We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I must admit that I wasn't expecting to like this hotel, but I did. The room and bathroom were clean; housekeeping did a great job; and the food was excellent. We ate breakfast every morning and had dinner one night - which was good. The coffee in the room wasn't too bad - much better than most hotels. The little store on the first floor was great - they make good coffee drinks! We chose Rapid City so we could easily get to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Devil's Tower, etc. Rapid City itself didn't really have much to offer, but there is a block with some restaurants. Not only would I stay here again, but I would also recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patty21012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Patty21012,

Thank you for your review. We have a great little hotel and it has much to offer. One of the amenities as you found was the location. We are close to all of the attractions and downtown. Our coffee shop does a great job even though it doesn’t carry a big coffee house name. I am glad you enjoyed our coffee drinks.

Travel safe and come back soon,

Chris Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

Three day family stay was nice. Location is great, between all tourist site like Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Devils Tower, Deadwood, Sturgis, Custer Park, Rapid City downtown with bars and restaurants. Staff was courteous, friendly, helpful on local tips.

Room Tip: Quieter on north side. Nice pool and health club. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at hotel was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Jon C,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are very close to the area attractions. Our staff has knowledge of the local area that makes it easy to suggest and give directions.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to having you as a guest again,

Chris Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Comfortable and spacious room. Our room was too warm for us - the air conditioner did not reach the temp we were looking for. We mentioned it to the staff in the morning and when we returned later that day the room had cooled down. Still too warm for us, but it may have been because we were on the top (8th) floor. Extremely friendly and helpful staff with hotel needs and with suggestions for area directions and restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear Wendy T,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I apologize that temperature in your room wasn’t cool enough during your stay. I am glad our staff responded to the request and was able to get the room to cool down. Thank you for staying with us.

Travel safe,

Chris Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed here on our way back to home after a weeks worth vacation in yellowstone so we were all a little burnt out once we arrived but we decided to stop in rapid city to see mt. rushmore and get some rest. We noticed right off the bat it was a old embassy hotel bought by holiday. They have a really cool cafe right when you walk in the have good coffee and italian sodas and souveneirs. The pool was a little small but good, the restraunt in here was great food but pretty expensive. The rooms were a little aged but had plenty of new amenities as well. Rooms were spacious. Great location too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Noah B,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It sounds like you were on a large road trip. I am glad we could provide you the rest you need to continue with our local attractions. I would like to offer a little history on the hotel. The hotel was built by John Q Hammons a legend in the hotel industry. It was built as a Holiday Inn. The cool thing about the build is it was the proto type for the Embassy Suite hotel. So we look alike but our rooms are only one room where the Embassy Suites has two separate rooms.

Thank you and travel safe,

Chris Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

good experience, no problem,good services located near rapid city civic center.lot of shows In civic center all the tim. lot of games, ice hocky I arrived around midnight and front desk was very helpful to provide some basic bathroom supply and some food and water .help me to plan the next day trip.

Room Tip: room on sourh side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rakesh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear rakesh g,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am glad we were able to assist you with your luggage and supplies. We are next door to the civic center and we are a great place to stay during concerts or special events.

Thank you for staying with us,

Chris Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I was greeted by friendly front desk staff and greeter at front door. I enjoyed dinner at the bar. The bartender was friendly and pleasant to talk to. I was pleased with the décor and cleanliness of the room. This hotel is located next to a lovely park and in the downtown vicinity for nice establishments within walking distance. I will be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynettahancock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear lynettahancock2,

Thank you for your comments about our staff. They enjoy what they do and it shows. Our food is really good and really is the best kept secret in town. Our room renovation was completed in June and it is fresh and up to date.

Thank you for your review and travel safe,

Chris Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My Team was in town wroking on a local project. The staff at holiday in was very accomadating to our needs and were very easy to work with. The rooms were very clean and updated. I Highly recommend staying here anytime you are in Rapid CIty.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear John S,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. Our room renovation was completed in June and the rooms are great. Thank you for your recommendation!

Travel Safe,

Chris Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 49 in Rapid City
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Address: 505 N 5th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: $81 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Gold Bison Grill. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelPower, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing