We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Although this hotel is not in the heart of the downtown area, it is just a few blocks away. This may be one of the nicest hotels in Rapid City, but don't expect Four Seasons luxury. The lobby features silk plants in the flower boxes. Our room was very large with a nice sitting area and two TVs, one facing the bed, one facing the small sofa. There was an extra sink oddly situated next to the bed. Light sleepers may be bothered by the noise seeping through from the courtyard area in the center of the hotel, but we didn't have a problem with it. The little coffee shop across from the lobby is fine for a quick latte. If you can't live without Starbucks there is one located in the Albertson's at the corner of Omaha and Mt. Rushmore Rd. All in all, the hotel would be a good choice for a short stay while enjoying the sights in the Rapid City area.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,110 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Casper, WY
416
Reviewed January 14, 2006

Good location, friendly and helpfull staff. As a Priority member, I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite. Good bed, dark room and quiet rooms.

This is the best Holiday Inn I've ever stayed at. Eventhough the pool and hot tub closed at midnight, the security did not care if I stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vermillion, SD
15
Reviewed December 1, 2005

The staff at this hotel is fantastic. They were truly caring, and went out of there way to accomodate every need I had during my stay. They were wearing ribbons which said Constant Caring Friends and I felt as if they were Friends who cared. I must say they are exceptional. The food was incredible and everything about the stay was wonderful. I could not be more pleased. When traveling to Rapid City if you want first class service and an outstanding place to stay this is definately the place to be. The hotel is absolutely stunning but the staff makes you feel like you are part of a family. Excellent job to staff and management of this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2005

We had an excellent stay here while we were in Rapid City! We were very impressed with the renovations. Our room was spotlessly clean, and very nicely decorated and up-to-date. The bed linens and furnishings were lovely. This is not your average Holiday Inn!

The front desk staff were superb and very friendly and helpful! If you are a Priority Club member (free at holidayinns.com) you will receive a free drink coupon for each day that you stay.

We had a very nice breakfast in the atrium each morning, and service was very friendly as well. We found the room to be very reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spottybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, WI
16
Reviewed June 28, 2005

-Workers were all crabby & extremely rude. Management was no better. We had a confirmation for a King room in nonsmoking due to my husband severe allergies to smoke. We even called the hotel before arrival to confirm. When we arrived they had given away our room even though we had a credit card down. All they said was that they had 3 rooms left in smoking. When we said we needed the nonsmoking & the reasons, they just shrugged their shoulders & giggled and said we don't have nonsmoking. We ended up leaving without a room & we will definately be watching our credit card bill to see if they charged us. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sioux Falls, SD
15
Reviewed June 20, 2005

I have to say I was pleasantly suprised by the Rushmore Plaza. They were above my expectations. The service was pheonominal and the accomdations were clean and very nice. The lobby are is absolutely stunning and everything was so clean. The desk staff was excellent as well as the restaurant. If you want a great value and great service this is the place

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, MN
13
Reviewed April 25, 2005

This hotel is super pretty! I thought Rapid City would not have a hotel of this caliber, but we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has great food and service. Maybe everyone in the midwest is this nice, but we really loved it! Great location and staff and food and rooms! We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.7 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
1,056 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Address: 505 N 5th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $81 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Gold Bison Grill. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing