We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved our visit”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Rushmore Plaza and absolutely loved it. The location is fantastic, we visited Mt. Rushmore, Devil's Tower, Wall Drug and the Badlands and drove by Crazy Horse ($30...crazy!! Didn't stop.) They were all reasonable day trips. Downtown Rapid City is awesome, good food, the President scavenger hunt and Summer Nights. Thanks so much Emily Tobin Tupa.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bfavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear bfavs,

Thank you for your comments about Rapid City and the surrounding attractions. Our location does sit us apart from other hotels. We are close to down town and it is easy to get to the attractions as well.
We appreciate your business and come back soon,

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    353
    102
    31
    28
See reviews for
299
215
39
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were very nice and looked to be newly renovated. Beds were very comfortable as well as the layout of the room we stayed in. Plenty of room for our family to move around. 2 Flat screen TV's were a +, as well as a well kept swimming pool area. The breakfast buffet was just good. Nothing to write home about other than the fact it wasn't the usual fare. My husband ordered an omlete twice and never did receive his. Kids under 12 eat free with a paying adult.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Smorcs,

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the Omelet mistake. I am glad you enjoyed the pool and the amenities that we offer. I know you have many choices to choose from and I am glad you used us.

I hope to see you in the future. Travel safe,

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Went for the Hills Alive festival, and service was still very good although it was completely booked. Coffee shop is cute inside too, and the room was excellent also, aside from a stain on the carpet and no robes. :) since room service is offered, robes would be a nice item to have available. I think the open floor plan, the fountain, and the glass elevators give off a very inviting yet classy feel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank burlgirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear burlgirl77,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you liked the hotel and services offered. I will take your comment into consideration about the robes. I hope you come back for Hills Alive and stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us,

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We recently travelled to Rapid City, SD with our 2 kids to see Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse, etc. It was a great place to hang our hats and the kids LOVED the pool. The breakfast buffet is reasonably priced and the rooms were quiet and comfortable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyerFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear FrequentFlyerFoodie,

I am glad you enjoyed our area and our local attractions. We are located near the attractions and the hotel is an easy walk to downtown. The pool is a great area, with the walk out sundeck it offers something to all ages.
Thank you for your review and taking the time out of your busy schedule.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel every year for the last 10 years but apparently the money they spent to remodel the hotel this past year didn't include the front desk staff or housekeeping. I could write a book but basically Anna at the front desk should not dealing with customers, housekeeping needs to get more help & take more pride in the renovated rooms. We found a band-aid stuck to the dresser, clearly visible, & need to learn to vacuum. Needless to say, they lost a loyal customer & they don't even care!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012reviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear 2012reviewer1,

I apologize for the housekeeping mistake and missing the band-aid during the cleaning process. Our housekeeping staff is fully staffed. On full house events like the weekend you were here, we are staffed to have the rooms cleaned by posted check in time. With the weekend you visited, it is heavily occupied with stay overs. The request for that weekend was heavy on “I want my room cleaned as earlier as possible”. We can only clean so many so fast. During your visit I would have liked to had the opportunity to discuss your experience that you had with Anna personally. This was not brought to my attention until this review. I admit when our property has opportunities to provide better service as you can see on Trip Advisor. My office is behind the front desk and I hear our team with thousands of transitions a month. I have never heard Anna rude to anyone, this associate is kind and goes out of her way to assist our guest. I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience.

I wish you the best in your future stays in Rapid City,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsbee, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 queen room on 4th floor. Check-in and check-out were easy. Beds were comfy. There was very little noise. Only complaint... Bathrooms were a little small. Grill inside the hotel. Laundry room on each floor. Just what we needed on the 15th day of a 17 day road trip.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasGreenjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear TexasGreenjay,

Thank you for the review and comments. Our beds are very comfortable and new. The bathroom can be cozy but it allows for ample room in the sleeping and sitting area.

Thank you for staying with us during your road trip,

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, kids loved the elevator. The rooms were very clean and spacious. In a very nice location and staff was very helpful. Only issue that we had was the air conditioner wasnt work and the room was very hot the first day.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Rushmore_Plaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Brandon K,

The kids love the glass elevator. I apologize for the lack of air conditioning. I know the day you are talking about. Our Chillier fan motor had malfunctioned and by the time we got it to re-start the build did get warm. After the restart it took a couple of hours to cool things off again. I hope the rest of your stay was satisfactory.
Thank you for your review and travel safe,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Address: 505 N 5th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing