We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a piece of crap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Pierre, SD
14
Reviewed February 14, 2005

Worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in. Ignorant, untrained staff, mattresses like a slab of granite, overpriced on everything. Charged the room to the wrong credit card TWICE and the first time was to someone else's card! This place sucks! Stay home or go someplace else.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,113 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
South Dakota
18
Reviewed February 14, 2005

I stayed at the hotel in Dec 04 for a business meeting. It sure looks nice on the inside but don't let waterfalls and a ritzy atmosphere fool you. First of all, the beds are rock hard - I felt like Wilma Flinstone. I was not the only one at the meeting to comment on this. Secondly, the food was good, but very overpriced. In addition, you might as well BYOB, rather than pay almost 4 dollars for a bottle of beer at the lounge. Furthermore, just forget about internet service. They have a high speed connection. But it's not wireless and will cost you around $10 a day. Most cheaper hotels offer free wireless nowadays... Survive your stay you will, but be prepared for your visit to haunt you for a few months. Don't ever expect them to answer the phone or return a phone call once you've left a voice mail. I called lost and found twice, left messages and never got a returned call. Guess it's finders keepers. They also managed to mess up my credit card charges as well as my coworker's. I called again to get the charges settled. Let's just say getting a call returned from upper management is almost impossible. After calling twice and leaving voice mail and never being called back I was fed up. Not very professional. I asked the desk clerk to track someone down. I was sick of this runaround. If you are brave enough to stay there do the following: pay cash, BYOB, be 100% sure you have all your belongs packed and patronize the restuarants outside the hotel complex.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2005

We stayed at this hotel on the 4th of July. It was very pricey due to the holiday.
However, the overall presentation of the hotel is good. It is a high-rise, and we had a room with a decent view of the city around us. The room was large and comfortable. The interior of the hotel is tastefully done. Parking is in abundance. They have a bar and a game room. Unfortunately, the pool and tub were closed so we missed out on that.
The hotel staff was only average at best. They were generally helpful, but not well organized.
I would say that this hotel would be a great place to stay in the $70-100 range. It is comfortable and well-appointed for that price range.

3  Thank valor155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2004

I stayed for four nights in July '04. The lobby is attractive with a multi-story waterfall, although it does smell of chlorine. The rooms were spacious and had every amenity I would expect in a 3* hotel. There was both a work table/chair and a coffee table/sofa. The free 24-hour internet terminal downstairs was a nice bonus. We ordered room service because the price was reasonable, but the 2nd day it came 50 minutes late without an apology (we refused it), and the 3rd day it never came (or came over an hour late, when we left for the day). I also had the experience of water never coming despite asking two people. The hotel management was accommodating, but the food service people seemed like bumbling fools. I paid an entertainment rate and might have given a more neutral rating had I paid the "going rate."

4  Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2004

Looks nice when you walk in. Open atrium with waterfalls, light & bright. But that's where it ends. Need help with your luggage? No bell service, dear. Help yourself. Ask a question? You get an "I don't know" answer. Rooms not bad but they have the cheapest paper goods in the bathrooms & not a drop extra. Tiny soap, no maginfying mirrors, and 1/2 box of tissues. The restaurant service is pitiful. Toast arrived more than halfway thru my eggs. Water never arrived. The help is nice but not trained. Maybe that's just how is is in Rapid City.

2  Thank cosmo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Non andateci
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppa1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
Thank kaztomkyonhiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 49 in Rapid City
1,577 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Rapid City
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Address: 505 N 5th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $80 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Gold Bison Grill. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing