We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room had many problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our room had many problems”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Reserved a suite for New Years..found wall around one window not painted, apparently repaired just never painted? Chipped glass on a wall light shade with people having written messages on wall behind it? Pull out bed in love seat not made and had someone's prescription eye glasses laying in middle of bed? Other things found were minor due to age of hotel, stained rug, room odor, old bathroom tile on walls etc. Brought up the major issues with hotel staff in the morning and told that they could not credit anything back on the room yet would have a manager call us, guess what, no call from manager. Sadly this Hotel has really gone down hill and now looks like we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback very much. I sincerely apologize for the condition of your room with the unpainted wall. We are currently undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation and upgrade. Due to the large demand on New Year’s Eve at our hotel, we quickly put rooms back in order to accommodate all of our guests. I am sorry we fell short of your expectations. I would like to offer you a complimentary stay in one of our upgraded suites in hopes of regaining your faith. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. Happy New Year and thank you for choosing to share it with us.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck, General Manager
sherry.beck@rushmoreplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    348
    99
    31
    28
See reviews for
292
211
38
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had a short stay here for a visit to do Mount Rushmore and surrounding areas as l guess most tourists would do. The hotel is just on the out skirts of the main down town less than a mile walk. They do offer the hotel shuttle to help move you around which is good. The hotel is dated the room is large but the bathroom very small. The room was very cold at night and the temperature controlled at reception not by you. The restaurant there was very poor and would not suggest you eat there at all, look elsewhere some of the staff had a very nonchalant attitude. We saw room service trays in hallways for 24 hours for example. Tawana on the front desk was great and she saved the visit many times, hopefully the other younger staff were in training. It has an in house laundry that was great and let us catch up on the washing , fourth floor

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chooker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Chooker20,

Thank you for sharing a considerate review. We truly value your comments, all the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve, as these give us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay. Please be assured that your input will be taken into considerations in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Kind regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
542 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Nice large hotel, staff very friendly. Room was decent, with the only negative being that the sink was out in the hall of the room, not in the bathroom. There was a huge storm outside and it was nice to just stay inside the hotel and eat in the restaurant and not face the blowing wind and rain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I called ahead to make sure I could get a early check and to make sure I could get king bed. Well the early check in I got but not the king bed. But due to my rate I was paying they couldn't upgrade me either. I guess Cuz of the concert at the plaza they didn't have any left. So we got 2 double beds. Who uses double beds, Queens yes but doubles. Um u think 2 grown adults will fit comfortable on that bed, think again.
Got to use the spa and pool a couple times so that was nice. Spa was really hot. Pool was very cold so i didn't use.
As we were getting ready to go to the concert there was barely any hot water. And that was with the hot turned all the way on. Took forever to wash my hair.
And last there was a pink stain on the carpet by the coffee pot in my room.
So get bigger beds and have hot water for it guests.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank koolchic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRapidCity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. I would like to personally apologize for your disappointment during your stay. You can be confident that we will follow up on your concerns to ensure that others are not disappointed in the same way. I appreciate the suggestion for larger beds and you will be happy to know that we are in the process of upgrading our property and replacing the double beds with queen size beds.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your faith.

Sincerely,

Sherry Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I had a nice enough stay at his hotel. The staff were all super friendly, and the building is attractive. The hotel is conveniently located as long as you have a car, but if you fly into Rapid City and don't rent a car, getting anywhere on foot involves walking along busy roads, or else trudging through the as-yet-unfinished promenade, which seems to be a hangout for some sketchy folks.

Overall my room was pretty clean, but the carpet was disgusting: Old, thin and stained in too many places to count.

The hotel restaurant was nice, but pricey. I was traveling for business, but the cost would add up quickly for a family. Again, no big deal if you have a car, though, since there are plenty of places to eat within a few minutes' drive.

The layout of the building may be a problem for those who are light sleepers. The hotel is built in a circular layout, with interior balconies that overlook the hotel lobby. If there are rowdy people or crowded conferences with lots of activity in the lobby, the lower floors will hear it all. I could even hear noise from the lobby all the way on the 8th floor, but I just used the fan on the air conditioner to drown it out. That may not help on a lower floor, though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Was in town on business for 3 nights. Hotel was clean and quiet. Front desk was helpful and courteous. Did not use the pool or exercise room but checked them out and they looked fine. Hotel is by the RC Convention Center. Nothing going on while I was there so not sure how that would have impacted parking or activity level. Hotel is close to downtown area. There are a number of nice restaurants not far from the hotel. Only issue I had was first morning the hot water was out due to some maintenance they were doing overnight. There was a note in room on arrival with the information so not a surprise. They were 20 or 30 minutes late finishing up so did breakfast before morning shower. everything else is nice.

I also had breakfast in the hotel all 3 mornings. Ordered off menu rather than the Buffet (personal choice). First day the service was very slow (The waiter apologized and comped the meal without me asking). 2nd and 3rd day the service was very fast and good.

Room Tip: Site is associated with a convention center, west side faces the center, south faces the shared park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We got snowed in at this property during the blizzard of October7-9. The staff were terrific, even though they were working around the clock. Good improvisation skills, friendly, efficient. If you have to get snowed in, this is the place to do it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
0.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Address: 505 N 5th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in luxury, site see, shop, or be entertained-the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is the place where first impressions are just the beginning. Legendary service, memorable events, extraordinary! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free high speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool or relax with a cool one at the Fountain Court Lounge. And when it s time to dine, we have your favorite dish in the Grille. Located only minutes from some of the most spectacular sites in the world including, Mt. Rushmore National Memorial, Wind Cave National Park, Badlands National Park, Crystal Cave National Monument and Crazy Horse Monument puts us in the center of all the attractions. In addition, to those sites, Sturgis home of the Sturgis Motorcycle Classic and Deadwood are also only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing