the pet rooms and was very happy with what
I got. The breakfast was great as well as long as you look at the weekday specials on the table. The Internet in the room was very slow but still worked. The beds were just fine I slept as well as any hotel. Friendly staff when checking in. Good place to stay for the amount you spend on the room.

Room Tip: Pet friendly for an extra $10.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CORY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to know that you appreciated our policy toward pets. People are traveling more and more with their pets, and pets are always welcome at our Best Western. Thank your for your recent review on Trip Advisor, and remember us the next time you are in Rapid City and are in need of a clean and spacious pet friendly room at an affordable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We arrived late without a reservation and our desk clerk,Chuck was very accomadating.We needed 2 rooms and he got us 2 rooms right next to each other.Since we are smokers,we really enjoyed having a room that we could easily step out our door to the outside to smoke.Location is close to Mt.Rushmore. The rooms are large (we had a fridge & microwave) and clean and comfy for their reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank incruiser26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Best Western. The balconies are great for people that smoke since you can step right our your patio door for a cigarette. Our front desk agents are trained to provide our guests with the best possible service, and I am glad that our guest service representative was able to meet or exceed your expecations. Thank you for your nice review, and we look forward to your next visit to our Best Western

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 49 in Rapid City
243 reviews
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 49 in Rapid City
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#19 of 49 in Rapid City
388 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#22 of 49 in Rapid City
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#33 of 49 in Rapid City
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Rapid City

Address: 2505 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-5340 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: $37 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town & Country Hotel Rapid City
Best Western Town And Country Inn
Best Western Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Country Inn
Rapid City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing