We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff could use some customer service training.”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Colorado Springs
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Staff could use some customer service training.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My reservation confirmation stated check-in was 2pm. Upon check-in, the clerk rudely and dismissively pointed to the sign on the wall stating that check-in is a 4pm. So, don't show up before 4pm because they really don't like that!!!
Hotel and spacious rooms are clean. However, my room wasn't vacuumed before I checked in. I even found a used tissue behind the nightstand.
Beds are comfortable and nights are quiet for sleeping.
I've stayed at this hotel in the past without any issues, but the staff now could use some training in friendly customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TravelerCS,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    69
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
69
46
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel was clean, rooms were clean. The people in the front desk had zero personality. Good place for a pass through but if your visiting the black hills and a frequent Holiday Inn customer go to Holiday Inn / Hill City. Great service and great location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Surfra,

Thank you for your review. It is good to know you lie our clean hotel and rooms. However, I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations particularly with the atmosphere and staff service received. Please accept our apologies for any discomfort you encountered. We value all feedback, positive or negative, and I assure you we use your comments to improve our service. Thank you again and we hope to see you for another visit soon

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location is great and close to the road leading to Mount Rushmore! The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. They accommodated our large family nicely and the kids loved the breakfast! The hotel was clean and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amywhetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked weeks in advance. arrived 10 pm and room not ready. We requested an extra pull out bed for our son. Bed was not in room when we arrived. After polite requests the bed arrived without sheets. More time at front desk. Room was short on pillows. I should gave noted we had a large suite. The following day we got up early ti visit local attractions when we returned in the evening our room was not
cleaned and beds nit made. On our pillow was a boiler plate letter stating they can not make beds if a personal belongings are on the bed. yes my son left hus shorts on the far corner of the bed. So in a nut shell a simple item of clothing will prevent your room from being cleaned. I was later advised this is their policy. They should tell you their stupid policy when you check in. Obviously management and staff will look for any reason not to
provide minimum acceptable service. About me I have traveled world wide

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear 007jersey,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the housekeeping service. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

How many people you know plan a trip through Rapid City the week of Sturgis and not own a bike? This explains why this hotel was only one of 3 with availability. That stated, it was a wonderful experience. The customer service was outstanding! They put a bucket of towels so the bike riders could towel off their bikes. From the front desk to the breakfast staff, they were all happy to help.

The hotel is on the south side of town so made for a VERY easy ride to Rushmore. The room was spacious. The breakfast was eggs, bacon, pancakes... very hearty. They even had an automatic pancake making machine! Would stay here any time I am in Rapid City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed three nights in late July / early August. The king suite was spacious and clean. The restroom was also big with plenty of counter space. The room had a fridge, microwave and food sink with more counter space! Even with the hideaway bed unfolded, there was tons of space. The location was perfect since it was right next to the highway that leads to Mount Rushmore. It was also a convenient ride to Custer State Park and right down the road from downtown Rapid City. The staff was great and Donald and Dillon gave great advice and suggestions when exploring South Dakota. The hotel was very accommodating with our nine month baby and is family friendly. We will stay here again when we visit Mount Rushmore.

Room Tip: The parking can be tricky!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodhelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A busy hotel, with good access to the Interstate. This motel acted as our jumping off point for seeing the attractions of the Black Hills. Despite being busy the hotel was clean and front desk service was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#32 of 48 in Rapid City
341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#26 of 48 in Rapid City
317 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
555 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#34 of 48 in Rapid City
8 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 750 Cathedral Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Rapid City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Holiday Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing