We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Maui, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Professional”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I had a late arrival, and notice tons of motorcycles in the parking lot. Sturgis had some kind of biker weekend going. The front desk was turning away people who wanted rooms, because they were booked. My first thought was that yes I had reservations, but what if they screwed me and sold it because of my late arrival. I was greeted professionally, and told her I had reservations. She quickly grabbed the room keys, and told me with a smile that she was waiting for us, and that we were the last one's to check in. Thank God they did not sell my room, because from the looks of it we would have no luck finding a room in SD. Thanks for being professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uop2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    69
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
70
47
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

After staying with family members and in small hotels, to end our trip I booked us here and I am so glad we did. The rooms and bathroom are spacious, the staff are friendly, and it is a easy drive to the airport. It was a luxurious respite after almost 2 weeks of travel. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a week at this hotel. When we arrived they mistakenly assigned us to a smoking room. They then blamed the third party service we booked with. If you cannot accommodate orbitz, etc then don't make rooms available to them. They then assigned us to the handicapped room which had no working air conditioner. The hard working night employee put us in a suite for the evening but we had to move back to the handicap ro for the rest of the week. One King bed for us and our 14 year old. We were supposed to have 2 queen beds. The poor kid had to sleep in a roll away for a week and woke up every day with a sore back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvanderdussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear kvanderdussen,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am deeply sorry that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us due to the issues you had with your room accommodations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

First things first: My family's vacation plans changed at least three times before we even left home, so I spent a lot of time on the phone with the staff here. They were friendly and helpful each time, so I arrived with a very positive feeling about the hotel.

We arrived during the Sturgis motorcycle rally, and the hotel was packed. We had requested a rollaway bed for my son, but it was in use the first night we were there. However, the staff addressed the situation with the laid-back friendliness which I found in most of the South Dakotans I encountered. A minor hiccup which I handled with less patience than I should have, although in my defense, it was at the end of a fifteen hour drive.

As to the facilities, I do not remember being in a hotel as clean as this one. Our room was immaculate. Spotless. Whoever cleaned it did not skimp by, say, avoiding out of the way corners. The same goes for the breakfast area and the pool room. Clearly, the staff here takes cleaning very seriously.

The one hitch, and it's no fault of the hotel: The building is tucked back behind a gas station, and to get to the hotel, one has to use the gas station's driveway. We drove around for a couple of minutes trying to find a way in. I suppose some more prominent signage would solve that problem.

I would recommend this hotel for its proximity to the major highway which leads to Custer State Park, Mount Rushmore, and the southern Black Hills attractions, as well as for its friendly staff and its cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Western side, which is quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBern52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Mt
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our 2nd stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful when we arrived and we were upgraded to a nice room with king bed and sofa. Room was clean and spacious. Location is south end of downtown, right off very busy street. There is a gas station right next door and several eating establishments within walking distance. Our room was on northeast corner, so lots of road noise (definitely needed our white noise machine). Also noisy from little kids playing in the hallway early in the morning -- seems parents wanted them out of the room, without respect for other guests. Breakfast was good and well-stocked, but the eating area is extremely small and crowded. One small computer available in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, air conditioned, friendly staff, nice pool area, free hot breakfast. It was a little pricey for what you get, breakfast area was very crowded, and it's a bit of a drive to the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulliver80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

As other reviewers have mentioned this is an older Holiday Inn, which meant that you could hear a lot through the walls and anything that happened in the hallway (doors closing, children running down the hall, etc) as well as outside, even with the windows closed (music from cars going by, an outdoor concert).
If you are sensitive to noise I would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#34 of 48 in Rapid City
347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#22 of 48 in Rapid City
326 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#28 of 48 in Rapid City
26 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 750 Cathedral Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Rapid City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Holiday Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing