We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was nice after a long day of exploring.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Rapid City
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
New Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel was nice after a long day of exploring.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

September 8, 2012

We stayed here for five nights, six days. We used the Best Western for a base to explore the country side and attractions. The continental breakfast was good. Rooms were clean. Staff were very courteous. Pool was clean. Their internet allowed us to access airline kiosk. The laundry room clean and everything worked well. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Loved the view of the CH restaurant. Excellent food too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the Colonial House does have the best food in Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    174
    132
    70
    43
See reviews for
201
160
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melb
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good location but car considered desirable (as in most of U.S.A.).

Spacious comfortable rooms with good facilities.
Many facilities not usually in hotels are on site (eg laundrette).

Breakfast basic but enjoyable.

Staff helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you taking the time to review our hotel on Trip TripAdvisor. I will be sure to let the staff know that you were pleased with the services we have to offer. It is unfortunate for our guests, but it is almost a necessity to have a vehicle while visiting the Black Hills, especially during the late fall, since many of the tour buses have shut down for the winter, We do hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in our lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

As always for a Great Western a good standard.This one was cheaper than most GWs but still good .Rooms well decorated clean and comfortable.Reception staff friendly and helpful.A good breakfast but could do with more tables. good location for mount Rushmore /Crazy horse and Custor park

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We try to provide our guests with the best possible service, and we are pleased that we were able to meet or exceed your expectations. We appreciate your loyalty to the brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
538 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This pet friendly motel was invaded by more dogs than people because there was a dog show in town. There was a dog in the room next to us and it barked all evening and from 4am when they put it outside in the car, on both nights we stayed.
Otherwise the hotel was excellent. Very good house keeping, excellent breakfast, and friendly reception staff. There were also free cookies and beverages available in reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
For three days in October,, our hotel is open to all dogs and their owners who are here for the kennel club dog show. Normally, we have a few select rooms open to dogs and we do charge a pet fee. However, during this time, all rooms become pet friendly and we eliminate all pet fees. I am sorry that you were awakened by a barking dog. Usually the dogs are very well behaved, and their owners take exceptional care of them. Thank you for your review, and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Kansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We got the last room available for the evening and very glad we did. Beggars can't be choosers but we loved the room. It was located on the Southern part of Rapid City which was excellent for our plans. Also just next door was an excellent restaurant the Colonial House. It was recommended by the staff at the motel and they proved correct. The food was excellent, not necessarily reasonable but not too expensive either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again the next time you are in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The motel is easy to locate on the south side of town. the facilities are large, the front desk is courteous and friendly, the rooms just OK and need some updating. the morning breakfast is skimpy and coffee though hot is awfully weak.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arizonarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Best Western. Your comments are very important to us. This fall and winter we will be working on renovating the property, and I think you will be pleased with the results. We hope to see you the next time you are in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for three nights on our vacation. It was the perfect type of motel to stay in for more than a couple days. Drive up to the door, continental breakfast, great restaurant right beside it, and on the right highway to all the attractions. The room was roomy, the beds were comfy, and the service was good. I think that if you don't have a family that you are travelling with, the off season is much more reasonable for room rates.

Room Tip: they seem to be willing to negotiate on room rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTC, General Manager at Travelodge Rapid City, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Best Western. We try to provide all of guests with the best possible service, and we are glad that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#30 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
3.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Rapid City

Property: Travelodge Rapid City
Address: 2505 Mount Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town 'N Country)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town And Country Inn
Best Western Town & Country Hotel Rapid City
Best Western Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western
Rapid City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing